Mini-Reviews from Around the Toilet Bowl: 03-31-16

1718
235
Share:

“And the small shall inherit the objective opinions.” -A dude.

____________

Heretique De Non Existentia Dei
Wydawnictwo Muzyczne Psycho | March 26th, 2016

There’s a good reason so many bands attempt the style of death metal that Poland’s Heretique fit into – it’s just good all-round headbanging fun. Fairly straight-forward compositions with some flashes of technical prowess, decipherable vocals with a decent splash of misanthropy and good ol’ Satan, all recorded with clarity. The album feels long and could possibly have made a great EP but the addition of quite a few solo spots which bring to mind The Black Dahlia Murder and mid-era Slayer, coupled with some nice clean guitar sections which showcase some pretty exquisite tone, help to break up the piece somewhat. While this album certainly doesn’t shatter any moulds, it still serves its purpose and should please those seeking some pretenseless modern death metal. De Non Existentia Dei is an album that simultaneously shows polish and Polish.
FFO: Discreation, Behemoth, Hate. — Lacertilian

____________

Amon Amarth – Jomsviking
Metal Blade Records | March 25th, 2016

What can be said about Amon Amarth that hasn’t been said already? Melodic viking-themed death metal with a wide-spread appeal. However, Amon Amarth have pushed themselves on this album both musically and lyrically. Instead of relying on the retelling of mythological tales, the band creates a concept album surrounding a viking and his quest for his love. The album segues with passages of narration to help drive the concept home. Musically the band draws more influence from folk, traditional and power metal than their previous albums and even  Doro makes an appearance. If you thought Amon Amarth couldn’t be any more catchy, you were wrong. Harmonies weave in and out of pummeling riffs that will have you coming back for more. RAISE YOUR HORNS! — Boss the Ross

____________

Tormentium Bounds To The Depths
Exile Musick | March 25th, 2016

Blending a diverse range of black metal sub-genre tropes is not an easy task, but Portland’s Tormentium seem to have achieved some moderate success in doing so on their debut album Bound To The Depths. After over 10 years as a band, releasing a handful of splits, demos, promos and the like, the quartet have finally penned a full-length. The album has an overarching concept of depths, each track reflecting a different introspective theme. There are some blasty sections, some distorted melodies, clean passages and quite a varied assortment of riffing approaches and vocal deliveries. As I mentioned above, contrasting harmony with the harsher aspects of the genre without having an undesirable jarring effect is tough and I think Tormentium have made a valiant attempt here. The juxtaposition works well for the most part, although that’s not to say it doesn’t have a couple of slightly more awkward moments. Probably as a function of their locality the band mix elements of the cascadian sound associated with the Pacfic North-West with some more common contemporary black metal stylings, and while the album possesses some similarities to DSBM it remains upbeat for the most part. Bound To The Depths is quite well produced but also quite long (over an hour) and depending on your affinity for this blend of BM the length could either be what you expect from the style or a chore to complete. — Lacertilian

____________

Gloria Morti – Kuebiko
Willowtip Records | March 18th, 2016

Blackened death metal is a thing that I like, but for some reason haven’t dug into too much. And unbeknownst to me, it isn’t only done in Poland; Finland’s Gloria Morti, who I had heard about but never got around to giving a proper listen to, return with their fifth offering Kuebiko, which Karhu tells me loosely translates to “get a dictionary, dirty southerner”. Again, I haven’t heard any of their other material, but this is some very solid Black/Death; listening to this has reminded me at times of Melechesh (boasting catchy minor third riffs galore), albeit with much more of a DM touch. The production on this is very atmospheric, and it sounds just right for a record that has anything to do with general blackenedness (although a little more bass would have been nice). Check out the video for “Executioner” and buy the album if it floats your boat. — MoshOff

____________

Pelican Live at Empty Bottle December 15, 2015
Independent/Southern Lord | March 4th, 2016

Pelican fans, gather and rejoice at the band’s bancamp page. There you shall find a live recording with the ever mystical “Name Your Price” option. Solid, riff heavy jams await you. This is not a professionally recorded and released live album, simply a “very fun night” that the band wanted to share with their fans. Not a Pelican fan or haven’t heard their music? This is an excellent place to start as this show utilizes newer and older material for an all inclusive performance. It would be excellent to see more bands release recordings like this in the future. — Boss the Ross

____________

Voivod Post Society (EP)
Century Media Records | February 26th, 2016

Voivod are back 3 years after Target Earth with their new EP, Post Society. The thick, bass heavy muddy tones are back, while the guitars are curiously clean compared to the bass tone. They complement the bass tone to produce a stellar sound that wonderfully suits their signature space thrash. Snake continues to provide us with plenty of his strange, droney singing and healthy doses of shouts and screaming. The songwriting seems more focused and higher quality than that of Target Earth, hopefully hinting that the next full length will be a monster album. Voivod has a knack of effortlessly writing fun time signatures into their music, and they don’t disappoint on Post Society. Definitely check this out if you are a fan of Voivod or progressive thrash, and pay attention to whatever Voivod does next. It’s almost certainly going to be of extraordinary quality. — Randall Thor

____________

After the Burial Dig Deep
Sumerian | February 19th, 2016

After the Burial have been around for a while now, and for whatever reason (probably their good taste in guitar colors) I’d never given them a chance. Thanks to the insistence of our own timetravelling Lizard, I gave their hallmark album Rareform a chance and really dug it, so I decided to Dig Deep-er (for an affordable price I do parties, wedding receptions, mitzvahs…). While this album isn’t as good, it’s still a really fun chunk of djenty progressive deathcore that knows what it is and does it extremely well. In my mind, ATB are basically the band that would result from Protest the Hero buying 8-string guitars and going full Meshuggah-worship; if you liked PTH’s Volition and can stand the absence of clean vocals, this album is definitely for you. Listen to the album here.  — MoshOff

____________

Snow Burial – Victory in Ruin
Independent| February 1st, 2016

There must be something in the water in the lower Midwest, because between this and Northless, there have been two great sludge albums to come out of the area this year. Snow Burial veer more towards post-metal than the aforementioned Northless, wearing their Cult of Luna and Isis influences on their sleeve. Victory In Ruin is heavy and emotional but never cheesy, with some downright nasty riffs between the roaring vocals and graceful leads. Even the lighter moments will keep your head bobbing with a healthy dose of groove.  It’s entirely headbangable and never misses a step. — Spear

____________

Rhapsody of Fire Into the Legend
AFM Records | January 15th, 2016

I cannot believe I got this one. I’ve heard a lot of grumbling that while this album is a huge step up from their previous dud, Dark Wings of Steel, it still isn’t the same quality as early Rhapsody material. I don’t care what anyone says, this is a great Rhapsody of Fire album and I am very happy with it. The whole things brims with the same energy and excitement that made their first run of 5 albums so legendary. This album has every bit of the bombast and excessive synths/keys/shredding that is the hallmark of any good Rhapsody album. While certainly not as speedy or shreddy as their previous material featuring guitar maestro Luca Turilli, the excellent songwriting combined with the musicianship of the band plus the incredible vocals of Fabio Lione carry this album to victory. I seriously doubt there are any symphonic power metal fans who have held out on this album, but if for whatever reason you’re out there and haven’t listened to this, what are you waiting for? Dive Into the Legend today! — Randall Thor

____________

Malrun – Oblivion Awaits
ViciSolum Records | December 4th, 2015

This Danish crew brings hints of modern prog metal, symphonic styles, and technicality together for this well-rounded EP that could appease both fans of power metal and melodic death metal, as long as they are willing to compromise. Malrun has a talent for creating hooks that edge on the safe side of cheesy, but are fully awesome. Though still on the chugging side of the prog scene, there’s enough variation to keep it interesting. With an excellent new vocalist from their previous full length, they seem to be stepping up from their more metal-core past. “Wilderness of Pain” (linked above) might go down as one of my favorite tracks of the year because of that sweet sweet hook in the chorus. It has been stuck in my head for days. — YourLogicIsFlushed

_____________

 

  • MoshOff
    • I tend to be a pretty cheery guy, but Rhapsody makes me feel too cheery.

      GL

      • Do you fart while listening to Rhapsody?

        • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

          Power Of The Dragonfart

      • Dave Vincent’s Perm

        Music which is neither angry or miserable makes me both.

    • Óðinn

      Farting? Stroke?

      • brokensnow

        wish i could like this more lol

      • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

        Both? I’m sure a stroke will get you to unclench your cheeks in a hurry.

  • Eliza

    Can’t wait to listen to the new Among Amarth and Voivoid.

  • Nice to see Malrun get some love.

  • YourLogicIsFlushed

    That’s seriously the album cover Pelican is going with? That is a serious case of false advertising. It’s like a tech-death album cover not using aliens or excessive purple.

  • FrankWhiteKingOfNY

    I have a feeling I should check out that Snow Burial.

    • FrankWhiteKingOfNY

      I also have a feeling I should definitely NOT check out the new Rhapsody.

      • Sir Tapir The Based

        Correct.

      • Eliza

        I did. No regrets.

        • FrankWhiteKingOfNY

          I checked out some of their previous albums. MANY regrets.

          • Eliza

            I think they’re fine. Fit for whenever I feel to listen to some over the top power metal.

          • FrankWhiteKingOfNY

            My ears were not created to handle over the top power metal.

          • Eliza

            That’s okay, there is power and metal that I dislike or downright hate *cough Gloryhammer cough*.

          • FrankWhiteKingOfNY

            Only modern “power metal” bands I ever came to like are Nevermore, Symphony X and Iced Earth. And none of them really are full-on power metal.

          • MoshOff

            Same, although IE never really clicked for me. I like Power Metal that isn’t really Power Metal. So I guess I don’t like it.

            I live in a perpetual state of confusion, kill me.

          • FrankWhiteKingOfNY

            With Iced Earth I especially like Night of the Stormrider and Burnt Offerings. The rest of their output is alright, though I don’t really listen to any of their other albums outside the two I mentioned.
            I do like some of the proto-power metal stuff of the 80’s though, especially Manilla Road.

            Sometimes I do get a sense of shame when a really talented band such as Blind Guardian doesn’t seem to click and the debut albums by much-maligned bands such as Slipknot or Korn do seem to click. Maybe I just have shitty taste?
            #FirstWorldProblems

          • Boss theSpeedMetalBastard Ross

            Have you ever listened to Liege Lord?

          • FrankWhiteKingOfNY

            Only faintly. They’re from the 80’s, so as long as they don’t come from the Helloween school of power metal and are closer to the Manilla Road style, I’m tempted to check out.

            https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3E7udco4-os

          • Boss theSpeedMetalBastard Ross

            They are a tad more on the Speed metal side of things, check out their album Master Control

          • Boss theSpeedMetalBastard Ross

            Also, the vocalist sounds a lot like Dickinson.

          • FrankWhiteKingOfNY

            That’s always a good thing.

          • I like Open the Gates way more than Crystal Logic. But, overall, solid choice.

          • FrankWhiteKingOfNY

            The question remains though…are bands such as Savatage, Manilla Road, Metal Church…power metal? They kinda feel more classic “heavy metal” to me.

          • We do not hold the answers, we are mere vessels of ignorance towards the metal enigma, my friend.

          • FrankWhiteKingOfNY

            Oh, and I don’t know if you would call some of Savatage’s albums “power metal” but this album rules pretty hard as well.

            https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QdGD3Ukb3Q0

          • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

            To some extent they are, but I always considered them trad metal/opera metal.

          • Eliza

            I love Iced Earth too!

          • FrankWhiteKingOfNY

            This album in particular rules.

            https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6LrGSIYAn9c

          • Eliza

            Yes, it is fantastic.

          • Boss theSpeedMetalBastard Ross

            Have tou tried Hammerfall?

          • FrankWhiteKingOfNY

            Yeah…and I’m afraid it’s not going to work…

          • Boss theSpeedMetalBastard Ross

            Ha, just checking

          • Paddlin’ Rites ov Beargod

            People are turned off of power metal because they check shit like Hammerfall.

          • Boss theSpeedMetalBastard Ross

            Hahahahah!

          • Pentagram Sam

            hahaha I like their stuff up to Crimson Thunder but… this is true

          • Classic Karhu! <3

    • Eliza

      Yes, you should.

    • You misspelled After The Burial.

      • FrankWhiteKingOfNY

        Trust me, I didn’t.

        • Oh yeah? Is that s(n)ow?

    • after the brokensnow burial

  • Snake replaced Piggy? Poser. #BanRandall

  • Jom Pootersan

    Snow Burial has my attention

    • Eliza

      I’ve never thought I’d ever get into a band that labels themselves as “hipster doom”, but here we are.

  • I am an idiot and have failed this community with my false facts on the voivod mini-review.

    • MoshOff

      UNSHEATH YOUR SWORD WARRIOR, THE BATTLE IS FAR FROM OVER

    • BANDRANDALL

      • MoshOff

        “Voivod who?”

        -JB

        • Bitch please

        • I feel like this is kinda low hanging fruit, but, would anyone be surprised if I said I had never listened to Voivod?

          GL

          • MoshOff

            Sorry.

            “Voivod who?”

            -JB & GL

          • Literally no one.

          • That pretty much settles it.

          • Spotify is a cool thing. You can sample almost every band in metal history.

          • I reckon you are right. But I am not currently into Spotify.

          • It’s free, dawg. Laziness is your only excuse for posing.

          • I wouldn’t call it being lazy, I just like to buy an album from an artist if I am going to listen to it over and over. Which likely doesn’t really help the artist anymore than if I didn’t pay for it through Spotify, but, ya know. Posers gotta pose

          • I like to use Spotify/YouTube/Bandcamp etc to see if I like an album before buying it. I’m just saying, you could try listening to these bands rather than just commenting that you’ve never done so. We’ve run two big posts about Voivod – you commented on both but didn’t check out the music on either : / It hurts the soul, GL.

          • Boss theSpeedMetalBastard Ross

            I guess I should jump on the spotify bandwagon…

          • COAL ROLL

            I pay for premium and it’s worth every penny of the $9/mo or whatever

          • I guess it is tough getting through all the bands. I understand what you are getting at though. I thought I would make a joke. Sorry.

            GL

          • Boss theSpeedMetalBastard Ross

            Is it better than soundcloud? I can’t stand soundcloud

          • Wow set the bar low much?

          • Boss theSpeedMetalBastard Ross

            I’m just making sure man. I’ve never used it.

          • I don’t like spotify so I couldn’t tell you, but I think its physically impossible to be worse than soundcloud.

          • brokensnow

            grooveshark

          • Paddlin’ Rites ov Beargod

            God was good, God was Swift – and Grooveshark became history.

          • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

            IIRC, they found the owner dead from a drug overdose a little while back, and the company got sued into oblivion.

          • Grooveshark was the Spotify for Venezuela.

            ;_;)

            But, yeah, it was awful.

          • Paddlin’ Rites ov Beargod

            Pretty much anything is better than Soundcloud and you know it.

          • brokensnow

            into? lel

          • Eliza

            That’s why it sucks when you can’t have it.

          • Not available in Romania? Have you tried downloading it with a VPN?

          • Eliza

            I don’t know how to do that.

          • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

            But on the other hand, you can’t get Tay Tay’s music on there anymore. Who wants metal if you can’t have Tay Tay jams as well?

          • Sir Tapir The Based

            I’d be surprised if you had listened to them.

          • That would be like JJM asking if we would be surprised if he was a closet hed pe fan……oh

          • Janitor Jim Duggan

            I’m not really. The only nu metal band I like is MRH.

          • brokensnow

            .?

          • I’m not really into them but I saw them play with Napalm Death late last year and even though I don’t dig their music, they abso-fucking-lutely killed it live and everyone fucking loved them.

          • Janitor Jim Duggan

            You havent? I saw them with Napalm Death. They did a great cover of Astronomy Domine.

  • Having been listening to the new After the Burial during my commute each
    day for 2 weeks now, I can say without a doubt that their most recent
    LP is top notch. At first, the cumulative chugs were a tad overwhelming. But, as with most albums, the songs became more memorable with each listen. I
    would recommend a listen for those who are remotely interested.Link – that does not include you, jajalolz.

    GL

  • Malrun is doing it for me.

    GL

    • brokensnow

      I dig everything but the vox

      • They are a tad off putting – but doable.

        • brokensnow

          They remind me alot of lter years killswitch.

  • I’ll be honest Moshie, I’ve been interested in that new After the Burial but I’ve been putting off checking it out. If you say it’s mad decent, I’ll take your word for it and dig in.

  • Spear

    Lots of good shit today, dudes. I just got the new Amon Amarth the other day, and I was actually kind of surprised at how much they’ve stepped up their game.

    • Boss theSpeedMetalBastard Ross

      I was very impressed with it. I enjoyed Deceiver, but I really like the direction they went with this one.

    • Yup, I may actually grab a physical copy of that one.

      • Boss theSpeedMetalBastard Ross

        Be sure and get the version with the extra track.

        • I’ll get whatever amazon has lol

        • Paddlin’ Rites ov Beargod

          Is the extra track just the re-recording of Death In Fire?

          • Boss theSpeedMetalBastard Ross

            *Can’t tell if being serious or making fun of Amon Amarth.

          • Paddlin’ Rites ov Beargod

            There’s a version with a re-recorded version of the aforementioned classic, is that the extra song, or is there a version with another as well?

          • Boss theSpeedMetalBastard Ross

            Phew.
            There is a hardcover version with a 24 page booklet and an extra song in the album, not just a tacked on bonus track

          • Paddlin’ Rites ov Beargod

            I’m just seeing 11 songs on all versions.

          • Boss theSpeedMetalBastard Ross

            Huh, i came across a 10 song version at the store the other day when I picked my copy up

          • Paddlin’ Rites ov Beargod

            You’ve been duped.

          • Boss theSpeedMetalBastard Ross

            They had both versions, i picked up the expanded one.

          • Paddlin’ Rites ov Beargod

            First Kill”
            Wanderer”
            On a Sea of Blood”

            “One Against All” 3:37

            5. “Raise Your Horns” 4:23

            6. “The Way of Vikings” 5:11

            7. “At Dawn’s First Light” 3:50

            8. “One Thousand Burning Arrows” 5:49

            9. “Vengeance Is My Name” 4:41

            10. “A Dream That Cannot Be” (featuring Doro Pesch) 4:22

            11. “Back on Northern Shores”
            Which is the short missing?

          • Boss theSpeedMetalBastard Ross

            It was either 8 or 9

          • Amon Amarth can’t tell if Amon Amarth is serious or making fun of Amon Amarth.

    • I’m really excited for it. I’ve heard nothing but good from people I tust

      • tigeraid

        Really digging it.

    • Ol Dirty Blastbeard

      Blackbeard hasn’t listened to the entire thing yet but I assume that it’s going to be better than their last couple

      • Spear

        It is indeed, and I actually liked the last couple.

        • Ol Dirty Blastbeard

          Yeah I did too I’m also a Johan Hegg fanboy

          • Boss theSpeedMetalBastard Ross

            Did you watch Northmen?

          • Ol Dirty Blastbeard

            No I didn’t

          • Boss theSpeedMetalBastard Ross

            You gotta watch it

          • Ol Dirty Blastbeard

            aight

          • Óðinn

            Wir präsentieren euch Northmen – A Viking Saga mit Johan Hegg von Amon Amarth.

            https://youtu.be/tSPJ7PtfKAU

          • Boss theSpeedMetalBastard Ross

            Warum ist es in Deutsch?

          • Óðinn

            The film was produced by Swiss and German companies.

          • Boss theSpeedMetalBastard Ross

            Ah. Yes it was. I enjoyed it quite a bit. Did you see it?

          • Óðinn

            No. I haven’t actually seen it. I just looked it up on IMDb Pro. Sounds like you enjoyed it though. Maybe I will watch it.

          • Boss theSpeedMetalBastard Ross

            Don’t go into it expecting the greatest story you’ve ever seen. It’s all about fight scenes and excellent landscape shots.

          • Óðinn

            I see. Sounds like more of a “popcorn flick.” Got it. Thank-you, Boss theSpeedMetalBastard Ross.

          • Boss theSpeedMetalBastard Ross

            Definitely.
            No problem!

          • Óðinn
      • Edward/Breegrodamus™

        Blackbeard are you referring to yourself in the third person from here on out?

        • Ol Dirty Blastbeard

          only speshul occasions Edward

  • frozengoatsheadupanunsarse

    Having a song called Zombie Arthropod Overlords is practically a cheat code for a band to get me on side.

  • Pentagram Sam

    Question dudes: How often on a “name your own price” on bandcamp do you download it for free? Part of me feels like a dick if I do, but then another part says “fuck it, they want it out there and if you jam it and like it, mission accomplished” Seriously, I’m kinda t-t-t-t-t-torn

    • brokensnow

      I pay a dollar a song.

    • Janitor Jim Duggan

      I download it for free because I don’t have a credit card.

    • I’m broke so I do it for free quite a bit, but I always try to come back later and give them something when the budget allows if I liked it.

    • Paddlin’ Rites ov Beargod

      I usually pay too little on NYM, but I do pay something because free download doesn’t appear on your collection and I’m a collectionist like that. I like to build collections.

      • RJA

        Exactly. And there a lot of albums I will give a couple bucks for that I may not buy otherwise.

    • Boss theSpeedMetalBastard Ross

      Download it, if you like it a lot, give them money.

      In the Pelican case, it’s a live show they recorded themselves, not an official release. I see it as a gift to their fans.

    • Ol Dirty Blastbeard

      if its nyp, i think 5 is fair.

      that said, i use BC very little

      • Pentagram Sam

        Sweet, that’s about the price range I was thinking too. And as Bossthespeedmetal HOSS sez too, if it’s super bombastic, then get something else buy the band later too and pay a bit more to make up for it. Thanks for the replies, I’m pretty new to bandcamp. I try to look at it from my perspective, I’d shit myself if anyone wanted to jam my tunes, free or not, but also every little bit helps to keep more music coming.

        EDIT: I mean shit, if paying five bucks helps the guy go out and get a damn meal that day, then hells yea

        • Boss theSpeedMetalBastard Ross

          Now you have to share your bandcamp page so we can all creep on you and see what you’re buying.

    • EsusMoose

      5-10 if I like the band, 5 if I like the album and expect to listen to it multiple times, 1-3 if I want it to show up in my collection. And free if I’m feeling cheap.

    • Always pay or goblins will take you to their king…

    • I am poor. Name Your Own Price is a blessing for poor people living in slums like me.

      • i bet most bands are happier knowing if their music reaches eager ears, like yours. then you go and write about some of them, which is more important than a few bucks for the digital download!

    • Rob M

      I feel the same, but honestly, theres so much stuff out there I want to get a hold of that sometimes you just have grab it for free when its offered like that. You can always go back and get a physical copy later if you think its worth it

    • frozengoatsheadupanunsarse

      I don’t download much off Bandcamp, but when I do get name your pricers I tend to go 6-7 quid for full lengths, 3 quid for EP’s.

    • Spear

      I’ve stopped taking music for free, but that’s mostly because I’m an egomaniac and want everyone to behold my massive, throbbing collection.

    • JWEG

      I tend to pay at least something, because I want to be listed in the contributors group. That ‘something’ varies, though.

      I take into account how long it has been up as NYOP: if a few years I don’t feel bad just dropping a dollar or two. If it’s a relatively recent release I may go with a formula, specifically:

      ROUNDUP((0.50 x #Tracks), 0 decimals)

      Unless I’m feeling especially generous (then $1 per track).

      …that said, it gets harder and harder to adhere to the formula the worse for me the USD-CAD or EUR-CAD exchange rate gets.

  • Paddlin’ Rites ov Beargod

    SO HERE WE AAARR ON THE ROOF OF THE WORLLDD. WE BELONG TO THE SKYEEE

  • tigeraid

    I really, really dig that new Amon Amarth. Could there BE a better drinking song than Raise Your Horns?

  • brokensnow

    cant wait for dis un
    https://youtu.be/3dO5KILIxLY

  • Rob M

    Not a whole lot really blowing me away this time around. Seems like this has just been a slow month for the kind of stuff I like, but what Ive heard of that Tormentium so far makes it seem like it could be a pretty solid album.

    • Lacertilian

      It was well made, don’t let my middling review turn you off giving it a run. I fully expect a lot of people to enjoy it, just not really my thing.

      • Rob M

        No worries on that, if you dont dig something, you dont dig something. Im going to explore it a bit more when some more tracks hopefully show up on Youtube before I make a decision

        • Lacertilian

          I think the whole thing is on Bandcamp in the albun link above.

          • Rob M

            Cool..thanks man

  • Amon Amarth, Rhapsody of Fire, Malrun and Voivod are tagged in my list of albums to check this year. Great job, guys!

  • Rob M
    • FrankWhiteKingOfNY

      Yep, definitely pretty good.

    • Purple vinyl was pre-ordered, <3 this band

  • Spear

    That ATB grooves like a motherfucker.

  • 365ChaosRiddenDays

    I will listen to Tormentium and Heretique, thank you Toilet and in the meantime you can hear a new song by Schammasch: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G__OyoQonao

  • frozengoatsheadupanunsarse

    Onto Tormentium now, me likey. The varied, much melodic and/or atmospheric approach works mighty well.

  • Lisa Ling: Devourer Of Souls

    I’m into symphonic power metal, yet skipped out on the new ROF, considering I’ve been disappointed with their material since they even changed the name, and even more so since Luca left. But considering that Randall likes it, I might give it a spin.

  • Hotdog Clifford

    For some reason I really can’t get into Jomsviking even though I love Twilight of the Thunder God and Deceiver of the Gods. It doesn’t feel like it has riffs like those other two albums.

  • Waynecro

    I’m kind of digging Tormentium and Gloria Morti.