Mini-Reviews from Around the Toilet Bowl: 04-08-16

1546
103
Share:

Small words, get ’em while they’re hot!

____________

Murder Made God Enslaved
Comatose Music | April 15th, 2016

If you like your death metal stright and to the point, Greece has you covered: Murder Made God drop their second full-length comprised of no-frills blast-beats, constant double bass flourishes, chugs, tremolo picking and low growls. The closest thing I can come up with for comparison are my beloved Dyscarnate, who in turn are heavily influence by my more beloved Dying Fetus. Not having listened to their debut for reference, I have to say this isn’t anything all that special. The band is more than competent at performing the style, but I can’t quite put my finger on what Enslaved is missing. Check ’em out and support them if you enjoy it! — MoshOff

____________

Tombstoned IITombstoned – II
Svart Records | April 1st, 2016

Due to personal overexposure, I’m not terribly excited about the notion of a new stoner album. And when I do listen to stoner it usually falls into one the three categories: really slow and extra crispy, I mean riffy (a’la Monolord), faster and nastier (Dopethrone) or groovy and atmospheric (Acid King), the majority of stoner that attempts to enter my ears seems to fall into a fourth category, rocking and lazy – therefore the lack of excitement. Where does Tombstoned fit on this map? Not to any particular point, which is well. Most of the time they traverse dangerously close to taking it too easy but their abundance of riffs (see “And I Told You“) keeps them afloat. II is never heavy, but very fuzzy and hazy – the band knows when to settle for a moodier groove. Tombstoned avoids major pitfalls but a bit of energy or a really heavy riff would do them wonders. — Karhu

____________

The Algorithm – Brute Force
FiXT | April 1st, 2016

On his 3rd full-length release, French producer Rémi Gallego returns with possibly his most thoughtfully composed album. For those who’re unaware of the sound on his previous albums Polymorphic Code and Octopus4, imagine a band such as Born of Osiris ditched their vocalist(s), took a shitload of some experimental DOx compounds and were tasked with writing the soundtrack to a Need for Speed video game while tripping balls. The results are much more interesting than that terrible analogy would lead you to believe. Brute Force’s tracks are more concise and combine the more relaxed sound of Octopus4 with the more aggressive metallic-sounds from the debut, albeit in a much less garish way. Although the sound is still predominantly electronic breakcore the guitar ‘riffs’ are more overt, incorporating a couple of djent-y leads and at one point resembling something that could pass as a Meshuggah sound-check. FFO: ‘Wubs’ that also chug, Dan Terminus, Chugs that also ‘wub’. — Lacertilian

____________

Entheos – The Infinite Nothing
Artery Recordings | April 1st, 2016

Trying to be objective when reviewing the follow-up to my #2 release of 2015 is going to be hard, but I will try: Entheos are back merely a year after their debut EP, and they want to leave no neck unbroken and no mind unboggled. Since last year I’ve had trouble pinpointing this band’s style, because they aren’t really deathcore, not really tech-death and not really deathgrind; they float somewhere between these styles and make some of the best awe-inducing and driving music you will hear all year hands down. Evan Brewer‘s prominent, slapped bass, Navene K‘s precise grooves, Chaney Crabb‘sslicing screams and newcomer Malcom Pugh‘s insane leads will have you captivated and wanting a lot more. I can get used to a release a year by these people, MAKE IT HAPPEN GUYS. — MoshOff

____________

DolentiaSerpentfyreSerpentfyre/Dolentia – split 7″
Altare Productions | April 1st, 2016

I’m not terribly fond of splits this short – two bands, two songs. In order to be worth the money, the quality has to be nearly phenomenal, and unfortunately neither of these songs really are. The Finnish Serpentfyre released their debut last year, flying under my radar. Their contribution, “Kointähti”, is a good old fashioned second-wave black metal rager. The riffs are pleasing and the band makes up for their lack of memorability with sheer zest. Unfortunately the production is both odd and off-putting. Guitars are buried beneath literally everything else, and while I’m all for mixing the bass up, the loud as hell drums (those cymbals…) and exceptionally dry vocals on top of it all wasn’t the best of choices. The Portuguese Dolentia fortunately doesn’t suffer from production issues, the raw but clear mix agrees with the cold riffs and “Servo Além-Dor” offers somewhat more memorable riffing, falling flat as it settles for a moodier approach for almost two minutes. Neither band offer anything remarkable as far as S-WBM is concerned, but especially the latter does well enough to pique my interest – not enough to catch the split though. — Karhu

____________

URSA NovembreNovembreURSA
Peaceville | April 1st, 2016

After nine years, Novembre have returned with their first new album since The Blue was released. Prior to their hiatus, the Italians released their most rounded and polished album to date. Building upon the foundation of their prior albums (specifically Dreams D’Azur and Materia), The Blue unified great production, composition, and instrumentation into an impressive progressive metal voyage. What’s more, it also demonstrated the band’s evolution. Does URSA continue this trend? Yes and no. Similar to what Textures experienced with Phenotype (for different reasons), URSA shows the band re-establishing their identity as well as the creative momentum built upon successive releases. Unlike The Blue, URSA does not show the band’s sound taking a large step forward. Instead, URSA is an undeniably solid album which serves as a reintroduction to their signature style. Fans will find a lot to like here. — Owlswald

____________

O’Brother –  Endless Light
Triple Crown Records | March 25th, 2016

O’Brother straddle the lines between grunge, post-rock,post-metal, psychedelic and emo to make them all come together to sound like something fresh and new. The closest you could come to describing them would be some Ghidorah-type flamethrower that is one part Radiohead, one part Mars Volta and one part Defones. The guitar tone makes its presence felt with a thick and heavy  attack while quieting down and embracing the moment on each and every turn of the record. The soaring vocals are delivered in a way that is subdued and sobering. The band picks their spots when they decide to reign down upon the listener. They do it by taking you along on the ride with them and building to uplifting moments while still remaining calm. The path in which they take to get there is to either to jam out or hammer the point home before an explosion of pent up anger is released for a short while. O’ Brother creates atmosphere, lures you in and never lets go. It’s a series of peaks with very few valleys. — Ron Deuce

____________

Protector Cursed and Coronated
High Roller Records | February 26th, 2016

Thrash is an over saturated genre that is tough to flourish in. Protector, who have been around since the late 80s despite a lull in activity in the 2000s, show us on Cursed and Coronated that they have all the chops necessary to write good, fun black thrash. Very similar to Destroyer 666, especially vocally, except that Protector spend most of their time focusing on crunchy, relentless riffing versus the more tremolo heavy style of D666. The riffs are supported by excellent production, guitar tones, and drumming. If you’re into thrash, particularly of the darker, more black variety, don’t miss this one. — Randall Thor

____________

Jet Jaguar Zero Hour EP
Independent | February 27th, 2016

Speed Metal named after a robot from the Toho Godzilla franchise. If that doesn’t convince you enough to give the band a listen, I don’t know what will. Jet Jaguar hail from Cancun, Mexico and deliver a nonstop battering ram of riffs on their debut EP.  From front to back Zero Hour  is filled with soaring vocals, driving drums, dual guitar harmonies and flamboyant solos. Lots of solos. Solos galore. Short solos. Long solos. Solos that will make your head spin. So many solos that I almost consider it too many solos for an EP less than 25 minutes. Then I remembered that I was a True Metal Warrior and that “too many solos” was a FALSE statement, so I air-guitared until my fingers bled. Solos.  — Boss the Ross

____________


Invehertex –
Hacia el Vórtice
Signal Rex/Atavism Records | May 24, 2015 (Re-release June 3, 2016)

The debut album from Chilean nightmares Invehertex is being given the re-release treatment after a limited run last year, so if you missed the chance to dive headlong into the mouth of madness the first time around, you’re in luck. Clocking in at a marathon 78 minutes, Hacia el Vórtice is an endurance test, an unending gauntlet of black metal pain and misery. Every element on display is finely crafted to serve as a fitting tribute to oblivion, with unforgiving blasts colliding and juddering against shifting riffs buried beneath an impenetrable layer of grave dust. At times rampaging, other moments brooding and sinister in its calm, Hacia el Vórtice is quixotic in scope, malevolent in aesthetic, and grand in design. Stick with it, though, because the riffs in “Hacia el Vórtice” alone are worth the price of admission. — W.

____________

 

  • dang, Dubs sures like that Invehertex! it’s pretty nightmare-ish

    • RJA

      I see that it’s only 12 dollars on bandcamp! Although it may be a double album I see now as I’m typing this.

      • Dubs

        It’s 78 minutes long, so your cost/minute is pretty good.

  • Boss theSpeedMetalBastard Ross

    Two Godzilla references in one mini-review article? YES!

  • This track is just pure filth and sleaze https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yJO_0PYzem0

    • You’re supposed to have links in your mini review. #bandrandall. Also this rules.

    • RJA

      Always been a fan of Protector – and yes this rules.

  • Small album artwork, Small album artwork, Small album artwork, Small album artwork, Small album artwork, Small album artwork, Small album artwork, Small album artwork, Small album artwork, LARGE ALBUM ARTWORK.

    • Boss theSpeedMetalBastard Ross

      I think Dubs did that on purpose.

      • He can be such a saucy fellow.

    • Maik Beninton™

      Attention! We got something over here!

    • Dubs

      The blame rests purely with the Spaniard. I’ve been in a van most of the day

      • MoshOff

        que dices gringo no se nada jajaja

      • To be fair, that artwork deserves to be presented larger. It’s stunning to look at. I mean nightmarish!

    • JWEG

      I would have called the URSA artwork “little” instead. Mostly so I could make a Latin ‘Little Bear’ / URSA Minor pun.

      …Which I have anyway. Mission accomplished.

    • Did you check out Protector? It gave me what I wanted from D666

  • EsusMoose

    Gotta try that o’brother, entheos and the algorithm. Tried algorithms album last night but got side tracked and stopped

    • Owlswald

      That Entheos album is on my way too early best of list. It absolutely slays.

      EDIT: The O’Brother album is tits also.

      • EsusMoose

        Their ep was alright but too short for me, so I’ll probably stream it later to see how they sound during a full length

        • Owlswald

          If you liked the EP, you won’t be disappointed.

  • Teh Algorithm sounds dope. Beats, chugs, and not fucks to give teh h8rs. YEP

  • YourLogicIsFlushed

    I just randomly decided to listen to that O’brother album earlier today. Weird. Nice writeup on that Deuce.

    • HOW MANY MINSTRELS YOU HAD TODAY, SON? NO EXCUSES, NOW. I WANT THE TRUTH.

      • YourLogicIsFlushed

        No Minstrels for me yet today. I was listening to an album for like the 10th time so I could write about it better. I will fit one in before I hit the gym though. Need that energy boost.

    • Their past two records are very good as well if you desire to go back that far.

  • COAL ROLL

    I’ve never heard any of these bands

    • that is because you are old.

      • COAL ROLL

        true

    • YourLogicIsFlushed

      I think that’s half the point, Mr. Roll.

  • YourLogicIsFlushed

    That Novembre is hitting the spot. Probably has something to do with it feeling like Novembre in Aprli.

    • Owlswald

      His vocals are a little hit or miss for me. Sometimes I just can’t stand them and want to tell him to open his mouth wider when he sings.

      • YourLogicIsFlushed

        Ha, now that you mention it I see what you’re saying. I don’t mind it so much though.

  • Ol Dirty Blastbeard

    man, this seems like a big ol whomping nothing

    • Rob M

      New Protector is solid enough, but overall, I agree..slow week

      • I can suggest some power metal to spruce up your life

        • Rob M

          You might be surprised to hear that Ive actually been known to enjoy some power metal

        • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

          Oh, BTW, sliding this one over to you. Their best album, and in my humble opinion one of the best power metal CDs ever made (it’s the entire album, btw):

          https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=35hNEEWdgSo&list=PLb-gQNujvWpMz1woNNYeiZ3TVmSlazlGJ&index=2

          • This is STELLAR. Best ever, not sure about that, but this is REALLY good, thank you for sharing!

          • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

            Not the all time best (that would be Angra’s ‘Temple Of Shadows’ IMO), but it’s definitely in my top 10. Glad you enjoyed it!

  • Waynecro

    I like Entheos, and I’m digging what I’m hearing from Novembre and O’Brother. Also, check out this badass gym music I found the other day: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FBpFL4X0Pjk

    • Owlswald
      • Waynecro

        Killer! Thanks, dude!

    • This is pretty ripping. I want to call it deathcore, but that’s not quite it.

      • Waynecro

        I’m not sure what to call it, but it gets me pumped in the gym. I don’t speak the singer’s language, but he’s clearly screaming, “LIFT HARDER, WEAKLING!!!”

  • Janitor Jim Duggan

    RIP Blackjack Mulligan. Another WWE Hall of Famer is gone.

    • He was the King! and the Ace! RIP

      • Janitor Jim Duggan

        It’s really sad. I bet Bray Wyatt and Barry Windham are sad.

    • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

      That right after Merle Haggard died (ironically enough, he died on his birthday, as he predicted)

  • Janitor Jim Duggan

    Here’s a mini review of the new Metal Church album: Mike Howe sounds like he did in the 80s and the band has made another great album.

    • sometimes that’s all that a review needs!

      • Janitor Jim Duggan

        It is true. I’m seeing them tomorrow.

        • i hope you enjoy it! it was sounding like you need more metal in your life anyways (instead that other stuff)

          • Janitor Jim Duggan

            I’m sure it will be good. I’m going to review it for my blog.

          • Sir Tapir The Based

            He needs good metal, not poopy Metal Church.

          • baby steps now, remember about whom we’re talking!

          • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

            Metal Church is poop?!?!?!?

            http://i.imgur.com/gb5khoG.jpg

          • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

            Yeah, nothing but metal, posers! *scurries away and listens to Carly Rey Jepsen and Iris*

          • ♫ Run away with me! ♫

          • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

            Best album of 2015. 😀

          • Sir Tapir The Based

            FUCK NO

          • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls
          • Sir Tapir The Based

            I guess we’re not together anymore, since you’re trying to run away with other people.

          • they’re just song lyrics. Lisa Ling means nothing to me!

          • Sir Tapir The Based

            PROVE IT JIMMY!

          • Sir Tapir The Based

            No I mean prove he means nothing to you!

  • JWEG

    If I had an editor this could probably be reworded into the Mini-Review format:

    My most recent bandcamp purchase is a split EP (double-A-sided single?) by Gatekeeper and Funeral Circle.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k-PA_79mih0

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FfxALfmpmZ8

    I prefer the FC contribution, even though Gatekeeper is probably the band I dig more of the two (based on other output). Either way, it’s a solid slab of retro doom with other proto-metal influences (and more of a Power Metal vibe in Gatekeeper’s case). It’s on Bandcamp on each band’s page under inconsistent album nomenclature.

    https://gatekeeper.bandcamp.com/album/bell-of-tarantia

    https://funeralcircle.bandcamp.com/album/hades-triumphant-bell-of-tarantia

    The issuing Label once had a single-page bandcamp source for both, but some kind of rights issue dropped one of the two downloads from that page so I won’t link to it at all.

  • definitely going to check out Jet Jaguar. as somebody who likes guitar solos, i really like guitar solos.

    • Boss theSpeedMetalBastard Ross

      There are plenty of them!

  • Stanley

    Taake are coming to Cali. Get bent.

    • How was Absu?

    • Ol Dirty Blastbeard

      still pissed about the show they cancelled in my hood

      • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

        At least you get good shows around there. I gotta take a bus either to Virginia Beach or Richmond to catch any decent shows.

        • Ol Dirty Blastbeard

          well, really avl is probably the last of four or five other bigger places to play in the state. im also way close to Greenville/columbia SC and Atlanta

          • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

            I thought you were in Charlotesville, or somewhere close to there.

          • Ol Dirty Blastbeard

            i dont know of a Charlottesville NC

          • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

            Charlotte, my bad. I was thinking of VA. :-p

          • Ol Dirty Blastbeard

            yah thats randall

            no mountains in charlotte

  • Good work, team!!

  • The Tetrachord of Archytas

    Saw a new Phantom Glue song the other day not sure if I’ve seen em on here before but I dig
    http://www.stereogum.com/1869789/phantom-glue-hundred-hand-stereogum-premiere/mp3s/?utm_source=share-fb&utm_medium=button

  • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

    NOVEMBRE!!!!!!!!! Definitely getting this when I get paid again!

    https://blog.kamernet.nl/blog/wp-content/uploads/tumblr_lok8u3mmci1qj4pjzo1_500.gif

  • Hotdog Clifford

    Discovered this on riff of the week a while back, just found it again and have been listening to it non-stop.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mbu5hmqMlek&ab_channel=ZeitgeisterMusic

  • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

    BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA, The Cult just put out their bro-ified new video, and um, yeah, the title. Where’s 365 Days Of Horror when you need him?

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5GubT3MwiWE

  • Dave Vincent’s Perm

    Anyone else think those 80’s German thrash bands had the perfect drum sound?