Mini-Reviews from Around the Bowl: 11/10/16

Reading is for janitors. Am I doing the meme right, kids? This week, feast your eyes on Lascar, Mikko JoensuuFreedom CallHemina, Ysengrin/Sartegos, Siberian Hell SoundsAnal Trump, Devin Townsend Project and Lesbian.


lascarLascarAbsence
ATMF/A Sad Sadness Song | December 4th, 2016

Hailing from Santiago, Chile, Lascar is the one-man project of Gabriel Hugo. The songs on Absence lie somewhere between post-black metal and depressive black metal. Quiet, tender moments and interludes call forth thoughts of early Opeth and are a welcome respite from the anguished screams and wailing guitars. With no song being less than 7 minutes, the 4-song EP does require a bit of stamina from the listener, but fans of the genre will be rewarded for their patience. Absence is the album you play when you want to sit outside in the middle of a snowstorm, just thinking, feeling, and being. RIYL: An Autumn for Crippled Children, Thy Light, Ghost Bath  — 365.


Mikko Joensuu – Amen 2
Svart Records | November 11th, 2016

Joensuu‘s Amen 1 was a dark, man-and-an-acoustic-guitar album dealing with loss of faith, the following anxiety and related issues. Amen 2 is an emotionally harrowing second part of the trilogy, and among trilogies, Amen seems to be a rarity – the second part eclipsing the first by a huge margin. The eleven-minute “Drop Me Down”opens the record, adding strings, piano, faint touches of electric guitar and simple, quiet drumming. Though the soundscape created is flails between grey and darkness, the songs manage to convey not only the loss of the mental scheme of god – but also the relief that follows from the realization the structures and emotions like love, sorrow and hope, once attributed to this higher being, are free and inborn. Dealing with similar themes as the first part, but in a far less restricted manner has brought a lot of light into these compositions, making Amen 2 significantly more momentuous than it’s little brother. — Karhu.


Freedom CallMaster of Light
Steamhammer | November 11th, 2016

Freedom Call is back with a new release full of happy, fun, cheesy power metal. Fat choruses, melodic and slick guitar solos, and some sick double bass drumming are something you can always count on from the band, and they deliver in spades. Nothing serious here, just pure joyous cheese that’s easy to get into and catchy as hell. The album cover is definitely not what I’d call good [You aren’t even kidding. -M.], but the contents of the CD more than make up for it and it’s a fun ride from start to finish. Right now, the world needs more glorious, over-the-top fun, and this Jew thinks that Master of Light hits the mark perfectly. — Freedom Jew.


HeminaVenus
Independent | November 11th, 2016

In the mood for some early-2000s style prog metal? Sometimes I am too. This Australian group are making a slightly updated version of some of those older Pain of Salvation and Dream Theater albums, and are doing it exceptionally well. The vocalist has some serious range and there are plenty of groovy riffs reminiscent of Caligula’s Horse. Throughout the massive 80-minute concept album, they show that they have the ability to vary their sound and rarely repeat it. There’s a little bit of storytelling cheesiness, but nothing that even a casual listener of power metal can’t handle. Surprisingly, the one thing that didn’t really blow me away was the instrument technicality (though there are a few great solos), which was basically a necessity back in the day, but they somehow made some solid prog without it. — Joaquin Stick.


Ysengrin/Sartegos – Resvrrezionespiritval
I, Voidhanger Records | November 11th, 2016

Yay, a split. The French Ysengrin refer to themselves as “hermetic dark metal”. Not sure what that is, but it sure is dark and it sure is metal. Cavernous death growls preside over fuzzed-out guitars and sparing synths, with clean voices chanting in the background. Ysengrin take a slightly avant-garde approach to songwriting, throwing stylistic curveballs into the midst of every track. The occult atmosphere is strong with this one; at times it’s down right spooktacular. FFO: Howls of Ebb, Cadaveric Fumes. And then we have the blackened death metal of Galicia’s Sartegos. Don’t… uh… don’t bother with this half of the split unless you’re into ramshackle, knuckle-dragging OSDM, in which case bother to your heart’s content. Just don’t ask me why the bass drum sounds like you slapping yourself across the cheek. — Richter.


Siberian Hell SoundsSvengali
Independent| November 8th, 2016

Siberian Hell Sounds are an Australian trio who play a Blackened, Crusty, Grinding brand of Hardcore. Svengali is their fourth EP since forming in 2013, which clocks in at just over 17 minutes but doesn’t feel in any way short. All five tracks flow together effectively, forming a pummelling assault, with the occasional spoken-word sample thrown in to add to the mood. Svengali sounds tight, with the right amount of blistering hiss, the drums in particular cut through the din with a satisfying relentlessness. Siberian Hell Sounds don’t throw anything particularly innovative into the mix, but if you’re looking for a furious, pitiless EP to soundtrack these uncertain times, this delivers. — Ellipsis.


Anal Trump That Makes Me Smart!
Independent | November 5th, 2016

I feel wonderful!
So great!
So good!
I’m, like, really fantastic.
Big league!
Just the best.
I’m in astonishingly excellent health! — President Trump.


Devin Townsend Project Transcendence
HevyDevy Records | September 9th, 2016

Devin Townsend, as prolific as he is, has always been very hit or miss for me. Most of his post-Strapping Young Lad output has never really grabbed me (with the exception of a few tracks here and there), but I know he’s an amazing musician and I will give him as many chances as he needs to change my mind. Right off, bonus points for opening with a re-recording of Infinity‘s “Truth”, I wasn’t expecting it at all and I think it has imrpoved immensely. I’m glad to report that the rest of the album is really, really good; “Stormbending” is like the hyperactive love child of Porcupine Tree and Dream Theater, and a track like “Offer Your Light” is a masterfully crafted eurotrance-laced spastic banger that reminds me of Devy’s earlier material, but with better production and more thought behind it. Transcendence is pretty varied and has managed to entice me, so hats off to the whole of DTP. This one’s a keeper. — Moshito.


Lesbian Hallucinogenesis
Translation Loss Records | August 26th, 2016

Cool-ass Seagrave artwork and unconventional band name aside, Lesbian‘s Hallucinogenesis is a very interesting album in its own right. Four songs ranging from 9 to almost 15 minutes in length comprise a record full of plodding riffs and loose-but-tight drumming (that, at times, would not be out of place on an early Mastodon album), as well as subdued clean-picked sections, straight-up traditional and slightly blackened stuff… There really is a lot to choose from, almost too much at times. But if you like variety and speeds that never get quite too fast, I don’t see any reason for you not to dig Hallucinogenesis. — Moshito.


 

Hey you. Yeah YOU. Think you can do better than this, PUNK??!? Find an album you’ve dug (or not) that preferably hasn’t been reviewed on the blog yet and has been released recently (within the last few months, or year if you’re so inclined), write around 100-120 coherent words about it and send it to toiletminis[AT]gmail[DOT]com. Please include the album’s release date, title, label, a link to the band’s facebook (if they have one), another one to their bandcamp (or any other place to listen to/buy the album if they don’t have one) and any other information/links that you think are relevant and want to include.

Don’t do it for me. Do it for the ghost of the MasterLord.

  • Óðinn

    And that’s about the portion size you’d need to eat in order to not get fat from their food.

    http://i0.wp.com/www.toiletovhell.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/Untitled-1.jpg?zoom=2&resize=711%2C460

    • Two of their McDoubles actually fit my macronutrients requirements quite handily, given the rest of the day has been fairly lean. Everything else, not so much.

      • Óðinn

        I’ve heard that theory about McDoubles.

  • RJA

    That Anal Trump album is great – favorite song title: ” 9-11 was inconvenient for me personally”. Classic.

    • Travis Ryan is my hero

    • CyberneticOrganism

      All two whole minutes of that album gave me serious lolz0rz

  • AeonsOvChaos
  • slipjackthewanderer

    “Reading is for janitors”. I don’t know if that’s from something but I laughed way too hard.

  • Freedom Jew
    • CyberneticOrganism

      This looks so familiar

      • Freedom Jew

        I feel the sliding duck is so applicable across a huge spectrum of topics.

    • JWEG

      Proof that nature loves curling. No brooms needed, though.

      http://www.npr.org/assets/news/2014/01/CurlingSweep.gif

      • more beer

        I need these guys to sweep my kitchen when they are done playing.

  • mother☆shabubu

    That Devin Townsend Project album(s) has become one of my favorites this year. It took a few times for it to settle in, but it unraveled itself as my favorite thing of his since Casualties of Cool. The bonus disc has a few songs I’m stunned didn’t get on the main album (Gump, Celestial Signals). It’s refreshing to have a more positive-sounding (a bit of melancholy too, but overly positive) metal album be so good.

  • Waynecro

    I’m digging Lascar, and I could enjoy the prog-metal stylings of Hemina from time to time. Siberian Hell Sounds tears it up, and Anal Trump is good for a laugh. Thanks, dudes!

    • Dumpster Lung ᴰᵃᵐᵃᵍᵉ_ᴵⁿᶜ⁸⁹

      So this is pretty random (and doesn’t really matter like. . .at all), but is it “Way Necro” or “Wayne Cro?”

      • As I understand it, it’s a combination of “Wayne” and “Necro”

        • YOU DO NOT UNDERSTAND IT

          • Waynecro

            Well, I turned into a Richter
            Whoa oh oh
            I can’t even recall my name
            Whoa oh oh
            Times I never hardly sleep at night
            Whoa oh oh
            Well, I turned into a Richter today

          • Isn’t there a “fuckin'” in there somewhere? Danzig’s got mush-mouth; I always assume there’s a “fuckin”.

          • Waynecro

            Toward the end of the song, Danzig sings something like “Won’t you tell me what the fuck is my name, martian.”

          • more beer

            There is always a fuckin!

          • more beer

            At least you have arms!

          • FUUUUUCK

          • Waynecro

            No one understands me.
            *flips emo hair, writes poetry*

      • Waynecro

        It’s supposed to be WayNecro, which, I think, came from an old-ass interview with Ross Sewage from Impaled. It seemed highly appropriate because my pancreas was necrotic one time. I didn’t even realize Wayne was in there until folks started calling me “Wayne Cro.” I like that name a lot now, though. Hell, I’ll probably use Wayne Cro as my nom de plume when I finally publish all those stories I’ve been writing.

        • Dumpster Lung ᴰᵃᵐᵃᵍᵉ_ᴵⁿᶜ⁸⁹

          Haha that’s awesome (not about your pancreas though). I was leaning toward Way Necro, like “this shit is waaaay necro, dude!” as if the ninja turtles were discussing black metal.

          • Waynecro

            Dude, exactly! That’s the best explanation for the phrase I’ve ever heard.

          • Lacertilian

            Don’t let him fool you.
            It’s Wayne.
            Always.
            Forever.

  • Old Man Doom

    Dat Seagrave art for Lesbian. Goddamn that’s cool.

    • Dumpster Lung ᴰᵃᵐᵃᵍᵉ_ᴵⁿᶜ⁸⁹

      A picture’s worth a thousand words, but those 3 can perfectly describe anything and everything Dan Seagrave’s ever done.

  • Kevin Nash’s Jackknife

    Here’s a mini review of my album Mallcrosoft.

    Mallcrosoft is very good. It’s vaporwave but longer and more epic. The song We All Had A Right To Know sounds like a hymnal for modern society.

  • Either Lesbian is one of those bands that sounds like a different band with each release or I’m thinking of someone else. At any rate, I dig mightily.

  • JWEG

    You guys recall that I put Zuriaake’s 2015 album on my AOTY list that year, right? Right?

    Well. Members of that band and three others collaborated on an intriguing Atmospheric-Black-Metal-meets-Dungeon Synth album a few weeks ago that I’m pretty sure you listed in that week’s This Toilet article but nobody commented upon.

    https://pestproductions.bandcamp.com/album/dilemma-revenge-snow

    It’s good. Real good.

    • Señor Jefe El Rosa

      This is good.

  • Anal Trump is cancer. Anal Cunt is eternal wealth.

    • KyleJMcBride

      “You Voted Trump/Pence, You’re Full Blown Gay” – Yet another A.C. outtake

      • Bunch of libtards trying to take AC image.

        • It’s a parody, dude. Also, the dude you replied to knew Seth Putnam.

          • KyleJMcBride

            Did I mention he once sang “Into The Crypts Of Rays” over the phone to me after he saw the Cold Lake tour?

          • Óðinn
          • Kevin Nash’s Jackknife

            He saw the Cold Lake tour? Did he hate it?

          • KyleJMcBride

            He saw the comedy value in it. That’s how Seth was with most of the music he liked.

          • Kevin Nash’s Jackknife

            I can’t even listen to Cold Lake without wanting to throw up. I do like their cover of Mexican Radio though off Into The Pandemonium.

          • KyleJMcBride

            Those first three albums are classic, and Monotheist was a good bow out.

          • I missed these stories.

          • KyleJMcBride

            This one is actually kind of bittersweet considering the friend who I was hanging with at the time passed away 17 years back.

          • Óðinn

            But you know, “libtards” bro. They are the biggest problem in America, other than being PC (which, as everybody knows, is exactly the same as fascism).

            https://youtu.be/qIiszI-v1t0?t=255

          • KyleJMcBride

            Dude, bro…

          • Óðinn

            I like how there are cops there, but they are completely disinterested in the one guy who is actually threatening violence. They’ve got their backs turned to him.

          • Dumpster Lung ᴰᵃᵐᵃᵍᵉ_ᴵⁿᶜ⁸⁹

            Dude no kidding, I got wrapped up in a stupid argument over on the other site, (the one that’s in dire need of a good flushing) and fucking hell, I just gave up after a while. Dude wasn’t even from/living in the U.S. but was extremely butthurt about “modern American freedom” being dead. Somehow he went from bitching about PC culture to the Kim Davis thing from a little while ago, and then tried to tie that all into the draft. I just got a headache even trying to wrap my head around how he thought all that shit connected.

          • Óðinn

            I’m an American citizen, but not exclusively. Living I’m other countries has given me perspective. Quite honestly, I feel like many Americans just don’t get it. Feeling like a victim, when people are really just saying “let’s give people of color and the LGBT community some dignity” just doesn’t make sense to me. Look, I grew up in a working-class family, and when I was younger I probably felt like that sometimes. But I worked hard, I went to school and paid for it on my own dime. I earned my credentials and I became an intellectual, a professional actor, and a film industry professional. Along he way, I was exposed to many artists and people who were different from me. I opened myself up to the possibility that what I grew thinking was “common sense” was wrong, and it turns out a lot of it was wrong. If you look a what actually happened in the United States to people of color, they have been systematically oppressed from day #1 to this day.

            Yes, The working class in this country has experienced a few rough decades, but it doesn’t take a rocket scientist to figure out that the business community, along with the Republican Party, are largely responsible for this. They conspired to ship jobs overseas. Voting Republican, because they support racism, over and over again, and then hoping for a different result makes absolutely no sense.

          • KyleJMcBride

            Strangely enough, I never attended an actual A.C. gig. I saw Seth play with Executioner and then Satan’s Warriors(the band he did with Rick from Post Mortem).

          • Lone Biker of the Apocalypse

            I got to meet Seth at a show they played in Columbus Ohio when the “Defenders of the Hate” 7″ was about to be released. My friend was a huge fan, and after watching him drink 18 mixed drinks from the bar in under an hour (yes, we were keeping count) we approached him to ask for a picture. Seth’s reply: “Do I have to get up or do anything?”. My friend said no, so Seth says, OK.

          • KyleJMcBride

            100% legit. I can even sorta hear him saying it in my head.

          • Lone Biker of the Apocalypse

            I gotta see if I can dig up the actual picture. Even though it was a pretty small crowd, Seth was really on, and they tore that place up.

          • That’s excellent

          • I actually saw Seth Putnam live once.

          • Dumpster Lung ᴰᵃᵐᵃᵍᵉ_ᴵⁿᶜ⁸⁹

            That’s nuts, man. Already one great story. Looking forward to more!

  • atchdav

    Enslaved’s new full length The Sleeping Gods-Thorn drops tomorrow.

    http://enslaved.aisamerch.com/item/42333

  • Óðinn
  • KyleJMcBride

    Mini-reviews ,eh?
    This came out back in June. It’s probably the best Type O Negative imitation I’ve ever heard, very heavy on the keyboards and the low end vocals.
    https://black-mantra.bandcamp.com/album/black-mantra

  • KyleJMcBride

    Witchhelm has amazed me with the amount of truly original material they’ve released this year. Their latest is no exception imo.
    https://witchhelm.bandcamp.com/album/dead-nights-of-the-moon-fear

    • This is sounding way better. I can back up this!

      • KyleJMcBride

        And the main songwriter, Sean Krantz(?) has like 2-3 other Metal bands with completely different styles. This guy knows what he’s doing.

  • KyleJMcBride

    This. This fucking album. This album goes so fucking hard in the paint it’s not even funny. I am compelled to crank it at top volume whenever I turn it on. Queue up “Fell To The Earth”. You can’t tell me that shit doesn’t kick with a straight face.
    https://duel3.bandcamp.com/album/fears-of-the-dead

    • Kevin Nash’s Jackknife

      I’ll give it a listen. I’ve been listening to the new Flotsam and Jetsam and Helstar albums a lot. They’re coming to my area next week and I might go if I don’t see Diamond Head. That’s probably what I’m going to do and I won’t have to get rid of my wrestling ticket and I’ll be able to meet the real Kevin Nash. I might also try and meet Jim Duggan.

      • KyleJMcBride

        It’s pretty amazing how much of an actual friend Jessicka Havok is now. We talk nearly every day.

        • Kevin Nash’s Jackknife

          I’m jealous of that. I hope that the actual wrestling is good. Apparently Damien Sandow is facing John Morrison and The Brookyln Brawler is facing James Ellsworth. I don’t know who Kevin Nash or Billy Gunn are facing or if they’re wrestling at all.

          • KyleJMcBride

            The Mighty Ellsworth!!!!

          • Kevin Nash’s Jackknife

            He’s going to be there. I hope it’s good. I’ve never been to a show the company who’s promoting this has put on but I’m sure it will be better than when I saw Jeff Jarrett’s GFW show in January.

          • KyleJMcBride

            I don’t think GFW even exists now.

          • Kevin Nash’s Jackknife

            I guess I saw one of their only shows ever. I feel like a part of history. I’m sure Big Time Wrestling isn’t that bad. They got all these stars to come to this event.

          • KyleJMcBride

            Also, Blue Pants made me one of her Twitch moderators, so when pervert guys mess with her, I get to give them the boot.

          • Kevin Nash’s Jackknife

            Lucky. Why hasn’t she joined the WWE full time?

          • KyleJMcBride

            She likes her free agent status a lot. Joining WWE full time would jeopardize that. They still acknowledge her on the NXT website, and kinda sorta hint that we may see her again.

          • Kevin Nash’s Jackknife

            Well that’s good.

          • KyleJMcBride

            She still hasn’t made it to the New England area yet.

          • Kevin Nash’s Jackknife

            I’m amazed she hasn’t been to my area.

          • KyleJMcBride

            Strangely enough, I’m talking to her right now.

          • more beer

            Damn man you are making JJD way to jealous.

          • KyleJMcBride

            I can’t help it if I have cute friends. : )

          • more beer

            As do I. One is picking me up for a show in about 45 minutes. I have given JJD advice on the fairer sex many times. He doesn’t want to take it. Two of these ladies approached me last week and got me stoned because of the hoodie I was wearing. Dubs and Vlad Putin are my witnesses.http://www.residentrockstar.com/metal-maidens-calendar-contest-2016

          • KyleJMcBride

            Have fun!

          • more beer

            Thank you sir. I always do.

    • Abradolf Lincler

      glad you decided to come back bro

      • KyleJMcBride

        ^_^

    • Señor Jefe El Rosa
  • Kevin Nash’s Jackknife
  • KyleJMcBride

    Have some purple drank on me.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2g7GvIBeLVo

  • Richter, I’m digging Ysengrin. They use hermetism philosophy as a concept; that’s an esoteric, occult and spiritual path akin to alchemy, that seeks the transmutation of the soul to achieve God.