Mini-Reviews from Around the Toilet Bowl: 11-20-15

1655
105
Share:

They’re little guys. Their hands are little. Their features are small. They’re little guys.

 ____________

Opeth Deliverance & Damnation Remixed
Music for Nations / Sony Music | October 23rd, 2015

I know, I know, this isn’t precisely new music, but hear me out. Opeth’s two “contrasted” albums have gotten the reissue treatment via new and improved mixes more than ten years after their original release. While the Steven Wilson-helmed Damnation, the softer of the two, sounds very similar to the original (which in my opinion was already perfect), Deliverance has changed so drastically I’m starting to question wether I had ever even heard it before. Everything is better balanced and sounds more natural, and the overall feel is a lot more atmospheric than before. And the drums man, THE DRUMS. Every little detail of Martin Lopez’s playing shines through, and I have nothing but praise for Bruce Soord for doing such a fantastic job with this remix. Opeth fan or not, check this out.  — MoshOff

 ____________

Der Weg einer Freiheit Stellar
Season of Mist | March 23rd, 2015

Melodic Black Metal is a tricky thing to pull off without sounding like yet another Dissection rip-off (not that that’s a bad thing either), but Germany’s own Der Weg einer Freiheit have managed to get it just right. If you’re looking for unadulterated rawness you won’t find it here, but Stellar isn’t overly polished either; again, the perfect balance. This is kind of like Deafheaven but with music that’s actually dark and sorrowful. Not sold yet? Fast-paced, blastbeat filled barrages alternate with slower, melodic guitar-driven passages and atmospheric acoustic interludes that make for a rewarding listen if you can take the slightly long run time. — MoshOff

____________

Kult Mogił – Anxiety Never Descending
Pagan Records | December 24, 2015

It’s Polish, and it’s drawing comparisons to PortalBölzer, Dead Congregation, and Cruciamentum. Do you need more convincing? Yes? Really? Okay. This album is a downward spiral into madness and violence. Although it begins with a slow, ponderous march, the pace inevitably shuffles and stumbles as the songs swirl and shift like boiling hate in a cauldron of malevolent alien soup. It starts nasty and ends even nastier. There’s only one track up right now, but “Serene Ponds” should give you a solid idea of the sort of harrowing nightmare you’ll encounter within. — W.

 ____________

Nar Mattaru – Ancient Atomic Warfare
I, Voidhanger | December 7, 2015

I, Voidhanger have become famous for releasing intrepid and off-kilter heavy metal, but Chilean death metal monsters Nar Mattaru are launching an assault of a decidedly more-straightforward variety. Francisco Bravo and Andrés Gonzáles have reclaimed the mantle of monstrous brutality previously worn by Chilean legends Dominus but re-imagined that sonic armageddon with the help of vocalist Bilol. Ancient Atomic Warfare is straight-up crushing death metal dedicated to killer songwriting, never allowing the Phrygian modes or South American swagger to lead the songs to far off course from the end goal of pummeling existence into a smoldering ruin. — W.

____________


silentline
Silent Line
Shattered Shores
Self-Released | October 30, 2015

Silent Line are a melodic death metal band hailing from Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. Right off the bat, you can probably guess that they’re all about Canada’s two greatest natural resources: beer and snow. I could also make an obscure Edmonton Oilers joke, but instead I’ll be a mature adult and just say “Ron Tugnutt”. Silent Line’s brand of melodic death metal has a taste of folk/viking metal, though they thankfully never go off running in the woods to fight trolls and goblins. They manage to thread the needle between catchy hooks and heavy aggression. Shattered Shores is actually a concept album, but thankfully the concept does not overshadow the actual musicianship. They can easily fit in on a future edition of Pagan Fest. RIYL: Wintersun, In Flames, Amon Amarth. — 365

____________

matter

Matter in the Medium – S/T
Self-Released | November 4, 2015

Jeez, what is it with me reviewing Canadian bands? A guy plays hockey for twenty years and suddenly he’s a proxy Canuck. Hailing from London, Ontario, Canada, Matter In The Medium are a technical metal band with a focus on astrophysical. Or is it astrological? The usual spacey-timey type stuff that similar sounding bands like. The band is technically sound and clearly put a lot of time putting together their songs. As with this particular djenty technical style of metal, there is an element of disorientation to their music. You’ve got the weedilies, the deedilies, and the chuggity-chugs all mixed up and thrown into a blender to make a musical smoothie. Fans of the genre will like it, others with need to take an Aleve. RIYL: Periphery, Tesseract, Dr. Who. — 365

 ____________

DeathHawks1Death Hawks – Sun Future Moon
Svart Records | Nov 13th

The shamanistic, frost-bitten fun that was Death Hawks‘ folky psych-rock debut is now being followed by the bands third effort. What always set the band apart from most of their would-be-peers were the songwriting skills. Simple, memorable and with a twist of their own. None of this has changed. Whenever I play Sun Future Moon, I hum and “dance” awkwardly along to these songs. I like them. Then the record ends and all I can recall is that slide-guitar from “Seaweed“. However. every time I arrive to “Heed The Calling” I proclaim it among the band’s top 3 songs. I don’t know why this is; perhaps the songs are too laid-back. The album definitely feels at least thrice as long as it is. Even though the songs are different from each other, there’s too much of a sort of same-ness to their template that keeps me from enjoying the album as much as I’d like to. A good album, but at the same time, a disappointment. — Karhu

 ____________

Sun Mammuth – Cosmo
Bisnaga Records | 13th of November 2015

Yes, I’m reviewing another album with a horsehead nebula adorned cover, this time with bonus pyramids and vastly different music. Sun Mammuth are an instrumental neo-psych rock trio haling from Portugal. Their debut album of 8 tracks titled Cosmo is an awesome romp through sun-drenched soundscapes and unhindered headspaces. The radiant guitar tones have just enough fuzz to let you feel the warmth without burning out the ever-welcoming melodies. Parts of this album remind me of the repeating-drive of bands like Earthless and The Samsara Blues Experiment, the Phrygian-dominanted sounds of The Tea Party, and those times when Tool allow Adam Jones to unshackle from number-pattern structures and let him just fucking jam (think Lateralus). All in all Cosmo is a solid first album which I’m sure I’ll be playing more during Summer [Moshito – Fake Summer*]. — Lacertilian

 ____________

Sequestered KeepLost Halls, The Gift of Men, Summit Strongholds, Cavernmagics
Independent | September, October, November 2015

Ever since my initial double review of Sequestered Keep’s first two albums, the mysterious and prolific purveyor of incredible dungeon synth from Salt Lake City has been damn busy. Four albums in the space of three months! Each being a deep and resonant sphere of their own, with overlapping edges diffusing tact and poise. The first of which, Lost Halls, was released in September and combines the rich qualities of the first two releases, transporting you directly into the scene depicted on the cover. Released in October were The Gift of Men and Summit Strongholds, the former being a resplendent trek into the universe of Tolkien, while the latter is a monumental ascent to the realm of medieval contrition. And from the moment the dense bass-laden organ yawns start on the majestic latest offering Cavernmagics, you are enveloped in the dark that you covet. — Lacertilian

 

  • Paddlin’ Rites ov Beargod

    I love Der Weg einer Freiheit and I’ve got to say that’s the worst description of them I’ve ever read. But also accurate.

    • MoshOff

      Thanks?

  • pïgchop™
  • Dear MoshOff,
    Is there any way for us to listen to the new Opeths?
    Love Jimmy

  • BEARD-SPLITTER

    Ill have to thank you guys at the Terlet for getting me into dungeon synth, thas one of my new jams

    • Lacertilian

      Same man, a year ago I didn’t imagine I’d be doing morning housework hungover on Sundays listening to dark ambient.

  • King Shit of Fuck Mountain

    A fucking Opeth remix? Wow.

  • RJA

    “.. it’s drawing comparisons to Portal, Bölzer, Dead Congregation, and Cruciamentum. ”
    Not much to live up to huh?

    • Dubs

      I don’t think it quite hits Bolzer status, but it sure is gnarly.

  • ┼yree

    I have nothing. I am nothing.

  • dr.derelict

    Dungeon synth, huh? Huh.

  • CyberneticOrganism

    *listens to Sequestered Keep, reaches for dice*

    http://mathsongs.info/golden7.jpg

  • Dubs

    Every time someone here buys a Sequestered Keep album, the mysterious cloaked creator gains +2 charisma.

  • Maik Beninton™

    “Yes, I’m reviewing another album with a horsehead nebula adorned cover, this time with bonus pyramids and vastly different music.”
    They are exactly the same!

    https://f1.bcbits.com/img/a1256207947_16.jpg

    http://f1.bcbits.com/img/a0820628059_16.jpg

    • BEARD-SPLITTER

      Mesarthim is better

    • Lacertilian

      Because, uuhhhh, it’s the same nebula.

      • Maik Beninton™

        It’s what I just said.

        • Lacertilian

          Yes, yes you did.

  • KJM, Shake Zula

    Checkin’ out dat Sun Mammuth

  • Guppusmaximus

    “They’re little guys. Their hands are little. Their features are small. They’re little guys.”

    Do they have little mouths?

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gj4-E5Hs3Kc

    • BEARD-SPLITTER

      Lol classic

      • Guppusmaximus

        Yea, that episode was awesome because Rick hacks a cable box so they can watch all sorts of shows from other Universes.

        • KJM, Shake Zula

          I love Rick. He’s a true party animal.

        • BEARD-SPLITTER

          Theres two episodes with universal cable

          • KJM, Shake Zula

            The clip you posted earlier was from the first one, right? Haven’t seen the second one yet.

          • BEARD-SPLITTER

            Yes two brothers is from the first, theres one in each season

          • KJM, Shake Zula

            I’ve watched the first season, gonna watch the second one this weekend in between Jessica Jones episodes.

          • BEARD-SPLITTER

            It grew on me. Its not 100% bangers like the first season. But when its good, its rel good

          • KJM, Shake Zula

            That first season is perfect.

          • KJM, Shake Zula

            “You party to be popular? You really are 17(burp).”

          • BEARD-SPLITTER

            I party to get RIGGITY RIGGITY WRECKED, SON!
            http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=qeoA4oe5Vmc

            Ball Fondlers still the best

          • Guppusmaximus

            I love the drooling kid flying the chopper. It’s a WTF moment at it’s best.

          • Guppusmaximus

            Yea, I love both episodes.

      • KJM, Shake Zula

        Everybody over 30 do this with your hands!!
        Everybody wearing a red shirt jump up and down!

        • Guppusmaximus

          That one had David Cross in it…I love that episode. Actually, I’m fucking addicted.

    • lulz. That line above is a reference to a shockingly unfunny Portlandia sketch.

      • Guppusmaximus

        Yea, it just reminded me of this “Lil’ Bit’…*smirk* and I love being able to reference Rick & Morty.

  • KJM, Shake Zula

    Sun Mammuth is gud, not holy shit amazing but gud.

    • Lacertilian

      Yup, agreed. Decent debut, I thought it was either going to be a diamond in the rough or absolutely terrible based on the cover.

  • ┼yree

    This is some serious chaos straight out of Chicago, Illinois.

    https://hellfiredeathcult.bandcamp.com/album/ave-mors

    • if someone were to listen to all the music that you find, back to back, it would wrap around the earth THREE times!
      p.s. this is suffocatingly awesome, and vice-versa

      • CyberneticOrganism

        If you took each byte of information from that music, lined it up, then filled yogurt cups with it and then stacked those yogurt cups, they would stretch to Jupiter and back and you’d still have enough cups leftover to build a mile-wide highway of yogurt cups looping around the sun.

    • ┼yree

      Vocals are sort of annoying but not too bad overall.

  • King Shit of Fuck Mountain

    Hahahaha. Fuck everything and crank this nastiness.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MV7Cu6HRxaE

  • Dave Vincent’s Perm

    Brutality- Screams of Anguish

    • ┼yree

      Brutality are working on a new album supposedly.

      • ┼yree

        “The Floridan death metal band Brutality is releasing a new studio album “Sea of Ignorance” on January 22nd, 2016, following up on 2013’s Ruins of Humans EP, and several albums in the 1990s. “

      • Dave Vincent’s Perm

        With Alex Marquez from Malevolent Creation and Demolition Hammer?

        • ┼yree

          Yeah, I mean I guess so. He is in the band so…

          • Dave Vincent’s Perm

            Yeah, I guess that was obvious. I think I saw someone from the band saying that they were working with him.

        • ┼yree
  • Kult Mogil is pretty damn good, but I’m not hearing the portal/bolzer comparison

    • Dubs

      EPK’s are sometimes a bit, uh, overwrought.

      • CyberneticOrganism

        Man, the novel-length description of Black Grail is something to behold.

        • Dubs

          Sometimes they have cool information. Usually, though, it’s a whole lot of hyperbole.

  • Janitor Jim Duggan

    Here’s a review of the new album from Jeff Lynne:

    Alone in the universe is the greatest pop album in a long time. Every song should be a hit.

    • counter-point: a few good melodies hidden throughout, but overall disappointing as each track is roughly the same length and each song follows the same formula, so it gets old after 3 songs.
      FLUSH

      • Janitor Jim Duggan

        Jimmy plz!

        • hurts me as much as it hurts you, but it’s jimmy’s honest truth

          • Janitor Jim Duggan

            Why would they do this Jimmy? It makes me sad.

  • Stockhausen

    Pretty disappointed that Sequestered Keep misspelled “Cavernmagicks.”

  • COAL ROLL

    I hate that envelope filter/flanger effect

  • Waynecro

    I love that Der Weg einer Freiheit album. I’m totally digging Silent Line and getting some Omnium Gatherum vibes from them (which is mostly a good thing). Matter in the Medium has some charm as well (dem riffs); however, some of the tunes are a little too djenty, and the vocals are less than great (they kinda remind me of the tough-guy vocals from Divine Heresy at times). Great jams! Thanks, bros!

  • TrickleDownOvTacoKvltRiff

    phryrigian modes be dammed

    • Dubs

      I’m going to hit you with a claw-hammer, clown.

      • TrickleDownOvTacoKvltRiff

        <3

  • Pingback: Kult mogił: „Anxiety Never Descending“ album stream | Sicmaggot()