Mini-Reviews from Around the Toilet Bowl: 04-14-16

2062
222
Share:

You know the (small) drill! This week features reviews of Degtras, Nađra, A Blue Fire, Black Peaks, The Dread Crew of Oddwood, Protest the Hero, Is, Violet Cold, HortlakYuri Gagarin and Qrixkuor.

____________

DegtrasHominidaeResonancecoverDegtras – Hominidae Resonance EP
Wood and Stone Production | May 6th, 2016

The more contact I have with new things, the more I learn. Degtras is new to me, but any duo labeling themselves as “dark ritualistic ambient” piques my interest. Track 1, “Pulse,” slithers into your ears with softly whispered invocations. Track 2, “Ancient Forest,” ebbs with obtuse SunnO)))-like amp drones, reverbing bitrate-damaged hisses and cavernous atmosphere complete with watery field recordings. Track 3, “Earth,” allows a planetary magnetic ambience to take center stage while the invocations continue amidst windy analog howling and deep bass breathing. While the song names and mandala artwork suggest Degtras are interested in a more natural take on dark ambient, the sonic qualities are unmistakably synthetic, and Hominidae Resonance approaches something more like a soundtrack to an abandoned, flooded missile base than a pagan ritual on a fire-lit taiga. Admittedly not terribly memorable at first listen; another two tracks with a bit more variety in sound would have made this release ideal. Still, what’s here is perfect for a late-night working/reading/creeping-yourself-out session. — Cybrorg

____________

Qrixkuor – Three Devils Dance
Invictus Production | April 30th, 2016

In 2014, a young quartet of musicians with curious, occult leanings began a deep descent into the heart of the Earth beneath the cobbled streets of London, Their profane activities unearthed two demos of immense and impressive scope, but the four-piece have truly outdone themselves on their highly anticipated debut, digging far deeper than ever before to reveal a monumental three-track titan of unimaginable scope and might. Qrixkuor put the “cave” in cavernous death metal, diving headlong into the molten magma of subterranean production and style. Each of these three long tracks is a flowing river of flaming lava riffs that leaves everything tasting ashy and dead; although the rhythm section rarely breaks into anything more than a hellishly glacial pace, the constant pounding drums keep things shaking and quaking while the billowing, smog-like vocals choke the light. If you want a taste of what’s to come, listen to “The Divine Architect” at cvltnation. That sinister build-up prior to all hell breaking loose in a landslide of violent, Portal-eque riffs is only a hint of the triumphant murk diving of which this young band is capable. — W.

____________

Nađra Form EP
Vánagandr | April 13th, 2016

Not content with sticking to just one release this year, Iceland’s Nađra surprised a bunch of us here by dropping a 2-track EP on Tuesday. Such is the quality of the band (comprised of members from Misþyrming, Skáphe (review), Carpe Noctem, et al.) that I bought the album blind, or deaf, as it were. While I was fascinated by their debut EP, their February full-length (Spear’s review here) didn’t quite resonate as strongly as I anticipated it would for me, and Form might just end up having a similar effect. The band’s sound appears to be continuing to progress towards a less aggressive overall sound, focusing their intent on the sweeping melodic aspect of their style. The vocals in particular have taken a step toward embracing a cleaner sound, with the latter portion of the first track (“Forn”) having folk-like undertones. Overall, I can’t complain too much, as these tracks were name your price and will serve as a fine addition to their catalogue. Form remains a welcome surprise that will please fans of the band. (I’m just prejudiced against the majority of clean vocals). — Lacertilian.

____________

abluefireA Blue Fire – A Blue Fire
Long Gone Days Records |
April 12th, 2016

A Blue Fire is the musical collaboration between Luca Bluefire and Simone Raoul Lombardo, formerly of the Italian rock band Nahui. The duo’s debut four-song EP is a somber love letter that will strike a chord with fans of bands like Katatonia. Bluefire’s steady voice gives the songs an ethereal, dreamlike quality that perfectly complements the moving overtones of the music. While the EP doesn’t quite reach the emotional apex that their contemporaries do, this album is a quality introduction and a good addition to the pantheon of post-rock, post-goth, feelings metallers. You may not need to wipe up any tears while listening, but a few long sighs may be expected. RIYL: Katatonia, Alcest, Anathema. — 365

____________

Black Peaks Statues
Easy Life/Sony | April 8th, 2016

Remember last June when I wrote about this band called Black Peaks? After over a year of waiting, their debut album Statues is FINALLY out, and it’s nothing short of incredible. Take math rock, post-rock, prog, and a bit of metal and hardcore and throw it all in a blender; the result could potentially be horrible, but these four gentlemen have managed to make an album packed with as many memorable hooks as off-kilter riffs to create an album that I think most fans of heavy music will be able to appreciate. This is music that is aggressive when it needs to be and calm when appropriate, backed up by tremendous instrumental chops and an amazingly diverse vocal performance. Quick, someone build Black Peaks a Shrine. Stream Statues here. — MoshOff

____________


dreadcrewofoddwoodThe Dread Crew of Oddwood
Lawful Evil
Self-Released |
March 25th, 2016

Avast ye, metal lovers. Be cast into the briny deep if ye be too faint of heart and hurt of butt to listen to acoustic pirate metal. Okay, that’s enough of that. Hailing from San Diego, The Dread Crew of Oddwood blends  the uptempo sea shanties of Alestorm with an obvious sense of humor and self-awareness. Lawful Evil, which came to fruition after their Kickstarter raised over $17,000(!), is a fun bit of folk metal that will leave the scent of sea air and blood deep within your nostrils. The lack of amps and electric instruments only strengthens the band’s throwback sound, allowing all the instruments time to shine. Be prepared to dance like a total goof. Yar! RIYL:  Swashbuckle, Korpiklaani, Slaughter Of The Bluegrass. — 365

____________

Protest the Hero – Pacific Myth
Self-Released | October 2015 – March 2016

I was worried that the loss of not one but two founding members would slow Protest the Hero down, but my fears were all for naught. Continuing to go further down the crowfunding road, their latest batch of material was released one song a month over a six month period to subscribers of a new, yearly-paid service. Each of the songs was written and recorded in that month, and the result is standard PTH fare: really good. At just over half an hour in length, the Canadians pack almost every aspect of their sound into Pacific Myth: fast/hardcore beats, straightforward grooves, soaring vocal melodies, death growls, progressive/technical wizardry, violins… This is PTH’s most diverse collection of songs, and if they keep this up with decent frequency their service is more than worth the price. Sign up here. — MoshOff

____________

Is Glimpses of Sorrow EP
Independent | January 19th, 2016

I’m not going to beat around the bush, the new Is EP, Glimpses of Sorrow, is my favorite black metal release of 2016 so far and is likely to find itself somewhere in the top ten for my year end list.  If you take particular titillation in icy atmosphere, excellent tone, absolutely infectious riffs, and band pics with swords, this self-released, one man project out of Russia is just for you. Sole member Nokken’s shrieks pierce through the music with both grace and power, even going to a lower growl for a verse on the second track. This is thirty plus minutes of brilliantly executed, mid-paced melodic black metal with little to no filler, and tons of memorable moments. Recommended for anyone who likes things that are good. The year of the EP continues! — Jom Pootersan

____________

Violet Cold Magic Night
Independent | January 31st, 2016

I am not quite sure what to make of Violet Cold, the one-man experimental band out of Azerbaijan. A few of us toileteers quite enjoyed the album Desperate Dreams, which came out last April, as a refreshing and upbeat take on black metal. Just a few months later, he released an album on a completely different end of the black metal strata. This instrumental atmospheric-black-space-gaze album (a very logical sub-genre, if you think about it) is beautifully produced, mixing the blasting drums with calming atmospherics. It frequently flows between post rock and black metal and somehow never feels disjointed. What confuses me is not the differences between these two albums, but that he also released a harsh noise album in March. This man will leave no genre untouched.  FFO: Alcest, Sorrow Plagues, Mesarthim. — Joaquin Stick

____________

Hortlak Hortlak
Independent | January 26th, 2016

These boys are from Texas! This album popped up on my bandcamp feed from the infamous Celtic Frosty. The album art is what piqued my interest initially, and I gave it a listen. The tags were all over the place; death, thrash, power, black and grind. I didn’t know what to expect and was bludgeoned with a sledgehammer of old school death metal. Thick, mid-paced chugs and fast single-note riffs pummeled me again and again. It was unrelenting, and I enjoyed it. Perhaps it’s the Texas, more than likely it’s the riffs, but whatever the cause Hortlak remains in the rotation when I need death metal chugs. — Boss the Ross

____________

Yuri Gagarin – At The Center Of All Infinity
Released Through 4 Different Labels?! | December 2nd, 2015

Instrumental wah-drenched psychedelic space-rock from Gothenberg, Sweden. Do you really need more of a description than that? Yuri Gagarin blow my mind every single time I listen to them, and I’ve been putting off reviewing their latest for wayyy too long, with the idea that I’d find time to give them the full length review that they totally deserve. Alas, with the amount of new stuff overflowing from my inbox daily, that prospect seems less and less likely. So if you like the idea of tripping all the balls from a mere contact high, this is your band. Even though I have not spent as much time with this latest release compared to their self-titled, it’s blatantly apparent that it is as good a place as any to lose your shit to the infinite cosmos. FFO: Earthless, Sun Mammuth, Eating Fun With Gus. — Lacertilian.

Did you dig this? Take a second to support Toilet ov Hell on Patreon!
  • Eliza

    There are many things that interest me from what has been presented this week. Too many I’d say.

  • That Qrixkuor is something else. I will never spell that name correctly again, I already know it.

    • Edward/Breegrodamus™

      See also: Chethe’ilist

  • FrankWhiteKingOfNY

    Going by the name-dropping I’m gonna go with Qrixkuor (even though I think that whole “cavernous DM” style is getting close to the point of being overdone), A Blue Fire and Nađra.

    Protest the Hero never did much for me. Think I’m going to take a pass on that one.

    • Eliza

      I’m so glad to know that I’m not the only one who never got into Protest the Hero.

      • MoshOff

        One song to try and change your mind. Those feels.

        https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ar15p6AFR8A

        • Eliza

          I have to say, this sounds really good, I may give this band a second shot.

        • Le flushé, as the French would say.

        • FrankWhiteKingOfNY

          1 minute in. Not feeling those feels.

          • MoshOff

            Listen to the whole song, trust me.

          • I will, but I still want to punch his voice in the dick.

          • FrankWhiteKingOfNY

            Sorry man, I tried, but this really really really really really really isn’t my thing.

          • MoshOff

            Y U NO LIEK TING

            LIEK TING I LIEK

          • Dubs

            That’s not my name.

          • Eliza

            It kinda sounds like Scale the Summit with vocals.

          • FrankWhiteKingOfNY

            Scale the Summit doesn’t do anything for me either. Great musicians, but nothing that sticks with me.

          • Eliza

            I like StS, but I think they specifically work for me because they don’t have a vocalist. I listened to the whole song above and while at first I thought I might find a liking for PtH, I haven’t yet. It’ll take more that this.

          • Thank you for cementing my decision not to listen.

          • MoshOff

            They are Big Progcore boys, but definitely not Big Jazz boys.

          • Do it! I want to read your comment! 🙂

        • CyberneticOrganism

          Ewww

        • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

          The President pardoned the turkey, and now it’s looking to get revenge.

      • Owlswald

        I couldn’t do it either.

        • Eliza

          I listened to the songs posted here, which are good songs, but I still haven’t found something special. I definitely don’t dislike this band’s music, it’s just eh to me.

      • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

        I actually laughed when I saw them up there. You’re definitely not alone on not liking them!

        • Eliza

          I was thinking they’re one of those bands that I don’t (care to) know particularly well, but everyone else loves.

          • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

            Pretty sure Tapir hates them too.

          • Eliza

            What doesn’t he hate?

          • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

            Lol! He has some really good music to back up his case though. He emailed me the new Moonsorrow, which stayed in my player almost nonstop for two days. And several bands he showed me ended up in my MP3 player.

          • Eliza

            Note to self: listen to new Moonsorrow. Anyway, he told me about Blut aus Nord, which I currently can’t get enough of.

          • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

            Good stuff! Toss me a line at geistimsturm@gmail.com, and I can get the new Moonsorrow over to you.

        • FrankWhiteKingOfNY

          They suffer from the “Periphery problem”. Talented musicians, horrid “I want to kill myself if I have to listen to this again” vocals.

          • Eliza

            If Periphery would go instrumental, that’d be the best choice of their career.

          • FrankWhiteKingOfNY

            Agreed. Though I don’t really like to hate on Periphery. For what it’s worth, they seem to be cool guys.

          • Eliza

            And talented too. The guitar work is really good.

          • it’s tough being a Periphery fan sometimes.
            aw fuck it, who cares, i’m a fan!!

          • FrankWhiteKingOfNY

            I don’t hate them, I just don’t like their sound.
            If I think a band’s music sucks, I’ll mostly keep it to myself, unless the musicians also happen to be a bunch of dicks.

          • that’s okay, i wasn’t giving anyone a hard time but myself!

          • TrickleDownOvTacoKvltRiff

            u B u bro..

          • Words of inspiration from the universe’s most relaxed clown 😉

          • TrickleDownOvTacoKvltRiff

            haha why thank you buddy…<3

          • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

            Lol, you could always put their CDs through a karaoke machine.

          • Eliza

            I didn’t think about that.

          • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

            Yup! It’s like taking a Michelin star meal and covering it in spray cheese.

  • That Nađra EP was a disappointment for me. The second track was solid though. Whatever, the LP kills! Dat new Qrixkuor song, it’s damn good!

    • Dubs

      I think I like the first track a little better. There’s a part of descending notes at the 13 minute mark that just rips.

      • The clean vocals really ruin in for me. I hope they stay away from doing that in the future.

        • Dubs

          Sorry, I was talking about Qrixkuor.

          • Oh, I only heard that one released track.

          • Dubs

            The first track is like 15 minutes long.

          • They write some long butt ass songs.

          • Dubs

            I dunno why, but that cracked me up.

          • Haha, so dumb but yeah I had to chuckle at my own dumb wit.

    • Ol Dirty Blastbeard

      i wasnt thaaaaaat put off by the EP, but my tastes swing post of yours too

      • Me noither. Just that screwy cockrock part.

  • I doomloaded the Nadra EP, but haven’t checked it out yet.

    Interested in Is, A Blue Fire and Protest the Hero. Good roundup!!

  • MoshOff

    Guys I can’t stress this enough: listen to Black Peaks.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3rM8j0Ir8dQ

    • Eliza

      I like this. Will listen to more.

    • EsusMoose

      Holy shit the album is finally out and they even changed the music video if I remember the original correctly

    • Joaquin Stick

      I like this. Thanks Moshy.

      • Joaquin Stick

        Y no on Spotify tho? Ugh. People who make it difficult for me to listen to their music<<<<

        • EsusMoose

          It’s on spotify now!

          • Joaquin Stick

            Sweet!!!

  • Rob M

    So far that Qrixkuor album is sounding absolutely crushing.

    I’ll have to check out the new IS EP, I liked the full length he dropped last year

  • Eliza

    Hey, did anyone listen to Hortlak? It’s good.

    • Boss theSpeedMetalBastard Ross

      I did. Hehehehe

      • Eliza

        I was wondering what others’ opinions were. No one mentioned them, and it’d be a shame if it stayed like this.

        • Boss theSpeedMetalBastard Ross

          It is worth mentioning that they bear the ever-mystical NYP sigil.

          • Eliza

            I feel like an idiot right now, what dos NYP stand for?

          • Boss theSpeedMetalBastard Ross

            Name your price on bandcamp

          • Eliza

            *facepalm* It is something magical indeed.

    • FrankWhiteKingOfNY

      Tempted to listen because their cover has an undead Aztec on it.

      • Eliza

        Do it! It’s worth it beyond the undead Aztec, even though just staring at the cover is pretty satisfying too.

        • FrankWhiteKingOfNY

          Just listened to ‘Lower Birth’. The vocals are quite pig squealy. All in all, nothing I haven’t heard before, but decent.

          • Eliza

            Not every album has to be amazing. This is a good distraction.

          • FrankWhiteKingOfNY

            Yeah, you know, I’m always looking for original and new sounds. If it’s something I’ve heard before, I probably won’t go any further than one listen. It’s difficult to make DM unique, but some bands do/did succeed…

            https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WjWL25VQ8QM

          • Eliza

            Always seeking to listen to original music is something noble in a way, but I feel like I have to listen to something more familiar and predictable once in a while.

          • Dubs

            This Morbus Chron album was such a weird diversion from their previous record.

          • FrankWhiteKingOfNY

            Yeah, makes you wonder if it even was the same band. Going from almost Autopsy-worship on their first stuff to whatever they were doing on Sweven, was one of the most surprising turnarounds for any DM band ever. Shame they split up and that some of them are now playing in a Thin Lizzy cover band. What a waste.

      • Boss theSpeedMetalBastard Ross

        You should be tempted because I say it chugs.

    • RJA

      I’m listening right now. Some good no-nonsense death metal. Album is name your own price also, bonus.

  • Joaquin Stick

    Pretty fond of that Blue Fire. Nice find 365 (should you have changed your name to 366 this year?)

  • brokensnow

    Oddwood! Great album, even better live show!

  • Owlswald

    Here’s my comment mini-review for this week: Listen to He Whose Ox is Gored: https://hewhoseoxisgored.bandcamp.com/album/the-camel-the-lion-the-child. They have a chick who screams her freaking head off (dual vocalists) and the album has atmosphere for days. For fans of East of the Wall, The Ocean, etc.

  • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

    New Is? Might have to crack open my wallet for this bad boy, considering I loved their previous work. Oh, and this extreme lolbuttz was released a couple of days ago, for those who want to hear the worst (note: funniest in an unintentional way) cover of a Judas Priest song ever:

    https://youtu.be/3-qd_fm7Pco

    • FrankWhiteKingOfNY

      Holy fucking shit, this is godawful.

      • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

        Sounds EXACTLY like Cookie Mongoloid!

        https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AA590qNm9cU

        • FrankWhiteKingOfNY

          With the main difference being that SFU sucks even worse.

        • Eliza

          At least this is self aware.

    • Eliza

      When “The number of the priest” came onsceen I knew I was about to hear something so bad it’s good.

      • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

        And he covers Iron Maiden on the CD as well. Here’s the track list of songs he’s gonna heave and puppy grunt his way through on the CD.

        Side A: Judas Priest

        01. Night Crawler

        02. Starbreaker

        03. Genocide

        04. Invader

        05. Never Satisfied

        Side B: Iron Maiden

        06. Murders in the Rue Morgue

        07. Prowler

        08. Flash Of The Blade

        09. The Evil That Men Do

        10. Stranger In A Strange Land

        11. Total Eclipse

        • FrankWhiteKingOfNY

          I’m not going to listen to it. If I hear him doing a fuck-up job on track 01, 07 and 09 I’m going to put a hit out on Barnes.

          • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

            I’ll listen to it for the sheer laugh factor, a la Mystery Science Theater 3000. I’m pretty sure this whole thing will be on 365 Day’s list as soon as they do another god awful video for one of the songs.

            Might as well get your Dexter kill room ready then, because you know he’s going to fuck all these songs up big time.

          • FrankWhiteKingOfNY

            The Dexter kill room is always prepared.

          • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls
          • Ol Dirty Blastbeard

            and this is why Corpsegrinder >>>>>>>>

          • Boss theSpeedMetalBastard Ross

            Yes.

          • FrankWhiteKingOfNY

            I do like Cannibal Corpse’s older stuff. The Bleeding might even be my favorite album of theirs.
            SFU on the other hand has always sucked and will continue to suck into eternity.

          • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

            Can’t take away the classics from the Barnes’ years in CC, but yep!

        • Eliza

          At least they chose lesser known songs from each band’s discography? I’ll never listen to this.

          • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

            On the flip side, though, he picked a lot of songs with a lot of high notes. That is going to be hilariously painful to listen to. There’s 3 other CDs they did like this (Graveyard Classics).

          • Eliza

            3 other CDs. The only reason I can come up with to explain the existence of these is that the people responsible for them haven’t even listened to them to hear how awful they are.

          • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

            And the people who bought them probably thought “dude, it’s the Cannibal Corpse guy!” and simply added it to their CC collection rather than throw them away.

          • Eliza

            Probably. It’s not like anyone will force me to listen to these, but it’s such a waste of energy.

          • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

            A good laugh is never a waste of energy. 😉

          • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

            Well, Barnes at least did one good cover back in his Cannibal Corpse days.

            https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fl65Oatlo30

  • I am so turned off by Protest the Heros subscription thing. This is coming from a huuuge fan.

    Oh well? I guess?

    GL

    • Edward/Breegrodamus™

      I think if because of their large and dedicated fanbase they can utilize that resource in a meaningful way, more power to them.

      • “Large and dedicated fanbase (unless they live in Venezuela)“.

        • Edward/Breegrodamus™

          Sad, Link.

          • Yeah, to be fair, I see with less optimism those kind of subscriptions because if the music industry is going to that road, there will be serious exclusion to the third world.

      • SO WHAT YOU ARE SAYING IS THAT I AM NOT DEDICATED. NO, I GET IT. jklol

        • Edward/Breegrodamus™

          jks lols

    • GL, i understand your concern. i also think that innovation in ANY industry is going to have detractors in the beginning stages. i’m not saying their new model worked necessarily, but hey: if 15 years ago somebody told you there’d be a small electronic device in your pocket that can hold hundreds of albums, how would most people respond?

      • Edward/Breegrodamus™

        Did you see Steve Jobs with Michael Fassbender?

        • no sir. shall i remedy this immediately? i like Michael Dreamboat and Danny Boyle

          • Edward/Breegrodamus™

            It was a solid film – the ending was relevant to your comment.

      • I understand. I am just grumpy about it.

        • i’ll get you the songs if you want! i did the subscription thing to help them out, and wasn’t a huge fan.

        • Edward/Breegrodamus™

          G(rump)L

          • With as much optimism I try to bring/have in life, I can be grumpy if I wanna lol

          • Edward/Breegrodamus™

            I’m the same damn way.

      • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

        I would’ve told you to take my fucking money, I want one! Gah, I remember growing up having to ghetto pack my CDs and drag my oversized Walkman (which ate batteries like a trash compacter) to work everyday. God, I’m old!

    • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

      Look at how bad that whole thing backfired on Kanye West’s new CD. He actually lost millions doing the whole Tidal subscription-only thing versus just selling it old school.

      • Dubs

        His huge debt was actually due to his absurd clothing line. He opened up the album beyond Tidal to try to recoup some of that clothing money lost.

        • I tell my wife all the time…

          clothes<<<<<<<

          IF YOU KNOW WHAT I MEAN HUEHUELOLZ

          • You peep that new HLB yet?

          • WUT. IT IS OUT?

          • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

            You’re safe here. None of us wear clothes while we’re on here. #ToiletOvNakedLonelyManNerds

        • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

          I was talking about the costs from the album and what not, and how much he was estimated to have lost by doing the subscription only thing.
          Gah, that clothing line though! And all the homeless people whose clothing got stolen while they were asleep to make it. His clothing line looks about like something you’d see hobos wearing in an underground sewer colony, or 13th century peasants.

          • Dubs

            Someone said it looked like what the people in the Matrix wore.

            The album actually did really well in streaming revenue and entered the Billboard charts almost entirely on that. Lost a lot of hypothetical money from illegal downloads, though.

          • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

            Last I saw, Billboard said they couldn’t put it in the charts because of the whole streaming thing. But, looking at Google real quick, it appears you’re correct. Wasn’t aware he let it out to non-Tidal services, since he said he’d never allow that.

            As for the clothing line, if you haven’t seen it already:

            http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2015/02/13/25A12F7A00000578-2951996-Casual_As_well_as_the_body_suits_some_models_wore_relaxed_sweats-a-17_1423828331095.jpg

            Not sure what version of the Matrix you’ve been watching, unless it’s a mockbuster version.

          • Dubs
          • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

            Touche, good sir!

          • CyberneticOrganism

            Oh for the love of fuck… START TELLING THAT MAN “NO”

          • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

            Many many people have, but now that he’s millions in the hole I’m sure he’s not exactly in a demanding position anymore. He even had rants on Twitter where he was bugging Mark Zuckerberg and several other billionares for cash. He also had a complete meltdown on a TMZ forum (and of course got away with posts that regular people wouldn’t have even have been able to post).
            Now about that whole thing of Steel Panther being bigger dicks than Kanye…………

          • TrickleDownOvTacoKvltRiff

            Looks comfy actually…I could do hours of Netflix in clothes like dese.

          • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

            I’d wear that if I was asking for change and pretending I’m homeless.

      • hmmm I was unaware of the problem. Interesting.

    • The Tetrachord of Archytas

      my issue is the subscription thing still appears to be the only way to buy it all even though its all done. One of my favorite indie/folk guys, David Bazan, did something like this but you could essentially buy the subscription as a single purchase and just be sent the downloads or vinyls every month.

  • Free download code…
    http://i.imgur.com/yM1wdZ5.jpg

    • CT-12

      What a nice guy, thanks man!

  • Edward/Breegrodamus™

    I like cavernous death metal. I’m gonna peep that Qrixkuor. Wish the whole thing was out.

  • regarding QrixkuorThree Devils Dance: there are instances of Sarpanitum’s wacky leads scattered throughout as well. so if you’re a ban of THAT band, give them a shot!

    • Edward/Breegrodamus™

      I’m playing it now, sounds real good.

      • About to jam it after I finish up “Gods of War” here.

        • Dubs

          When I first opened that email, all the tracks were playable. Now you can only jam one. Annoying.

          • Dang, must have released the whole thing by accident.

          • Edward/Breegrodamus™

            Wonder if anyone snagged it and could email it to me, lol

          • Ha, they would have had to been really fast with the purchase.

          • Edward/Breegrodamus™

            Dumb!

  • The Tetrachord of Archytas

    Getting a more aggressive Jolly vibe from Black Peaks… and also the a ‘could’ve been released on equal visions’ vibe. while i’d normally use that as an insult, i totally dig it.

    I’ll take more free Nadra while I wait for my physical copy of their full length to frickin get here

  • JWEG

    Without Googling for the actual source, I can only speculate at the inspiration for some of those names. Hortlak reminds me both of Wourdalaks and the Horla. And after Googling I see I wasn’t far off, either way, other than being from mythology rather than literature.

    …That said, I also just thought of Hordak. My lost childhood (TV) is clearly haunting me this week.

    • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

      When I first saw Hortlak’s name, I was thinking of Hordak (yes there is a band named after him) the She-Ra villain.

  • Waynecro

    Nice reviews, bros! Thanks!

  • frozengoatsheadupanunsarse

    Stellar listening dudes! Class reviews!

  • Waynecro

    I just gave Violet Cold’s Magic Night a few listens, and I dig it.

  • CT-12

    Not sure if this was ever posted in a news update, but I saw this a week or two ago and am beyond excited. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=00y4gW50Lhc