Mini-Reviews from Around the Toilet Bowl XIII

2303
78
Share:

Did you know that some “miniature” breeds of dogs are more expensive than their regular-sized counterparts? So you’re technically paying more money for less actual dog. What does that say about mini-reviews? You tell me.

 

pos

Possession – 1585-1646
Invictus/Iron Bonehead | June 5, 2015

Much to the displeasure of my main man Tyree, I’ve been jamming 1585-1646 daily for the past few weeks while he’s stuck with the two tracks on Bandcamp for another month. Laugh at him. This 4-song EP takes perhaps a little too long to get going, but when the moody, brooding intro finally boils over into a blasphemous black/death battering ram, you have your reward. From then on it’s a non-stop attack, and you’ll come out on the other side of 20 minutes with 3rd-degree burns all over your butt. The last track “Ablaze” is the best of the lot, and injects just enough thrash to end the EP with a serious muscle. Worth your time. For fans of: Black Witchery, ZomListen to “Cermony” and “Guilty”. — Masterlord

____________

fgdfFragarak – Crypts of Dissimulation
OK Listen (India) | May 5, 2013

Progressive death metal today can mean a whole host of different things to different people. With Crypts of Dissimulation, India’s Fragarak have managed to carve a vaguely classic Opeth-shaped hole into the sheer and typically uniform cliffs of death metal. Acoustic tunnels perforate the dense, stony riffs, allowing the funk of 40,000 year-old-crypts to waft through the openings in the form of ghastly vocals. The long tracks here provide a strenuous climb, but there is enough style and attention to detail to give you plenty of hooky outcroppings to grip along the way. My only complaint is that the final instrumental track lets us off the peak a little too gently. — W.

____________

ddddddUlulate – Back to Cannibal World
Xtreem Music | February 1, 2015

We’ve been getting a ton of OSDM promos in the inbox lately. Most of it is derivative drivel (as is often the case with this bloated genre), but this release had the word “weird” tagged to it, so I just had to take notice. What I found was an excellent Chinese band playing a fresh take on a tired genre by channeling a bit of Obituary, a bit of Demilich, and a whole lot of creative thought. The first few tracks start off a bit slow and standard, but things take a turn for the unexpected around the fourth track “Anxiety of Mortality” with the incorporation of spooky chanting. Conventions thankfully become tested with each successive track. This one is worth the long haul. — W.

____________

wpid-a3272646843_16.jpgAnd So I Watch You From Afar – Heirs
Sargent House | May 5, 2015

With every album, ASIWYFA gets shinier, spacier, and more vocals-ier. By “spacier” I don’t mean “more ambient” – I mean it sounds like riding shirtless on the roof of the Space Shuttle on a weekend trip to the Moon. While they continue to pile glittery reverb, chorus, and delay onto the outrageously fun shred riffs that have defined them since Gangs, on Heirs they’ve toned down the effects on their vocals, as if they’ve come to embraced themselves as singers instead of apologizing for their voices via their pedalboards. If you’re already an ASIWYFA fan, you’ll dig Heirs. If you’re unfamiliar, there’s still time to hop onto the party train. — HessianHunter

____________

Antigama The Insolent
Selfmadegod Records  | May 7th, 2015

Antigama are back with the pleasant surprise of the month! Well, it was a surprise for me because I had totally forgotten this was dropping. Anyway, if you’re anything like me, you thought that Napalm Death‘s latest offering was a tad disappointing. But fear not! The Polish maniacs are here to satisfy your appetite for dismally dissonant deathgrind, complete with VICIOUS drumming VISCERAL guitars and BRUTAL grooves (sorry). But really though, if you want off-kilter grind with riffs that’ll make you want to pause and hear them again, tight-ass drumming, and slower parts that’ll incite you to break stuff faster than Fred Durst, get The Insolent here, right now. – MoshOff

____________

11053058_10152678926609109_8441806701416536973_nYen PoxBetween the Horizon and the Abyss
Malignant Records | May 5, 2015

It’s been over a decade since Mnemonic Induction, Yen Pox’s brilliant collaboration with drone kings Troum and their last full-length release. Between the Horizon and the Abyss, their new album and fourth for Malignant Records, proves the wait was not for naught. Brief moments call to the work of the pioneering Raison d’être before ascending to reveal a sound that is entirely Yen Pox’s own–a sound that refutes any attempts at explanation or context. Between the Horizon and the Abyss is an immediately gripping record from the first listen, but given time to sink in it reveals ever more luxuries around every corner. — Christian

____________

Dan TerminusThe Wrath Of Code
Blood Music | March 10, 2015

Electronic music is not something we discuss here too often, mostly due to the inherent fact that it’s just not fucking metal! However, I know that many of you stray from the darkened path and dabble in other genres, namely hip-hop and alternative/rock, but today we’re going to check out something different. Dan Terminus released this album in March and after seeing the memorable cover around on various metal sites, I decided to take one for the team and give this a spin (it’s name your price after all). There to greet me was an esoteric mix of driving synth, upbeat rhythms and a somewhat dark nebulous atmosphere. If you enjoy The Algorithm, (early) The Presets or, video game music from the 90’s, be sure to give this a listen. – Lacertilian

____________

Sirenia | The Seventh Life Path
Napalm Records | May 8th, 2015

Sirenia is one of those bands that suddenly return to the scene and deliver memorable songs, even with their revolving door of members. Their Norwegian mastermind Morten Veland and the great Spanish vocalist Ailyn created a new album called The Seventh Life Path. What grabbed my attention on this effort was that the metal pieces are heavily rhythmic and the melodic parts rely more on the delicate principal voice and the keyboards, which gives now a more “modern” vibe than the traditional Victorian Gothic style they played before. Check it if you’re in the mood of Gothic sentiments. — Link D. Leonhart V.

____________

Dendritic-Arbor-Romantic-Love-e1426251313661Dendritic Arbor – Romantic Love
Grimoire Records | May 5th, 2015

I checked out Dendritic Arbor’s Romantic Love after a No Clean Singing article called it one of the best albums I would hear this year. I’ve been equally guilty of heavy metal blog hyperbole, but that doesn’t change the fact that this is a great fucking album. Dendritic Arbor play black metal, with one foot in the grave and the other coated in bathtub crank. Pause from the debased guitar playing is given for surprisingly large drums (like during the first track “Murmuration End”) and interludes of eldritch harsh noise (like on “Blooming Amygdala”). The vocals range from screams and howls to perverted spoken word (“Horizontal Key Vertical Gate”). Grind is woven efficiently throughout – this will get your adrenaline going as much as it makes you want to sit alone in the dark. At thirty-two minutes, you don’t have to take my word for it. Check out Romantic Love for yourself on Bandcamp. — Edward

____________

Apostate – Time of Terror
Ferrrum Records | March 02, 2015

 “I reveal my inmost self unto my god” are the first words heard in Time of Terror. This sentence is part of the communion ritual of the mutants from Beneath the Planet of the Apes (1970). Appropriately, the music that ensues afterwards sounds like the wailings of an agonizing planet. Pained, sorrowful melodies combined with a rumbling, pulsating low-end and guttural vocals that invoke melancholy, not anger. Most of the record is played at a slow tempo, brief moments when the death metal influences abound interspersed throughout. Some of you might feel that the album lacks variety, but those patient enough to champion Apostate’s second full-length will have their days ruined in the best way possible. Repeated listens are your friend. — Dagon

____________

The Fiend – Greed Power Religion War
Candlelight Records | 27th April 2015

When I saw the cover for this I knew exactly what to expect, and I was not disappointed. Hailing from Newcastle upon Tyne, England, these dudes play a ferocious brand of crust punk with just the right amount of Discharge and The Exploited influences to help sweeten the deal. Listen to “I’m Bought” , “War and Control” and “Dig Your Own Grave“. — Ted Nü-Djent

Did you dig this? Take a second to support Toilet ov Hell on Patreon!
  • I love this Mini-Reviews because we construct together a weekly dose of really varied music. Awesome ToH! Let’s keep going!!!

    • TheRedman(formerly God ov All)

      I mention Sirenia yesterday, link writes about them today.

      Coincidence???

      • (something zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz would appreciate): RFI

        • “Puuuuf, pium pium, puuuuf, paf” goes my brain!

        • zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

          wow..that is pretty cool—that probably does mean “something” to somebody

          808 pallendrone infinite stargate–a special time,,numerically—similar in fact that we are in a special “blood moon/” type year—-supposedly robin Williams got sacrificed as part of a blood moon religious sacrifice/mob hit/Hollywood weird thing–
          5 blood moons-all on old school religious holidays/festivals—supposedly crammed in a year–
          although blood moons are cool looking

          sunset strip actor veteran-hippie–a bringer of “joy”—part of an infinite exit from this dimension—which would enhance his talent–as part of the overall “art”—beyond past and present—-but where all things are(to justify his great past career,,as being part of an overall connection to this magic “blood moon”)
          comedian of blood and tears—his past career “was” the blood moon–made manifest–
          since the future and past are all part of the same one thing—-from a certain perspective—enhancing him -from being just a “normal guy”—but part of a rare fantastical cosmic process—
          as one and the same–he “is” the blood moon”-
          rising from the crowd

          • more beer

            Don`t you need to concentrate on Jade Helm? It`s the future of conspiracy theories. 9/23/15

        • This is happening right now in May.

        • more beer

          That`s this week you`re a year behind McNulty!

        • Lacertilian

          Only if you read the date in that weird backwards way.
          15/05/2015 bruh!

  • Fragarak sounds exactly like Opeth’s harsh vocals at some points.

    • The W.

      They were the main influence I could pinpoint, and I think fans of older Opeth will dig it

      • Yea I’m sure they will. Gonna have to buy this after work. Spent a lot of money onbandcamp today….

      • Guppusmaximus

        They definitely have Opeth / King Diamond feel to them. The melodic passages definitely remind me of King Diamond. The vocals are great!

      • Lilo’s Meatflaps Of Doom (KJU)

        You guys posted something that sounded ALOT like Opeth yesterday that I quite liked, and had a picture of a decaying statue on the front. Trying to remember what that was.

  • Hessian’s pick is very interesting. It’s very bright!

  • Tyree
  • King Shit of Fuck Mountain
  • Scrimm
  • Shrimp in a Pizza Box

    Dendritic Arbor is definitely interesting, Ululate and Apostate are respectively a bit and far too slow for my tastes but they could definitely be a jam if you can manage to not fall asleep. Possession is ok.

  • zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

    and so I watch you from afar – heirs (song in the op)—“run home
    while watching this trailer—both at once
    https://youtu.be/6u-VSBdrbwY

  • Ahmed Johnson The Reef Eater

    Giving Dan Terminus a listen. I am enjoying it greatly.

    • Lacertilian

      It’s name your price, get on down.

  • JWG

    That name, ‘Fragarak’, reminds me way too much of Fraggle Rock to be completely coincidence.

    • Lilo’s Meatflaps Of Doom (KJU)

      Look below you.

      • JWG

        Indeed. We thought the same, at the same time.

        My sense of humour is validated.

  • Lilo’s Meatflaps Of Doom (KJU)
    • more beer

      Fuck yea Fraggle Fucking Rock!

      • Lilo’s Meatflaps Of Doom (KJU)

        I’d have to get stoned out of my mind to watch that again.

        • more beer

          Yea but childhood. Plus not like you aren`t getting stoned out of your mind anyway. I know I am!

          • Lilo’s Meatflaps Of Doom (KJU)

            I plead a 5th!

          • more beer

            You`ve incriminated yourself enough times in the past that we both know the answer.

          • Lilo’s Penis Tornado (KJU)

            I try to keep my alcohism subtle, lol. It was much worse years ago.

          • Lilo’s Penis Tornado (KJU)

            I drank a 24 oz of peach drink, a thing of Thunderbird, and working on a 12 pack of Hurricane.

          • more beer

            Your poor taste buds and liver I feel for them. I drank one of these and went to see Ghoul and Phobia last night. It made for an interesting show. 100 mg of thc. It also looked like Windex. .

          • Lilo’s Penis Tornado (KJU)
  • Dagon

    Apostate is dedicated to the Bear God.

    • The Beargod

      AMG hated it, but I think I dig.

      • Dagon

        I would give them 2.5 out of 5, maybe 3 depending on the mood.

        • The Beargod

          The sound quality is unpleasant and it’s hard to listen to the whole thing on one sit through so 3/5 is this bear’s opinion.

          • Dagon

            I think it’s the first time we’ve agreed about something in a couple weeks hahaha.

            The album only started making more sense for me when I played it in the car. Headphones won’t cut it.

  • Tyree
    • Maik Beninton

      Was 4:11 4 minutes ago.

      • Tyree

        You must from the future then.

    • Maik Beninton

      adubbadubadubadubadubaudbubaudbaudbu uhhhhhhhh.

      • Tyree

        YOU FUCKING SUCK!!!!

  • Edward/Breegrodamus™

    Mosh Off I have a slight bone to pick with you, even though many members of the collective we actually agreed with you.

    • Lilo’s Meatflaps Of Doom (KJU)

      Huh huh, you got a bone for him. Hee hee………….

  • King Shit of Fuck Mountain
    • Tyree

      This is rad.

  • Guacamole Jim

    The Wrath of Code is a fucking BANGER!!

    • Lacertilian

      name your price.