Mini-Reviews from Around the Toilet Bowl: 05-19-2016

They’re small, you know the drill. This week we delve into Katalepsy, Seventh XulIn Twilight’s Embrace, Hatebreed, EnoidMantar, Iron Mountain, Condition Critical and Fleshgore.



Katalepsy – Gravenous Hour
Unique Leader Records | May 27th, 2016

From Russia with violence. Moscow’s Katalepsy are all fists and hammers-to-the-face with their second album Gravenous Hour. Grammar aside (their previous album is called Musick Brings Injuries, so maybe they have a theme going on), the album is a dose of brutal death metal that will curl your fingers and clench your jaws in blood-fueled anger. When they say “suffer” and “die” you want to suffer and die. Guttural vocals? Check. Chugs? Check. More double-bass pedal than Gene Hoglan can wiggle his feet at? Check. Thankfully, Gravenous Hour doesn’t descend into total blood-and-guts pig squeals and frog gurgles. There is substance and quality with this album, two things that brutal death metal can always use . RIYL: Deeds of Flesh, Putrid Pile, Gorgasm — 365


Seventh Xul Qliphothic Rites of Death
Iron Bonehead Productions | May 27th, 2016

A re-issue of an obscure 2010 Greek release with ties to Acherontas, Enshadowed and Nocternity? Sign me the fuck up! While that description may leave you (like it did for me) expecting some archaic themed Hellenic Black Metal, what you’ll actually discover on these two tracks is some mysterious serpentine death metal. The duo lay out just over 10 minutes of tremolo-laden fury that isn’t scared of throwing in some artificial harmonics and staccato thumps to split the turbulent shredding up. In addition to the profane sermons growled by vocalist Acherontas V.Priest, there are a number of raspy whispered passages that exude malice and help to hammer home the sinister atmosphere. After deciding to leave this EP as the sole output of the band by immediately disbanding following its release, Qliphothic Rites of Death will remain a rare cryptic offering. Seek this one out with haste, on 7″ vinyl only from May 27th onwards over at Iron Bonehead Productions. — Lacertilian



In Twilight’s EmbraceTrembling
Arachnophobia Records | May 25th, 2016

When you hear the band name In Twilight’s Embrace you immediately think of a bunch of gloomy glum-glums, hair in their faces, singing about lost loves and the crushing weight of depression. At least, that’s what I initially thought I was going to get with the band’s 3-song EP Trembling. How wrong I was. Poland’s In Twilight’s Embrace churn out a punishing brand of death metal, and Trembling feels like a kick straight to the chest. The music is aggressive and frantic, but with purpose. Riffs abound and moments of melody accentuate viciousness within. Though there are only 2 original songs and a cover on Trembling, the EP is actually a follow-up to their recently released album The Grim Muse. If you couldn’t get enough of that main course, Trembling will serve as a delightful dessert. RIYL: Unleashed, Decapitated, Krisiun — 365


Hatebreed The Concrete Confessional
Nuclear Blast | May 13th, 2016


+”I’m horrible at this, that’s why I signed up for personal tr-”


+”I knew I shouldn’t have come to the Gold’s next to the bandanna shop.”

I could hear Hatebreed‘s The Concrete Confessional as the backround music as this scene played out in my head. — Mosh Hoff


Enoid – Exilé Aux Confins Des Tourments
Satanath Records | May 5th, 2016

Come for the killer album art, stay for the killer black metal. Back with their sixth full-length in just ten years (!), Enoid have honed their specific brand of harrowing Swiss extremity into a razor sharp, white hot implement of destruction. Each of the eight tracks on this release rips and tears, with a cornucopia of blast beats, throat-shredding vocals, and cascading tremolo riffs, but the band shows a wide array of other techniques that keep things fresh and maintain momentum. Some tracks feature a more punk influence with spare use of skank and d-beats, others inject a dollop of dissonance to add that unsettling atmosphere, and some even allow Phrygian modes and somber melodies to take hold as the aggression slowly mounts like floodwater behind a dam (see “Mangez ma chair, prenez ma douleur”). Ultimately, the album art perfectly complements the music: brooding, sinister, unpredictable, violent. FFO: GrethorNazghor, Kawir — W.


Mantar –
Ode to the Flame
Nuclear Blast | April 15th, 2016

Quick, name one German slightly-blackened sludge duo that rips faces and takes names. If your answer was anything other than Mantar, your are probably wrong. Bassless as it is, Ode to the Flame is as full as it is hopelessly gritty. The vocals often remind me of a pissed off mix between Death‘s Chuck Shuldiner and Coroner‘s Ron Broder; the riffs change from rockier mid-paced grooves to atmospheric, big chord-led sections, and the drums provide a solid frame for it all. I must say it’s a really solid, well pieced together and fun (the dismal kind) listen from front to back, if nothing really innovative or unique. — Mosh Hoff


iron mountainIron Mountain – Unum
Prophecy Productions | April 1st, 2016

I’m not really sure what to make of Iron Mountain, but I’m sure that I’ve never heard a band quite like them before. If you took a strung-out Alcest and Kraftwerk, stuck them in a room together, blasted them with psychedelic rock and Irish folk music for a week, and told them to start writing together, the resulting album would probably sound a lot like Unum. There are parts of this that work really well; folk and post-rock are practically made for each other, and the floating Irish themes and 70’s-inspired rock interludes each add their own unique flavors to the concoction. However, they go a little too deep into the Krauthole for me to fully appreciate this. Still, if you’re looking for some chill prog that’s a little bit out-there, it’s hard for me not to recommend it. — Spear


16763b371ffd8eb60a351703e961da06Condition Critical Extermination Plan
Independent | March 18th, 2016

So you say thrash had its glory days in the last century? While you are correct, that hasn’t stopped me from enjoying at least one album from the catalogues of bands such as Warbringer, Evile, Havok, et al. And while I missed their first full-length release, I’m glad I gave this independent album a shot, as it turned out to be a fun romp across the beer-stained floor of the makeshift pit which periodically forms at that local dive-bar. After originally seeing this touted as Demolition Hammer-worship, I found it to bear a closer resemblence to the bass thumping attack of Nuclear Assault, along with a healthy dose of the aforementioned Warbringer. So I was hardly surprised to discover guest vocals from John Kevill on the track “Voluntary Disfigurement“, which also features Tom Martin of Lich King. If you’re after something a little lower in intensity, but no less boisterous to blast in between those repeated plays of Ripper and Vektor (interview), then look no further. — Lacertilian


fleshgoreFleshgore  Denial of the Scriptures
Xtreem Music | February 19th, 2016

Brutal death metal bands tend to be disposable to me; I listen once to get my fix, and I move on. There aren’t many distinguishing features between a lot of these bands, either, so I don’t feel much need to go back to one in particular. Yet for whatever reason, Denial of the Scriptures keeps pulling me back for more. Maybe it’s because of the varied vocal approach. Maybe it’s because the bass gets its time to shine. Maybe it’s because of the frequent grooves that show up, very atypical for the genre. Or maybe it’s because I can actually feel the spite and derision that Fleshgore have poured into this work, and it’s formed a connection with my basest of emotions. Regardless of the reason, I feel that Denial has been criminally overlooked in the wake of other, more celebrated BDM albums this year. — Spear


Catholic Girls – Distant
Crown and Thorne Ltd | February 7th, 2014

Crusty hardcore punk n’ roll Cursed worship at it finest. If you know who Cursed is, then pass go and collect two hundred scene points.  That’s what this six song release from over two years ago by Catholic Girls prides itself on. The tracks here let loose like crowd of whiskey-fueled protestors throwing haymakers at a wild west saloon. Their foot remains firmly planted on your throat for the duration of the release with dirty punk rockin’ riffs, one note middle finger fuck you guitar solos, excessive use of crash cymbals, distorted bass and up tempo songs all the way through. The singing but not really singing chorus on “Piston” will have you rocking out or clenching your fist. In the wake of Lemmy’s passing, here’s another genre that Motorhead left their stamp on, and the influence is evident all over the place on this release. I only hope that Catholic Girls hasn’t called it quits because there’s plenty of room in the world of extreme music for anyone who wants to ape Cursed at this level. — Ron Deuce


  • Elegant Gazing Globe

    Got on board with that Condition Critical back in March when Spear wrote about them for Toilet Tuesday….definitely a Top thrasher for 2016.

  • Paddlin’ Rites ov Beargod

    Those Enoid and Fleshgore album have piqued my interest.
    But I must say that Mantar was a bummer, not perhaps your stereotypical “move-to-a-big-label-and-water-down”- kind of a bummer, but a bummer all the same.

    • Dubs

      I remember Dagon was hyped on it, but I didn’t really dig it. A couple decent tracks, though.

  • ChuggaChuggaDeedleyDoo

    I always thought of Iron Mountain as a great offsite storage and secure document shredding vendor (I’ve used them for years), but it’s nice to see they now have a full fledged musical division of that company now. Odd that I don’t see any links to their music on the corporate site tho.

  • Waynecro

    I’m digging Katalepsy, In Twilight’s Embrace, and Fleshgore.

  • The new Hatebreed song Looking Down the Barrel of Today is just fun. Give it a spin!


    • Dubs

      Would you rather stare down the barrel of today or a 45 (FORTY-FIVE)? Then swim through the ashes of another life (NOTHER LIIEEF)!

      • Vault Dweller

        I love you, Dubz, but the fact that the chorus of that song just started playing in my head is the most fucked up thing you’ve ever done to me and I’m not sure what to do ’bout it.

        • Vault Dweller

          Boy, I might be ’bout to do it

        • Dubs

          I mean, there is no real reason to accept the way things have changed between us.

        • Mother Shabubu

          You should fly from the inside.

    • ol’ one-thumb does it again

    • i mean, is jasta still goin thru hard times?

      • Angus McMoobieFart ’16

        He’s singing for all the bros who’re mad that the local GNC closed. “WTF, bro?!? First Ronda Rousey sends me a restraining order, and now I can’t get any more shake weights and wheat germ?! Urrrrrrrrrrrrrgh, crank that Hatebreed, bro! Feel my paaaaaaaaaaaaaaaiiiiiiiiiiinnnnn!!!!!”

    • Angus McMoobieFart ’16

      I made it a whole 45 seconds before being overcome by the smell of spray on deodorant, graham cracker sweatsocks, and Brock Lesner’s jock strapcore.

      • That is weird, with the swill you listen to, I am surprised you did not make it further.


        • Lol

        • Angus McMoobieFart ’16

          Ironically enough, I’m listening to Novelists (for the first time), which tosses in several completely out of place tough guy gym rat moments in between the proggy stuff.

    • Molenaar intensifies.

  • Ooh, some interesting looking stuff in this week. New Katalepsy is top priority!
    …for when I, y’know, find the time and energy for new tunes…

    • Dubs

      Don’t be such a wiener.

      • The “i” before “e” placement in your statement was critical. Fine execution, Mr. Presidente.

      • Angus McMoobieFart ’16
      • White noise comes through my headset and makes me drowsy when I plug in to my computer. Listening to stuff at work is, ah, shall we say, sub-optimal.

        • Dubs

          That sounds pretty ideal for Ed.

    • Dubs

      jk luv u

  • Bummer when there is no preview tracks. Is what it is doe.

    • Lacertilian

      Yep, not much you can do though unfortunately, which one dude?

  • Óðinn

    Well this sucks donkey balls…

    Agalloch broke up

    I know this happened last week, but I just heard. Fuckin fuck fuck fuck…fuck.

  • As someone who hasn’t enjoyed much of anything Hatebreed has put out since the first album, this new stuff is not bad. I’m cool with them jacking Slayer riffs.

  • Ayreonaut

    Saw the Sword last night… Amazing show. Incredibly loud. It sucks that the only venue that metal bands play at in my city has worse acoustics than a porta potty

    • along the same lines, the wife and are going to see Devin Townsend, BTTBM, and Fallujah in September for our anniversary. Should be sweeeeeeeet

      • Ayreonaut

        That’s a pretty solid lineup!! Should be a great show. I don’t understand Fallujah though.. I never really paid attention to them and then they came out with that album a few years ago that everybody was touting as the record of the year and whatnot.. I listened to it and I just could not get into it.. Maybe I should give em another go?

        • Sure. I listen to the album at least once a day (driving to work). Took 10 or so listens to start to digest wth is going on. It is pretty solid if you have the ambition to listen a couple of times.

          • Vault Dweller

            Ooh man, I love those first two full-lengths immensely.

            Still working on ‘unpacking’ and ‘digesting’ the third one, which so far I like less than the others. But, as you point out, it requires a little effort to dig into the meat & potatoes of their albums, so it wouldn’t surprise me if my view changes.

          • My only complaint is the guitar lead “swells”. They happen waaaaay too often. They could do with a little more straight riffing. Track 8, Amber Gaze, @2:26 is the best part of the record. Just. Riffs.

            Although the mix is kinda busy, I still reeeally enjoy it.


        • Maybe, maybe not. People are always going to have artists that they just don’t *get.*

      • Angus McMoobieFart ’16

        Devin Townsend >>>>>>>>>>>>

  • Will check out: In Twilight’s Embrace, Enoid, Iron Mountain and Catholic Girls.

    Also, is there a song to check about Seventh Xul?

    Thanks, guys!!

  • sweetooth0

    Fleshgore! That’s some solid Brutal Death Metal right there.

    • tertius_decimus

      Haven’t listened Fleshgore for ages. Last listen was like… when? 2008? Holy shit!

      • sweetooth0

        don’t think I ever have, this is just strictly off of listening to this one on the bandcamp!

        • tertius_decimus

          Listen to “May God Strike Me Dead” then. It’s a good call.

  • RJA

    A re-issue of an obscure 2010 Greek release with ties to Acherontas, Enshadowed and Nocternity? Sign me the fuck up!
    In total agreement – we are the same person. I will definitely be looking to pick that up.

    • Lacertilian

      It’s brief but awesome. Like all good things

  • Angus McMoobieFart ’16

    Yes, yeeeeeeeeeeees, this new Katalepsy is purdy good so far! Sensing a bit of Spawn Of Possession influence in there.

  • Janitor Jim Duggan

    Here’s a mini review of the new Flotsam And Jetsam album: It’s extremely disappointing. It’s better than the last album but compared to No Place For Disgrace or even their 2010 album The Cold it’s mediocre.

    • Angus McMoobieFart ’16

      Haven’t heard the new one, but I doubt they’ll ever top NPFD. That one is a bonafide classic. I think they went downhill from Cuatro onwards.

    • Óðinn

      I’m sorry to hear that. I know it must be “hard on you”. 😉

  • In Twilight’s Embrace fucking rips. I’m sold with this release, 365. This rules!!!

  • Óðinn