Mini-Reviews from Around the Bowl: 08/11/2016

Get your fix of kix and lix. This week we have DakhmaDeadlock, HenosisVoidspawn, The Foreshadowing, Black Crown Initiate, Diabolizer, Messa, Deviant Process and Bersærk.

Dakhma – Suna Kulto
Independent | September 11th, 2016

“Sweet, new Dakhma,” you’re probably thinking to yourself. Sorry pal. This isn’t the vicious two-man grind band from San Fran, nor is it the brutish occult band from Switzerland. No, this Dakhma is the snarling black/grind/crust band from Michigan. Naming gaffes aside, this EP, the second from the young band, absolutely rrrrriiiipppps. Blackened riffs run amok within rivers of tape hiss and mudslide blast beats, but what’s most intriguing is the almost triumphant splendor of the band’s tone. While vocalist Claire shrieks with almost self-harming abandon, guitarist Derek tortures his instrument to ring out just enough melody within the crust to give the tunes a sense of grandeur and scope that you wouldn’t expect from a release with such a DIY feel. It’s evident there’s a human heart between the two sides of this nearly 40-minute EP, one that grants the music within character and quality so often missing from this genre. — W.


Deadlock – Hybris
Napalm Records | August 7th, 2016

Germany’s Deadlock put out one of my favorite albums of all-time, 2007’s Wolves. The band deftly blended technicality with aggression, leading to memorable hooks and catchy choruses. Then, the wheels kind of fell off. After some musical experimentation and shifting lineups, Deadlock in 2016 looks quite different from Deadlock in 2006. Gone are both male vocalist Joe Prem and female vocalist Sabine Scherer as well as several other members. Former bassist John Gahlert took over harsh vocal duties in 2011, and Margie Gerlitz took over clean vocals this year. Despite the changes, Deadlock have managed to produce an album that can please longtime fans as well as bring in new ones. Hybris straddles the line between melodic death metal and standard metalcore. The band shines when they delve into melody, whether it be through solos or Gerlitz’s soothing vocals. This album is for those that want to mosh around or sing along in the car. It might not blow you away, but it will stick with you. RIYL: Raunchy, Hatesphere, Eyes Set to Kill  — 365.

Henosis Unleash the Ophidian Essence from the Reverse of Creation
Independent | August 6th, 2016

I can’t remember whether it was the alluring album cover or the familiar combination of the words “ophidian” and “henosis”, but I’m damn glad I spent a minute investigating this under the radar release from last week. This is one beastly debut album. This black/death trio hailing from Chile didn’t just tick all the boxes, they coated the page in blood and set it ablaze, fanning the flames until merely ash remained. When they’re not blasting your face off with tremolo filth straight from the underworld (which isn’t often), Henosis show commendable composure; besetting the listener with very deliberate and ominous layers of riffing that point toward the impending doom of all things. Blending the best of both the Norweigan and American approaches to death metal vocals, the cataclysmic roaring commands the authority usually reserved for genre stalwarts. Utilising the hefty clout of death metal, the aphotic mood of black metal, and the savage intensity of war metal, this album could be the dark horse that tramples in through your peripheral vision and kicks your fucking teeth clean out. – Lacertilian.

Voidspawn Pyrrhic
Independent | July 30th, 2016

“The Void is a cold, physical manifestation of darkness that grows from the absence of light.” This is how Voidspawn describes themselves on bandcamp. If you don’t already love them based off that description, let me inform you that this band is a demonic mixture of riffs and atmosphere that you don’t want to miss. Also their name is Voidspawn, how awesome is that? This is basically what would happen if Chthe’ilist, Demilich and Gorguts decided to spawn a child. You know, before that child devoured the universe whole obviously. — Bauer.


The Foreshadowing – Seven Heads Ten Horns
Metal Blade Records | July 29th, 2016

Prepare your rain-soaked windows and box of tissues. Italian gothic doom metallers The Foreshadowing bring feelings of melancholia and ennui full force on their latest release. While many similar gloom-and-doom bands come to mind when listening to the album, Seven Heads Ten Horns doesn’t fall into the usual “woe is me” cycle of depression. Indeed, the songs are mournful and emotionally crushing, but the songs never feel bogged down with dismal misery. The mellifluous vocals of Marco Benevento complement the tone and pacing of the instruments, working together as one to transport the listener to a world of grey sentiments and regrets. Seven Heads Ten Horns is a good listen, start to finish…just as long as you’re ready to feel things again. RIYL: Insomium, Moonspell, Katatonia   — 365.

Black Crown Initiate Selves We Cannot Forgive
eOne | July 22nd, 2016

As has been discussed here before, applying the term “progressive” to most slighlty left-of-center metal has changed the original meaning of the term to something that’s pretty predictable and somewhat standardized. But this shouldn’t be a negative thing as long as the music is good, which is the case with Black Crown Initiate‘s sophomore effort. Selves We Cannot Forgive weaves from the blackened Cynic tones of opener “For Red Cloud” to the Opeth-meets-Alice in Chains of closer “Vicious Lives”, and is highly entertaining at that. Of note is a particularly tasty guitar solo on “Again,” laid down by master Wes Hauch (freshly incorporated into the band). Don’t skip this if you enjoyed The Wreckage of Stars or are just a fan of modern progressive metal in general. Check out the title track here— Moshito.

Diabolizer  Apokalypse
Third Eye Temple | July 8th, 2016

Turkey’s Diabolizer feature members of the killer bands Engulfed and Burial Invocation and have wasted absolutely no time showing both their capability and intent with their debut EP Apokalypse. Having dusted off most of the filth associated with their other bands, Apokalypse offers a solid platform between the techincal side of things and the relentless buzzsaw of punishment you’ll find on most modern European death metal releases. With riffs for days, vocals not too dissimilar to Travis Ryan‘s (minus the Gollum-esque shrieks) and pummelling percussion, these 7 tracks just don’t let up. Throw in a couple of solos replete with crazy bar vibrato theatrics, and you’re left with a demon as agile as it is angry. RIYL: Amputory, Iskra, Gutter Instinct  — Lacertilian.

BelfryMessa Belfry
Independent | May 6th, 2016

I’m not normally one to listen to doom metal, but for whatever reason this album has completely captivated me. Excellent riffs and sexy occult vocals abound. Fantastic solos accentuate an already stellar album that never overstays its welcome. The production on this album is just so warm and fuzzy, and I love it. All in all it’s an extremely captivating package that will keep you coming back for more. It may even get a spot in my coveted top 10 later this year. If you like your music slow and heavy and you haven’t listened to this album you need to check your shit because it’s broken. — Bauer.

deviant processDeviant Process – Paroxysm
PRC Music | March 11th, 2016

Let it be known that I am a total pleb for having slept on this for so long. Paroxysm is easily one of the most interesting, creative, and intelligent tech death albums released this year. It’s progressive without being pretentious, and it keeps the noodling to a minimum and the riffing to a maximum. It’s surprisingly easy to listen to in spite of its complexity, due largely to how well the band is able to build off of singular ideas. It’s fast, it’s intense, it’s heavy, and it’s not hard to follow. This is a must-have for any fan of the genre, from the seasoned veterans to the most casual of tech-heads. [As per usual, Spear is incredibly right. -M.O.— Spear.

Bersærk Mulm
Osmiuim Records | October 29th, 2015

Probably best described as Progressive Stoner Rock, Bersærk’s debut LP walks a fine line and fills a gap I never knew I needed. The crunchy and upbeat guitar tone keeps the album an arm’s length away from being doom, and while the riffs are never dull, there is also not a whole lot of variation. I can see the vocals being divisive, but I don’t think they could be more perfect with their explosive and cutting quality. All the lyrics are in danish, so I have no idea what he’s talking about, but that may be a benefit rather than hindrance. As google translate tells me their artist statement says, Bersærk just wants us to “live and lead it back to the days when a man was a man, a woman was ready to fight, and Berserk was something you went together.” Despite a few picky criticisms, I really enjoy this debut. FFO: Red Fang, Clutch  — Joaquin Stick.


  • Dubbbz

    I was going to pen a mini for Henosis too, lol. The lizard and I both stumbled upon it independently, and now we are both dickrushed.

  • That Diabolizer album kills, although I mostly listen to it for the drum performance more than anything else. Dude crushes it.

    • Lacertilian

      I still prefer the Dead Congregation vibes of Engulfed but this is a solid secondary/tertiary band for these crazy Turks.

  • Joaquin Stick

    I have given BCI a few spins since it came out, and finally determined that I REALLY like it. It’s one of those albums that kinda fits my tastes perfectly. Officially back on board with this band, holding no more skepticism.

    • Paddlin’ Rites ov Beargod

      It’s REALLY not good at all.
      Skepticism, on the other hand>>>>

      • Joaquin Stick

        Breaking news: Beargod doesn’t like something! Sun rose this morning! Joaquin’s opinions are at odds with most!

    • Its good yup. Not Wrackage of Stars Pt. 2 but still very good. Their experimentation might throw off a few bears but i think the band knows what they’re doing. Yup.

  • 365 zombie shared The Foreshadowing to me and I dug it. I second his recommendation this time.

    Will check Deviant Process, Diabolizer and Black Crown Initiate.

    Thanks, bros!

    • Dayum! Spear wasn’t wrong, that Deviant Process goes hard as fuck.

      • Joaquin Stick

        Also listening, it’s friggin fast, but not too obnoxiously full of noodles. I like.

    • Dayum! Lacertilian wasn’t wrong, that Diabolizer goes hard as fuck.

      • Lacertilian

        Dude, check Henosis. Chilean annihilation.

        • RJA

          It’s on my list – I’m a simple man, if there are upside down crosses on your cover I will check out.

          • Lacertilian

            I imagine that modus operandi keeps you quite busy.

  • Waynecro

    I really liked Deadlock’s Bizarro World for some reason, so I’ll have to check out the new album. Also, DEVIANT PROCESS!!!

    • Brutalist_Receptacle


      • Waynecro


        • Colleenthurley

          <<fb. ★★✫★★✫★★✫★★✫★★✫★★✫★★✫★★✫★★✫★★✫★★✫★★✫★★✫★★✫★★✫★★✫★★✫★★::::::!il250r:….,……..

      • lagerbottoms


    • lagerbottoms

      I have a sweet spot for Manifesto actually 😀 It was probably my first metal album with so much different stuff going on. the fe/male contrasting vocal duo, the riffs, the jazz, techno, hip hop elements.

  • JWEG

    New Slomatics just sort of went up on their bandcamp. By ‘sort of’ I mean just art and tracklisting: no preorder and no way to wishlist yet (both of which I’ll do as soon as I can).

    …Though somehow it already lists four supporters…

    [Edit] I see now. Those options are/were initially just available on the mobile app.

  • Where do you find these header images? They are sad, and I can relate to the portions.

  • Some of us liked Deviant Process before it was all over the toilet :/

    • Spear

      Some of us are a bit slow and have bad aim and can’t help deviantly processing all over the toilet.

      • Waynecro

        I usually only have that problem first thing in the morning.

        • Abradolf Lincler

          only betas care about prematurely deviant processes. sometimes ill process twice on purpose.

      • I posted it on fb and you commented on that post. REPENT YOU FILTHY HORKER

        • Spear

          I didn’t listen to all of it until a couple weeks ago. Figured I’d make up for it by bringing it up again.

          • We don’t need milk drinkers like you in skyrim.

        • Ted Nü-Djent ™

          In Spears defence, keeping up with your music posts on fb is like counting the drops when it rains. An exercise in futility.

          • Can’t help that I’m good at finding good stuff. Honestly though I’m currently mulling stopping with Facebook, or at least being on a lot less, because of the grotesque amount of time that I waste there.

          • Ted Nü-Djent ™

            I hear ya. It’s a Blackhole that I can’t find a way out of. Partly (mostly) because it’s either that or watch children’s TV shows

          • I will admit it’s really good for keeping track of music shit but I think I can do that with blogs just as easily.

          • Ted Nü-Djent ™

            Not to mention those rascals who keep saying you backflip 😝

    • Yes like fuckin 4 months ago

  • 365ChaosRiddenDays

    Voidspawn, Diabolizer and Messa, well, thank you very much and I wanna put this one to your attention, I think that Iron Bonehead is far from failing again, this is Black Metal combined with Ambient: with this one: and this one too:

    • Lacertilian

      This promo didn’t do much for me a while back, I’ll give it another listen because you have good taste and STRAYA.

      • 365ChaosRiddenDays

        Thank you, I don’t have a vast knowledge about bands who come from Australia, especially if we have to speak about Black Metal made by Aussies but this band grabbed me immediately, in the end, STRAYA!

  • Abradolf Lincler
    • I wonder how long it will take for them to make a new album.

      • more beer

        I am gonna go see DRI tomorrow. But found out last night that Vermin Womb is on the bill also.

        • Lucky bastard! Speaking of Ethan, did you ever give that new Withered album a listen? Has Ethan on vocals.

          • more beer

            I have not. Things have been hectic. I will put it on my list and check it out after work. My really busy time of the year has kicked into full effect.

          • I hear you man. I think you’ll like it. It’s really dark and doomy death metal.

          • more beer

            That sounds right up my alley.

          • more beer

            I just bookmarked that. I was going to try and listen to it now. But I just got a job added on top of all the work I already have. I guess it will have to wait until after work. Since all of the songs are pretty long.

          • Abradolf Lincler

            thats our curse, mb

          • more beer

            But the money is good. It still beats being trapped in an office.

          • Abradolf Lincler

            i have a short day today unless they try to add some stuff on the me

          • I’ll be out of here before 4 today. That will be nice.

          • more beer

            I already had a pretty long day today. So this didn’t bring me whole lot of joy. But it is what it is. Have a good day I have to go.

      • Abradolf Lincler

        i recall them saying in that interview that the material was already written, i could be wrong

  • Elegant Gazing Globe

    Wish that Voidspawn was more than just 3 songs, a few more coulda land this on my top list

  • Dagon


  • TrickleDownOvTacoKvltRiff

    Is that a tasty Kielbasa on the Deadlock cover? I like’m smothered in onions and mustard with a nice German potato salad on the side.

  • lagerbottoms

    My favorite of these mentioned here is surely PAROXYSM! I’ve discovered Deviant Process this hear. I think it was actually on this blog, so thanks 🙂

    They feel like a mix of Spawn Of Possession and Beyond Creation. My 2 favorite current Death Metal bands. They add their own flair though. What caught me is, that every aspect is just well-executed. The writing, the riffs, the leads, the soli, the drums, the bass lines, the vocals. Everything’s well audible and mixed. Crunchy or clean, always they way it needs to be. Definitely TOP10 this year.
    Favorite track: Unconsciousness. I just love me a really good opener. I usually listen to whole albums, so a good opener is like a good awakening in the morning 😀