Mini-Reviews from Around the Bowl: 10/27/2016

Small brains get small amounts information. I read that in some book but I forgot which one. Read up on Stench PriceKyy, L’Homme AbsurdeKorn, Queen Elephantine, SkylinerDethbeds and Solution .45.


Stench Price Stench Price
Transcending Obscurity | November 30th, 2016

We didn’t know it, but the earth desperately needed this record. Stench Price was initially billed to me as a grindcore “supergroup”. That moniker doesn’t do this record justice. Though Stench Price is crammed to the gills with essential grind and death metal artists like Danny Lilker, Dave Ingram, and Romain Goulon, it is so much more than the sum of parts. With this record, the band push grindcore beyond the boundaries that have stagnated the genre for decades. What’s more extreme than extreme? How about major-key xylophone melodies and bubbly bossa nova passages that wouldn’t sound out of place in a shopping mall elevator circa 1987? Each track on this (sadly) too-short record is a delight. Listen to the first two tracks here and hear “Pressure (feat. Karina Utomo), my favorite track, right here. FIVE OUT OF FIVE FIRE EMOJIS –Joe Thrashnkill.


KyyBeyond Flesh – Beyond Matter – Beyond Death
Saturnal Records | November 4th, 2016

We are living in a time every genre has become over saturated by hordes of mediocre bands without a shred of identity. For one reason or another, the problem (if it can be called one) seems particularly pronounced amongst the ranks of those partial to black metal. On their debut full-length, Kyy don’t seek their place from the experimentalists’ corner – their black metal is of the conservative kind. They stand somewhere between Norsecore-worship and a more modern interpretation. Fierce tremolo riffs, with hints at scorching melodies aren’t anything new per se, but Kyy thrives. Straightforward but bold songwriting, coiling back and forth, keeps the album engaging through and through without any particular need for invention. BF-BM-BD is a regular black metal album, but a very good one. — Karhu.


L’Homme Absurde Monster
Fono | October 25th, 2016

I love Alcest but usually find copycat bands to be obnoxiously boring. No one pulls it off like Neige and Co. However, this Russian post-black band caught my attention. They stay on the harsher side of things in regards to the drumming and vocals and cut out all the unnecessary atmospherics that bands typically include in this genre. The clean melodic guitar tone overlays this harsher landscape perfectly, fading away at times and taking the lead at others. “Apathy” is an excellent example of their ability to build up a theme and then end it with their unique take. Fans of that last Harakiri for the Sky album should give this a shot as well. — Joaquin Stick


Korn The Serenity of Suffering
Roadrunner Records | October 21st, 2016

I know, calm down everyone. I come in peace, and I bring groove. After not paying almost any attention to Korn since I first got into metal never because I wasn’t born a poser, I heard lead single “Rotting in Vain” a few months back and decided to check the album out upon release. While the rest of the album isn’t as good as that one song, it’s an extremely fun listen packed with your usual Korn-isms (Fieldy‘s stringy bass and Jonathan Davis‘ characteristic voice) along with some damn heavy riffs and Ray Luzier‘s extremely tight drumming. All in all, The Serenity of Suffering is a pretty good album to jam to if the mere mention of the band’s name didn’t send you into an uncontrollable barfing fit. — Moshito.


Queen ElephantineKala
Argonauta Records | October 21st, 2016

Kala, the fifth full-length from Rhode Island psyche/doom crew Queen Elephantine, is not an attention-grabbing record. The spare, ratty guitar lines will not light anyone’s face on fire. The multiple percussion pieces are set way back in the mix and content to build atmosphere rather than pummel the listener. Vocals only occasionally appear in the course of these lengthy, meditative tracks. Instead, Queen Elephantine are content to slowly sprawl out across this record, stretching each segment inch-by-inch into an invocation for an ancient and esoteric ritual. In exchange for a little patience, Kala is a rewarding listen. FFO: Sonic Youth by way of doom metal. — Joe Thrashnkill.


skyliner_cb_cover-160x160Skyliner Condition Black
Limb Music | October 20th, 2016

Skyliner is a trio from Jacksonville, Florida, that combines some of the best elements of USPM with a solid progressive musical style into one excellent package. On their new album, Condition Black, the lyrics are deep and thoughtful, the riffs abundant, and the vocal stylings varied, from a clean baritone to gritty death growls. The overall theme of the album is a dark contemplation of destruction and searching for one’s own G-d and a purpose for life in a jacked up universe, and it all comes across perfectly in the songs. There’s something here for everyone, even if you aren’t a huge power metal fan. — Freedom Jew.


DethbedsDungeon Scum
Independent | October 14th, 2016

Full disclosure: I am about to hit you with a pair of conflicting statements. I have no idea what the fuck is going on with Dethbeds, and I love the fact that I have no idea what the fuck is going on with Dethbeds. I will try my hand at trying to describe Dungeon Scum, but I’m perfectly OK with the possibility that my assessment may be a failure. Dethbeds combines the likes of Botch and Eyehategod with thrash and black metal in a way that sounds like it was haphazardly slapped together as a well-conceived bad idea that has no business being any good. All the odds are against it being any good, but it kicks and punches its way into your subconscious to force you to believe that it’s good. I really can’t quite wrap my head around it, but you should listen to this, enjoy it and accept the fact that you can’t quite wrap your head around it. By the way, all the preceding statements are compliments. Sorry so cryptic. — Ron Deuce.


Solution .45 Nightmares in the Waking State – Part II
AFM Records | August 26th, 2016

Fans of Euro Melodeath rejoice, there’s more of Christian Älvestam‘s glorious growled/sung combo vocals in the world. The former and bestest Scar Symmetry frontman is the shining star of Solution .45‘s most recent offering, where the rest of the band creates an aptly heavy and catchy (and at times technical) set of sounds that flourish around the vocals. I like that the album is really diverse: they mixed up the more straightforward songs with cuts that take a bit more effort to process and digest, and by the end of it I felt as satisfied as with any 10-course meal. Any fan of Melodic Death Metal with flares of prog and a more good cop/bad cop vocal approach (though in this case it’s the same cop) should love this album, especially Scar Symmetry fans. Listen here— Moshito.

  • Señor Jefe El Rosa

    Checking out Skyliner soon, nice to see more names here!

  • frozengoatsheadupanunsarse

    Sonic Youth by way of doom metal is a ludicrously enticing prospect to these earbutts.

  • Abradolf Lincler

    that Skyliner is prettygood, checked it after the podcast rec from Rand Al’Thor

    • Joaquin Stick

      Do I have to like youtube search it or some garbage? I need one-click access to music. I remember liking the track on the podcast as well, but man, I can’t be bothered to use a keyboard to find a track lol.

      • Abradolf Lincler

        http://www.skylinermusic.com/index.html

        three songs up on Soundcloud

      • Señor Jefe El Rosa

        Album is on spotify

        • Joaquin Stick

          You the man BTR. Forgot about that thing I pay $15 a month for lol.

          • Señor Jefe El Rosa

            It is quite handy

    • Freedom Jew

      Their first album, Outsiders, is even better than this one.

  • tigeraid

    EL OH EL Korn.

    • Al Bundy

      Ah Korn, because decades and trends come and go, but creepy children ® adorning an album cover is always cool

      • Mosh Hoff

        That cover is 500 loud shades of lolbuttz.

      • FrankWhiteKingOfNY

        I’m actually of the unpopular opinion that the first Korn album is a great album. At the same time, the band is also responsible for some of the most infantile and painful crap ever to carry the “metal” tag; but the first album is a different beast imo.

        https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BfKHAIc84Tw

        • Dr. K

          I also agree with you on this one.

        • Al Bundy

          Hey i dont disagree. I also loved and still rate the first four albums very much. I lost intrest in them afterwards because as you say, the infantile whiney vibe was just too much to cope with.

          • FrankWhiteKingOfNY

            I only listened to the first 4 albums in full. I thought Peachy was rather forgettable and uninteresting and Follow the Leader has a couple of truly awful songs. Issues on the other hand, I thought was pretty much ok. After that I only heard a couple of songs that didn’t really leave much of an impression.

          • Al Bundy

            Peachy was the shit to me at the time because it was unique sounding. Korn were usually the classic metal ‘gateway band’ to kids in the 90’s, but my first exposure to metal was Best of the Beast by Iron Maiden, so imagine the impression Twist made to me when first heard! your right about follow the leader. All In The Family = Cringe!

          • FrankWhiteKingOfNY

            Is that the Fred Durst duet? Hahahaha oh man, that’s so fucking terrible. I even think some of the more straightforward songs such as “Freak on a Leash” are rather cringe. Just an awful album in general imo.

          • Al Bundy

            Yeah man we need the BIZKIT to save this group from Jon Davis
            http://youtu.be/JpY6XKH3Dgo

          • FrankWhiteKingOfNY

            Fuck…this is just embarrassing…

        • Korn was good. Then they became so edgy.

    • Kron

    • Kevin Nash’s Jackknife

      I enjoy Korn. I enjoy them more than most nu metal.

      • tigeraid

        This is like preferring Man of Steel over Superman Returns. Everyone loses.

        • Kevin Nash’s Jackknife

          I hated Superman Returns. The first three Superman movies are the best.

  • Joaquin Stick

    Forgot about that Solution .45. I listened when it came out and enjoyed it well enough.
    Those bossa nova sections are unreal in that Stench Price song. I might actually check out a grind album.
    I don’t have my patient pants on today, but I’ll check out Kala soon too.
    Yay minis!

  • Dr. K

    Played a basement with Dethbeds earlier this year and really enjoyed them. They struck me as a band that would have been right at home in the era of “The New Wave of American Heavy Metal,” sort of along the lines of Lamb of God’s earlier, heavier work as Burn the Priest.

    • I remember when they were called Burn The Priest, the name change obviously worked out nicely for them. Basement show seems like the ideal spot to catch Dethbeds.

    • FrankWhiteKingOfNY

      I remember the time when Lamb of God was pretty damn good when they put out As the Palaces Burn and Ashes of the Wake. Live they were solid as well back then. Their music got frustratingly bland around the time they created the godawful “Redneck”and it stayed that way ever since.
      Call me an idiot if you will, but stuff like this is damn solid metal:

      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I_4TVY-FIrc

      • Dr. K

        I was a huge fan in this era. I still think there are usually two or three really good metal songs on every album they put out, but I haven’t loved anything since Sacrament.

        • FrankWhiteKingOfNY

          I think “Walk With Me In Hell” is the last song I really really liked by them.

  • Paddlin’ Rites ov Beargod

    Stench Price is great! “Pressure” reminds me of HC Andersen, which is definitely never a bad thing.

    • Brutalist_Receptacle

      FVCK YEAH STENCH PRICE

  • Waynecro

    Stench Price, L’Homme Absurde, and Dethbeds are new to me, and I fucking dig ’em. That Solution .45 album is mighty fine as well. I dig most of Älvestam’s work–especially his work with Unmoored, Miseration, Torchbearer, Scar Symmetry, and Solution .45. And “Time to Let Go” from his solo album gives me the feels.

  • Al Bundy

    Great review of L’Homme Absurbe. Im jamming the album right row on the Spotify.

    • Joaquin Stick

      Thanks! Sometimes genre-browsing Spear’s giant Toilet Tuesday lists works out. Most of the time you get a pile of lolbuttz though.

  • Lacertilian sent me Stench Price weeks ago and I didn’t listen because I am bad and not good. The record rules tho. Glad I finally did.

  • Thanks for this. Specially to Freedom Jew for having the time to write a mini. This Skyliner sounds p good.

  • TrickleDownOvTacoKvltRiff

    I really like the pictures of little things you find for these mini review posts. And today I am going to spend my day at work digging into these recommendations. Many thanks.