Mini-Reviews From Around The Bowl: 07/14/2016

Why this started to be equated with food I have no idea. Now I’m hungry and confused. This week on the menu: Xaon, Summit, Noire, Joy, SarabanteThe Wretched End, Logistic Slaughter, Morbid Saint and Whitney Houston’s Crypt.


Xaon Face of Balaam
Independent | October 16th, 2016

Switzerland’s Xaon (I’m not sure how to pronounce it. Zown? Zayon? Christian?) cranks out a Gothenburg-style version of melodic death metal, complete with sweet guitar work, pounding chugs, aggressive barks, smooth cleans, and catchy synths. So their self-released album Face Of Balaam is an instant win, right? Ehhh, I’m not really sure. The five-song album certainly has it’s moments, but those moments do not lend to a complete picture. There are good ideas and solid sounds, but it doesn’t quite come together the way you expect. Soilwork vocalist Björn “Speed” Strid lends his voice for the song Discrowned, and while it’s the best song on the album, it also serves as a reminder that Face Of Balaam doesn’t quite reach the upper echelon of melo-death. Xaon are an up-and-coming band and worth keeping an eye (and ear) on. Face of Balaam may not be a masterpiece, but a template of things to come. RIYL: Soilwork, Scar Symmetry, Darkane –365.

Summit  The Winds that Forestall Thy Return
I, Voidhanger Records | July 15th, 2016

A solo project from Gabriele Gramaglia of The Clearing PathSummit is some kick ass Italian post/progressive sludge. The Winds that Forestall Thy Return is mainly an instrumental offering, but they do a great thing to break up the consistently great riffage, which is to bring in a guest vocalist on one track and use some spoken word tracking throughout, both of which I enjoy immensely. My only complaint about the album is that two of the songs (9 full minutes) are a little too much like filler to really be excited about. But, as much as it drones, as good post should do, there is plenty of variation and rhythm change within songs to keep you interested. Summit is a must listen for fans of Russian Circles and Intronaut. — Joaquin Stick.

noire Noire – The Tracks of the Hunted
Depressive Illusions Records | July 8th, 2016

Though Winnipeg’s Noire is certainly a metal band, it would be remiss of me to call The Tracks of the Hunted a metal album, at least in the traditional sense. The main focus here is on acoustic guitar and piano in haunting introspective pieces that evoke as much sorrow as their more ferrous counterparts. The album’s title track, the nearly nine-minute centerpiece, is the only one to feature any distorted guitars or shrieks. It’s a damn good one, too, sounding a lot like a black metal take on Opeth’s Still Life. It’s followed up by the appropriately titled “The Sound of the Void” and another acoustic song, and it’s all tied nicely together at the very end. The Tracks of the Hunted is somber and depressive without wallowing in self-pity, and it makes for a great listen if you’re in the mood for something quieter. — Spear.

Joy  Of Nothing
Blood & Ink Records | June 17th, 2016

Are you little disappointed that almost half of the new Nails album is being sucked up by an 8+ minute closing track? If that’s letting you down, give the new EP by Joy a spin and let it serve as your companion piece.  Of Nothing is strong in the three B’s of heavy music – buzzsaw guitars, blast beats and breakdowns, the cornerstone of any nutritious musical consumption. Those attributes combined with a well recorded effort give you five tracks of grindy hardcore capable of motivating a Florida man high on bath salts to eat a family of four. This will most certainly make you wish you could dropkick a Westboro Baptist Church protester while being propelled from some bungee chord slingshot contraption. The reality is that’s not going to happen, but in the interim, you can jam this fine release and it will bring you great………..wait for it……….Joy! — Ron Deuce.

SarabanteSarabante – Poisonous Legacy
Southern Lord | June 10th, 2016

“FFO: Tragedy” is how Sarabante was brought to my attention in the Toilet ov Hell Facebook group by a long-time bro of the site. That short description is totally apt. This Greek crew deliver dark, crusty hardcore that jives with the ragged politically-radical sound of Memphis’ greatest punk rock export. “Mneme’s Amaurosis”, Poisonous Legacy‘s best track, is my new soundtrack to violent moshing, smashing the state, and subverting the system, maaan. Also, light yard work. — Joe Thrashnkill.

The Wretched End In These Woods, from These Mountains
Indie Recordings | April 22nd, 2016

This is metal that is black but also kinda deathy and it has Samoth from Emperor and that drummer dude from Dark Funeral and it is very Norwegian with guest vocals from the one crazy Mayhem guy and that handsome bloke from Leprous. It will make you feel cold inside if that’s the sort of thing you’re into, with atmospheric and slightly raw production that lends a nice touch to this good slab of (not too) modern black metal. FFO: Forests, Mountains, Mountains with Forests, Corpsepaint-less Grimness. — Moshito.

Logistic Slaughter Corrosive Ethics
Independent | April 20th, 2016

This album is real weird but good if you like sloppy strange death that has off-the-wall sometimes slammy riffs and vocals that are funny in a piggy way with more of an angular feeling than my tenth grade algebra class. If you like strident death metal you’re in luck: Corrosive Ethics is full of strange-sounding structures, stringy bass and car-brake vocals broken up by a cool sense of melody and the occasional subdued clean interlude. But really, the reason this album keeps me coming back is that one vocal section in “Over Pestilent Soil“. You’ll know it when you hear it. — Moshito.

Spectrum_Of_DeathMorbid Saint – Spectrum of Death
Century Media | March 11th, 2016

I’m slightly behind on this release give or take a quarter of a century. Morbid Saint had a brief reign in the metal capital of Sheboygan, Wisconsin from the mid 80s to the early 90s. I didn’t get to hear this record upon its release because I was a toddler. Fortunately, Century Media reissued this lost late-80s thrash classic earlier this year. Let’s keep it brief (this IS a mini-review, after all) If you like Slayer you’re gonna love the shit out of Spectrum of Death. This is fast, hook-laden metal with all the riffs and speed that a thrash junkie could possibly desire. Pull it up on Spotify and jam out. — Joe Thrashnkill.

whitney1Whitney Houston’s Crypt – s/t EP 7″
Vacant Valley | February 11th, 2016





(FFO: Australian No Wave, Electro Shock Therapy) — Richter.

Morbid Saint – Destruction System
Century Media | November 1st, 2015

Since I’m not as big a thrash poser as Joe, I’ve been jamming Spectrum of Death for some decades now (totally, I did the math). I also knew of the existence of their second album, which was recorded in 1992 but never saw the light of day (other than in advanced demo copy form) due to label troubles and the band eventually breaking up. Destruction System Sounds like Morbid Saint, albeit with clearer production, lower tuned guitars and more midpaced tempos. It’s Spectrum, but through a slight 90s filter, if that makes any sense. — Moshito.

  • Fuuuuuuuck! Sarabante is goddamn sick!!! Crushing D-Beat FTW!

    Also, that artwork >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

    Southern Lord is bringing it hard this year.

  • Super Nintendo Chalmers

    Logistic Slaughter?

    Supply Chain Sodomy. Production Schedule Massacre. Monthly Accruals Acrimony.

  • Eliza

    That Summit album is truly great, I love it as well.

  • I can’t decide if I like logistic slaughter or not. Those vocals are interesting but also kinda feel like a perpetual pig squeal.

    • Joaquin Stick

      That album cover looks like something from the first season of Hannibal.

  • Obligatory Morbid Saint fucking rules comment.

    • IronLawnmower

      Morbid Saint fucking RULES

  • Fine Sexy Ladies

    New The Wretched End you say? Mmmmmmmmmmmmm…

  • Will check out: Xaon, Noire, Sarabante (AGAIN) and The Wretched End.

    Thanks for the hard work recommending these sweet tunes, MoshitoFF & Co.!

    • Eliza

      I’m listening to Noire right now, their album is fantastic. Check out Summit as well, their music is worth at least a listen.

  • Hans Müller

    Apropos absolutely nothing whatsoever, here’s some Dungeon Synth. I’ll see myself to my locker.

    • Paddlin’ Rites ov Beargod


  • Really, go get that Sarabande and throw some molotovs to your Mayor office or something. It’s on fire, very pissed off anarchopunk attitude. Only a fucked up politricks ambient can unlock so much rage.

  • Joaquin Stick

    Excited to hear the rest of the Xaon album. Good call 365!

  • Anyone Digging that Sarabante shit, please check out Unkind. Super underrated HC Crust punk from Finland. This band deserves more recognition. Support!!!

    • Paddlin’ Rites ov Beargod


    • sweetooth0

      Unkind rules

  • Hans Müller

    That Whitney Houston’s Crypt is… something else. Kinda like early Swans fronted by a Black Metal gal. Pickaxe required for digging, but I think I’ll come back to it.

    • Eliza

      I kinda like how weird that album is too.

  • Hey, fuk u moshito

    • Mosh Hoff


  • Waynecro

    Xaon sounds OK, and I’m really digging title track from the Noire album. More of that, please! Joy and Sarabante are pretty ripping.

    • Eliza

      I just finished the Noire album, and, to me, it felt more like a folk album with black metal tinges that vice versa. That doesn’t make it bad, at least not in my eyes.

      • This!

        Very folky, it reminds me a lot of old Melodic Death Metal or Melodic Black Metal from Sweden, very harmonic and inspired by folk.

      • Waynecro

        I like the whole album, but, damn, that one song is so awesome.

        • The Tracks of the Hunted? Because I’m hearing that one and I’m in love.

          It reminds me of this freakingly good album that I still haven’t listened in full again because Venezuelan reasons:

        • Eliza

          Yes, it is. If I’ll ever listen to this album again, that’ll be the first track I will listen to.

    • I dig this Noire so much <3

  • XAON, whoa!


  • frozengoatsheadupanunsarse

    Being a toddler is no excuse!

  • I saw that Morbid Saint reissue at a record store in May and picked it up.

  • Another really good D-Beat crusty HC Punk album from this year is the new PARASIT album “A Proud Tradition Of Stupidity”. This shit goes so hard! Has members from Uncurbed. Highly recommended. No download unfortunitly from Bandcamp. I got the record over at Hells Headbangers, but if you want the digital version, Amazon has it.

    • Probably my favorite album title of the year.

    • Don’t miss their last album too. Great shit as well.

    • Since I’m posting so much shit here, I’ll just dedicate this thread to Crusty D-Beat bands from 2016. Check out Okus which is a more crusty grindcore band. This album needs to be heard to be believed. Savage and ultimately filthy sounding stuff.

      • Waynecro

        Goddamn. I know what I’ll be blasting in the gym tonight. Thanks!

        • And of course, the new Mass Grave! Shit is just as good if not better.

          • Waynecro

            Nice! This kind of music–and tough-guy metal like Nails–has really been working for me in the gym lately. I need rage and speed to get through high-rep sets of squats. I can barely walk right now.

          • Haha, I hear ya man. I don’t listen to Nails though. Although, I do enjoy their first album “Unsilent Death”.

          • I dig “Abandon All Life”.

          • I sure wish this track was longer. It is like a massive cliff hanger.


          • Waynecro

            I wish it didn’t start with a bunch of whispering or whatever. Then I could loop the song in the gym without a fucking lull in the ass kicking.

          • Id take the whipsering for another 60 seconds!

          • Waynecro

            In the gym, I ain’t got time for sounds that aren’t blasting, bro.

          • ““You Will Never Be One Of Us” is about the pain and the pride that goes
            into being involved in hardcore/punk/metal unconditionally…being a
            lifer. It’s a knife to the throat of the people who come and liter their
            bullshit and impose on everyone for their own selfish agenda. It’s for
            everyone who dedicates themselves to their craft…their music…their
            passion…whatever the fuck it is, and seeing someone come along and
            attach themselves to what you do/love and abuse it, with no regard or
            respect for it. This song is not for NAILS, but for all of US.” -Jacob


          • Hans Müller
          • Waynecro

            I’m OK with this.

          • Owlswald

            I think that album would be too much of an audible assault for me to get jacked in the gym. I used to spin Despised Icon and War from a Harlot’s Mouth on the regular due to the breakdown factor. Those albums always got me jacked.

          • Waynecro

            Lately, I’ve needed an aural assault in the gym. I’m going pretty hard these days, and I need the rage boost. Chuggy stuff with a good groove still works for me too, though. Arisen New Era by Kronos is one I play a lot.

          • Waynecro

            Unsilent Death is the shit for sure, but I love a few songs off the new Nails album–they’re an awesome soundtrack for a bit of rage lifting.

          • more beer

            They are sick live.

          • Waynecro

            I’m going to see them with Terrorizer LA, Freedom, and Nomads Wednesday. Ultrapumped!

          • more beer

            You should be. They put on a good show. When I saw them at Denver Black Sky. They had one of the sickest pits I have seen in Denver. The whole place was moving.

          • Waynecro

            I hope I survive. I just want to stand aside and watch the bands play.

          • more beer

            That’s what I do now. Since I am old and don’t bounce back like I used to. By the bar is always a good place to that. Even if you don’t drink.

          • Waynecro

            The show’s at a venue I’m pretty familiar with, so I should be able to find an out-of-the-way spot to stand like I usually do.

          • more beer

            That’s a good thing. Most of the venues here have places separate fro the dancefloor to chill. A couple even have places to sit. Two of my favorite venues even make some kick ass pizza.

          • Waynecro

            This venue is pretty small. I think its max capacity is less than 350 people. I only have problems when the place is packed out the door, at which point the entire place becomes the pit.

          • more beer

            I actually prefer shows in small places like that.

          • Waynecro

            I do too. And I’m happy whenever I go to a venue that has a place for me to sit down.

          • ah yes, back when they allowed any ole’ Joe Hardcore into the band!

          • Hans Müller

            $420? That’s a new one. Boss still bought it, apparently.

          • FUCK! They changed the price. Lame!!!

          • sweetooth0

            they want you to buy vinyl only, not the digital by the looks of it.

          • Where can one pick up the vinyl?

          • sweetooth0

            Looks like Haunted Hotel is putting it out. Not sure if it’s out of the plant yet. The one’s they had for sale when I saw em back in March were test presses. On their website they basically tell you not to donate for the bandcamp

      • That guitar tone is vicious!

      • sweetooth0

        mmm, yes Okus, I remember our discussions about them a while back. GOOD SHIT

    • more beer

      Dude this excellent.

  • I love these Mini Reviews. Don’t stop these, I always find something I like in these posts.

  • Incontinent Gorilla Rodeo

    LMAO @ Whitney Houston’s Crypt! I’d love to hear their version of “Splish Splash I Was Taking A Bath”.

    Too soon?

    • more beer

      The women in the Houston family. Really need to take showers and not baths.

      • Incontinent Gorilla Rodeo

        Who even takes baths past 10 years old, unless you’re living in a third world country?

        • more beer

          Popstars and their daughters. They just can’t get out of the tub. Without the help of the medical examiner.

    • CyberneticOrganism

      I love Michonne

      • Incontinent Gorilla Rodeo

        But, no, that’s the gay guy from True Blood, I think.

  • frozengoatsheadupanunsarse

    I tried Noire earlier this week but wasn’t really feeling it. Will give it another chance based on the thumbs up though. Also looking forward to The Wretched End and Summit and Whitney Houston’s Crypt. Nice reviews all round chaps, even the ones that seem less my cup of tea!

  • Incontinent Gorilla Rodeo

    In other death metal news, Mercyless is back together and got a new album coming out……… thing is though they misspelled the fucking album title (which is supposed to be Pathetic Divinity)!

    And apparently the Pope is googley eyed and drooling all over himself. Did he just have a stroke?

  • Dave Vincent’s Perm

    I wish I knew where to get this patch from

    • Dave Vincent’s Perm

      Of course I forgot to link the fucking thing.

      • sweetooth0

        You could ask UKR Patcher to make you one.

  • Heliocrat

    This shit is pretty,pretty, pretty good:

  • sweetooth0

    Actual Morbid Saint review I just found on Amazon (looking for their vinyl price):

    “Morbid Saint tries really hard to be pantera but it just doesnt quite
    work. I hope phil anselmo never goes to hell because listening to this
    album would probably be how satan tortures him. The bottom line is,
    morbid saint fail”

    Holy shit, “Smart Alex” must be living in some kind of fucked up alternate reality or something.

  • CyberneticOrganism

    Just because I didn’t see any lolbuttz band recs this week: