Mini-Reviews from Around the Toilet Bowl: 05-12-2016

1598
139
Share:

Small content for the (s)mal(l)content. Reviewed inside: Ygfan, I Am Noah, True Black DawnCelestian Ruin, Wastëland RidersAbnormality, Coffin Lust, UhtcearuPersecutory and Wormlust.

____________

Ygfan Köd
ATMF | June 3rd, 2016

Ygfan, out of Hungary, created some interesting black/folk/post metal on their debut EP. The crystal clear production might turn some off, but it works well for some of their blackgaze tendencies. The album features phlegm filled harsh vocals that are layered on top of a consistently full sound. The first track on the album is excellent, and is somehow concise in its 10 minute run time. “I” and “II” feel completely resolved as songs, but “III” is a hypnotically slow groove that goes for a little too long before it progresses, and the payoff isn’t exactly worth the wait. I absolutely love the guitar tone they use on some of the slower melodic sections, and the clean vocals are something I would like to see more of, but that would almost definitely put them closer to the “post” end of the spectrum.Very unique stuff here. FFO: a blacker version of Katatonia?  — Joaquin Stick

____________

iamnoah

I Am Noah The Verdict
Bastardized Recordings | May 13th, 2016

Ambient metalcore? That’s how Germany’s I Am Noah was pitched to us and admittedly, it piqued my interest.  In 2016, it feels like everything has been done and re-done in metalcore. Actively adding ambience to a testosterone-heavy genre is a lofty goal. A bit too lofty, as The Verdict doesn’t really have ambient parts. Quiet, melodic parts, yes. Ambient? Not really. I Am Noah’s sound is a blend of metalcore and djent that will get you spinkicking like you’re in Street Fighter 2 and two-stepping like it’s 2006. The Verdict doesn’t reinvent the wheel like I had hoped, but it provides the listener a steady mixture of melody and aggression. Good for those that already like the genre and need a new band.  RIYL: Misery Signals, Unearth, Veil Of Maya— 365

 ____________

come the colorless dawnTrue Black Dawn – Come the Colorless Dawn
World Terror Committee | May 17th

It’s been 15 years since TBD last released an album. Fifteen years is a hell of a longtime, and there’s just no way any band could possibly answer the hype born in that time – lucky then, that I have not been paying attention and Come the Colorless Dawn caught me by surprise. Even without exceptions, however, it’s nothing spectacular. Very much “just” black metal; there are a few good riffs and Victor‘s instantly recognizable haunting howls are as chilling as ever – but it just isn’t enough. The songwriting is a tad more varied than on the fast-‘n-filthy debut, and the clear (but not clean) production keeps every instrument audible. So ironically CTCD is more colorful than its predecessor. It’s a good, but not great, black metal record by a formidable band -“The Sectile Shadow” and the title track may not pale in comparison to their kind, but the rest of the songs remain too, well… colorless. — Karhu

____________

celestial-ruin-pandora-coverCelestial RuinPandora
Independent | May 20th, 2016

Gothic/Symphonic metal isn’t exactly the easiest genre to break into, at least in North America. Europe eats that stuff up like it was black coffee and clove cigarettes, but not so much on this side of the pond. There have been some bands that have flirted with the basics of the genre to some success, such as Evanescence and Lacuna Coil, but not really many that have gone full corset as it were. Canada’s Celestial Ruin hopes to break through with their new album Pandora. While many are put off by the genre’s tendency towards the over-dramatic, Celestial Ruin manage to straddle the line between passion and outright cheesiness that hinders other gothic/symphonic metal bands (not including their promo photo). True, there are the occasional synth flourishes and pale-and-black-clothes imagery, but it is never overwhelming. Pandora has an easily digestible catchiness to it that it can serve as a starting point for those interested in exploring this type of scene further. RIYL: Kamelot, Within Temptation, After Forever. — 365

____________

Wastëland Riders – Speed Rock & Roll
Independent | May 16th, 2016

My knuckles turn white as my grip tightens on the steering wheel. I peer into my rear view mirror, the mutants are gaining on me. Ever closer they ride, relentlessly. I know I can lose them in the valley, but I must get there before they catch me. The road curves and I navigate the turns as my engine aches. An old machine, but sturdy. All I need is for it to last one more day and then it can rest. One more day in this hell and I can rest. As I make the next turn my engine starts to sputter. My speedometer drops, and the mutants overtake me. I can see one of them hanging out of a window with a spear. I ram into him sending his vehicle into the valley wall. The jostling sends my car into a frenzy, and a sound starts to erupt from inside. A low fizzy tone with many voices. The radio! That hadn’t worked since before the fallout, but now it was picking a frequency up. The radio caught me off guard and one of the mutants sent my car flying through the air. As I plummeted back down, the radio cleared and what I heard was Speed Rock & Roll. (FFO: Venom, Motorhead, Mad Max) — Boss the Ross

____________

Abnormality Mechanisms of Omniscience
Metal Blade Records | April 29th, 2016

Another band I discovered through a videogame! The original Rock Band had a bunch of songs from people that worked or were involved with the company; apparently Abnormality vocalist Malika Sundaramurthy worked at Harmonix (RB’s developer), so their song “Visions” was featured in the game (and tore a young Moshito’s brain in half). Now the band is back with their sophomore album Mechanisms of Omniscience, and if you’re planning on doing anything with your pelvic area afterwards, postpone it immediately. This album crushes with no regard for anything; think more modern Cryptopsy worship (which in my book is always a good thing) with much more atmosphere to the guitars and a production that’s less sterile-sounding as a whole. This is a must listen for any death metal fan, so grab it here— Moshito

______________

a3099091594_10Coffin Lust Manifestation of Inner Darkness
Hell’s Headbangers Records | April 23rd, 2016

No, that’s not a misprint. Last week I reviewed Coffin Dust, this week Coffin Lust. Yes, the names may be similar, but the albums are separated by a vast expanse of unadulterated kickarse-ness. Hailing from Victoria, Australia, the two men of whom the band is comprised show their experience in crafting filthy yet fluid throwback death metal that will have you thinking the rancour of the early 90’s scene never ended. The tempo ranges from the hasty [Setting 6] on the local abattoir’s meat pulveriser down to “Fuck, I don’t think my knees are supposed to bend back that direction“. Heavy, infectious, deadly. FFO: Neck-Snapping, Sweden, Impromptu Circle Pit Frenzies. Next week, Coffin Gust. — Lacertilian

______________

Uhtcearu – The Plight of Wanderers
Independent | April 17th, 2016

Zach Ostrowski, bassist/vocalist of self-described melodic black metal band Uhtcearu shared his band’s debut album in the Facebook group this morning, and although self-promotion there is spotty at best, this one will likely appeal to a number of you. While I don’t hear much in the way of black metal (aside from “A Shelter for Forgotten Souls” sporting some Hellenic harmonies), Ostrowski’s galloping bass sounds great and perfectly accents the driving riffs and hot fire solos (see the leads in “Rite of Passage”). There is a nice variation across the album and a heaping helping of melody in each track, so if you find yourself wanting fun, melodic metal with some clever riffs and peppy gang vocals amid the screams, you may dig this. — W.

____________

Persecutory Perversion Feeds Our Force
Hell’s Hammer Music | Janurary 29th, 2016

Take a good long look at that cover, citizens. I think you can get a good idea of what to expect. This debut EP is what I imagine would happen if you added a large dose of Damaar’s cult classic (and only) EP Triumph Over Spears of Sacrilege (a.k.a my third favorite war metal album of all time) to a foundation of chaotic Nifelheim-esque black/thrash. The result this Turkish trio provides is nearly 18 minutes of absolutely nihilistic hatred towards the Abrahamic scum, rife with spazzy chords, scattershot drumming, and reverb all over the goddamn place including on vocalist Pervert Profanator’s anguished howling. Nice little mid paced grooves are interspersed between the chaos, giving something of a breather from the relentless pummeling. Overall, some fun listening from the far reaches of the Mediterranean. Simon Phoenix

____________

wormlust1

Wormlust The Feral Wisdom
Daemon Worship | September 8th, 2013

Do you like piña coladas? Getting caught in the rain? Are you not into yoga? Do you have half a brain? If you answered any of these questions, congratulations—you exist! Although after pressing PLAY on Wormlust’s The Feral Wisdom you might not anymore. There’s a high probability that this ravenous, chaos-worshipping and kaleidoscopic black metal from Iceland will tear you apart one iota from the next and hurl you through the walls of time, into some negative infinity with a sum potentiality of 0. Expect dizzying blastbeats. Expect bizarre tonalities. Expect to feel bad, then weird, then good. Just don’t expect this to sound like other Icelandic black metal. This ain’t your momma’s Svartidauði. FFO: Skaphé, Skaphé², Skaphé³ — Richter

____________

Did you dig this? Take a second to support Toilet ov Hell on Patreon!
  • Eliza

    So, Wasteland Riders are as awesome as I remember.

  • Been waiting on new Wormlust for sometime now. That album in particular is a real mind fuck. Here’s new creepy footage of them live…

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gnc45PjxrI4

    • Dubs

      I remember checking Wormlust out at some point, but it seems to have slipped my mind, which is a shame because this album is rad.

    • Check your inbox for a reply about my order from Drakkar

  • Last week I said the same thing, but… I need to listen to that new Coffin Dust. Too much shit to listen too. Ross the Boss was just asking me this morning if I listened to the new Wastëland Riders album in full (I haven’t). I’m so backed up on my music.

    • sweetooth0

      the bandcamp still only has the one track for Wastëland Riders.

  • 365ChaosRiddenDays

    I like that rancorous Death Metal made by Coffin Lust, solid album. I have something that I want to share with you, seems that kind of swedish DM that rules hard: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4O4j2Muvrlg

    • Gutter Instinct is some good shit.

      • Dubs

        New album coming soon. Got the promo this week.

        • Question: do you all get promo releases for likes of Gojira? They likely send promos out, right?

          • Dubs

            We don’t get any promos from Roadrunner afaik.

          • Roger.

            *beep beep*

          • Lacertilian

            As far as I know, my inbox doesn’t even JUMPDAFUKUP.

          • does it djent? cause if there’s new Periphery…………………..

          • *confession* I was listening to their 2012 effort and it did not suck as bad as I remember. It was almost tolerable.

          • they haven’t done anything sucky thus far.
            (just one man’s opinion… an unpopular one at that)

          • Sploopy Thunderplop

            They just need to scrap that vocalist, and they’re good to go. Otherwise, it’s about like pouring dollar steak sauce all over a Michelin star meal.

          • not going to fight you here (maybe we should?). i think Spencer’s great but i can completely understand how folks don’t dig him.

          • Sploopy Thunderplop

            The only way to settle this fight is Turkish Grease Wrestling style! *enters the ring in a mankini with a bucket of Crisco*

          • what have i got to loose?
            *does the thing with KJU*

          • Sploopy Thunderplop
          • You like Dust Moth right? New song.

            https://dustmoth.bandcamp.com/album/scale

          • oh buddy! <3

          • Love her voice. Like that doom sound they have going now too. Reminds me of Jex Thoth.

          • it’s been a while since i jammed them. i’m glad you remembered, because i seem to have forgotten 😉 that new song they posted already sounds better than Dragon Mouth from 2014!

          • Dubs

            i forgot about them too

          • Simon PhoenixKing Rising

            I was wondering if you noticed that. Darkher have also suppoedly finished recording their debut full length too.

          • RAD!!! Thanks for the update. Finally.

          • Lacertilian

            It djoes djnot.

          • I made fun of Roadrunner on that Gojira post I did. The next day they sent me Jim Breuer’s metal album. I assume it was a threat.

          • That guy is a living cringe.

          • See I remember that, but I did not know if it was a representation of them having or having not sent you material before. Hmmmm

          • That was the first time. Crazy, right?

          • Indeed! Maybe that is an indication of future things to come?

          • Sploopy Thunderplop

            Next, they’re gonna tie him down Clockwork Orange style and make him listen to Theory Of A Dead Man nonstop for a week, and marathons of ‘The Astonishing’ in between.

          • Sploopy Thunderplop

            GAH!!!!

          • Señor Jefe El Rosa

            Send it to me!!!!!!

        • You lucky dog you.

      • 365ChaosRiddenDays

        Glad you like it guys, I like that kind of darkness which is typical of the 90’s, this band incarnates the fury in their riffs, pretty stoked by their upcoming album.

    • Eliza

      I like the riffs here.

    • Sploopy Thunderplop

      Pretty good! (and kudos for the demon boners and boobies in the video)

      • 365ChaosRiddenDays

        Ha ha yeah, and kudos to the members with patches of Grave and Mgla in their jackets.

    • Lacertilian

      Dubs wrote a feature on them last year as one of his band of the month pieces…so good!

      • 365ChaosRiddenDays

        I didn’t know that but then I read his brief review. Excellent EP who is short but sweet and in 13 days their album will be released, maybe “Age of the Fanatics” will be a masterpiece, sincerely I’m not very doubtful.

  • Sploopy Thunderplop
    • tigeraid
      • well played sir. and don’t you worry, i keep a mental tally of the Simpsons superfans in the Toilet. one day we’re going to have a Simpsons trivia competition.

        • Has JJD been around of late? I have not seen him… just wondering if he is doing alright, or if anyone knows.

          • Sploopy Thunderplop

            Yeah, he’s on vacation until Saturday.

          • Noted. Thanks for the info!

          • vacation or something. i know, it would be funnier if he was on a drinking binge.

        • tigeraid

          I will fucking slay all Simpsons posers. I await your command.

          • …that’s what all Simpsons Intermediates say…

          • tigeraid

            I could help others… I’ll get a bunch of monkeys, dress them up, and make them re-enact the Civil War.

    • Dave Vincent’s Perm

      Ambient smell of weed, axe body spray and flavoured vodka

      • Sploopy Thunderplop

        “Bro, you don’t know my paaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaiiiiiiiiin!”
        *breakdown, jumping up and down, headbobbing, crabwalking intensifies*
        *then comes the Aphex Twin blips and bloops, and spoopy Future Sound Of London synths*

        • Dave Vincent’s Perm

          BBBBBBBBBBBBBBBB

          • Sploopy Thunderplop

            *scratches head*

      • Count_Breznak

        You went to a Deafhaven show ?

        • you’ve got a little bit of Supernintendo Chalmers’ sass in ya.

        • Dave Vincent’s Perm

          Nah, there was no vegan flatbread.

  • tigeraid

    That Wasteland Rider is deadly driving music. I approve.

    • Eliza

      I think just about any activity becomes epic if you play Wasteland Riders.

      • Señor Jefe El Rosa

        Yes indeed. Sitting on my bed became METAL AS FUCK!!!

        • Eliza

          Simply getting up to go somewhere else also became METAL AS FUCK!

      • tigeraid

        Shopping for produce? Fucking metal.

        • Eliza

          Walking around the house? Fucking METAHL!

  • Dave Vincent’s Perm

    Preemptive mini-review of seeing Revenge and Pissgrave on the same day:
    AAAAAAGH MY EARS
    AAAAAAGH MY NECK

    • Shrimp in a Pizza Box

      Actually just listened to both of their 2015 releases back to back. You lucky bugger.

      • Dave Vincent’s Perm

        I thought I’d have an exam on the day but there’s two weeks where I don’t have any exams and Temples Fest is right in the middle.

      • Dave Vincent’s Perm

        I’ll be lucky to find a way of getting there.

    • I’ll be seeing Revenge in a few months.

    • sweetooth0

      Revenge in July!!!

    • sweetooth0

      Pissgrave in about 2 weeks!!

      • Damn dude, you catch a lot of shows. Jealous.

      • Dave Vincent’s Perm

        I’ll be possibly seeing them when they come to Britain in three weeks.

        • Brutalist_Receptacle

          I WILL POSSIBLY LOOK FORWARD TO YOUR SEEING THEM

  • Möthër Shäbübü

    Coffin Lust, Wormlust…what’s next Coffinwormlust?

  • TrickleDownOvTacoKvltRiff

    Ring Ring, call for Wasteland Riders. I have Meatloaf on the phone he wants his album cover back. Thanks

    • Dubs

      Take your complaint to AARP, gramps.

      • TrickleDownOvTacoKvltRiff

        Haha will do. I’m actually ok with it, Meatloaf sucked hard BUT its pretty blatant.

      • what’s teh cutoff age Dubs? i just need to be prepared is all

        • Dubs

          If you find yourself knowing 24% of the bands JJD posts on a daily basis, you old af.

          • Paddlin’ Rites ov Beargod

            Or just happen to habe an exquisitely good taste.

        • TrickleDownOvTacoKvltRiff

          50= AARP.

          I have connections when your ready.

    • Sploopy Thunderplop

      Not really seeing the Meat Loaf on there. More like:

      https://i.ytimg.com/vi/lL63ogqXD18/maxresdefault.jpg

      • TrickleDownOvTacoKvltRiff

        Just a little…haha.

    • RJA

      If that cover isn’t false advertising I don’t know what is.

      • When I was like 10 I stole that cassette from my sister because I thought it would be evil af. The disappointment crushes me to this day.

      • TrickleDownOvTacoKvltRiff

        For sure!

    • lol I always thought I wanted to listen to this as a kid. Apparently I was missing nothing.

      • TrickleDownOvTacoKvltRiff

        DOOOOOONT DOOOOOO IT!

        Enjoy some lyrics:

        ‘m gonna hit the highway like a battering ram

        On a silver-black phantom bike.

        When the metal is hot, and the engine is hungry

        And we’re all about to see the light.

        Nothing ever grows in this rotting old hole,

        And everything is stunted and lost.

        And nothing really rocks, and nothing really rolls,

        And nothing’s ever worth the cost.

        • now i haven’t listened to most of his catalogue; but if we’re talking about the same Meat Loaf who was in Rocky Horror Picture Show, you’re going to need to sit in time out young man.

          • Señor Jefe El Rosa

            Hot patootie, bless my soul, I really love that rock ‘n’ roll!!

          • love that movie. sure would be funny if a bunch of us got to see it in a theatre at the same time, like in the days of yore

          • Señor Jefe El Rosa

            Haha Rocky Horror Toilet ov Hell Show!

          • Ted Nü-Djent ™

            What a guy, how I cried

          • …Und I did!

          • Ted Nü-Djent ™

            This is exactly how I imagined this playing out. Exactly

          • TrickleDownOvTacoKvltRiff

            Guilty as charged. People loved that dashboard headlights shit back in the day. But I liked Slayers last album so fuck me!

          • the dashboard headlight song would be tolerable — good even — if motherfuckers didn’t run it into the ground with horrible karaoke covers. BUT dude’s got pipes!

          • TrickleDownOvTacoKvltRiff

            no lo contendo

    • Señor Jefe El Rosa

      Hahaha!

    • Ted Nü-Djent ™

      Hahaha

      • TrickleDownOvTacoKvltRiff

        TOP JIMMY O JIMMY HES THE KING! (And I mean it!)

  • Waynecro

    Thanks for the reviews, dudes. Some of those albums jam hard enough to worry and perplex my dog.

  • Hans Müller

    Don’t usually go for the Swedeath worship, but Coffin Lust seems cool. Guys from Nocturnal Graves and Destruktor – had to give it a chance.
    Still though, I’m holding out for Coffin Bust and Coffin Crust. Someone please make that latter one.