Exclusive Track Premiere: Lava Invocator – “Dark Thunder Sky”


BREAKING NEWS: Reports are flooding in from all over Ukraine of horrible natural disasters. Earthquakes, inky clouds of acrid smoke and choking ash blotting out the sun, and even rampant wildfires. Details are scarce, but experts now believe that Mörk, the debut album of black metal firebrands Lava Invocator is to blame and… What’s that? Ladies and gentlemen, can you see this? There appears to be a literal RIFF VOLCANO erupting in the middle of the country. We’re going live to the scene now to give you exclusive coverage of the “Dark Thunder Sky.”

Rising from the ashes of Def/Light like some perverse, obsidian phoenix, Ukraine’s Lava Invocator are set to bring the heat. These names may be new to you, but when you press play on the track below, the style will be instantly familiar. Picture if you will a towering black metal volcano spewing forth molten riff after molten riff while Immortal-esque drums and savage vocals batter the landscape like seismic shifts after a major tectonic upheaval. Toss in Drudkh-esque melodies crackling through the corrosive atmosphere like flashes of forked lightning, and you’ve got one hell of a natural disaster and a pretty apt description of our exclusive track “Dark Thunder Sky.”

Perhaps what impresses me most about this song (and the rest of the album, to be honest), is just how distinct and focused it is. While songs like “Dark Thunder Sky” and “Totenkampf” (which you can hear here) certainly offer a whole lot of destruction, what truly makes Mörk as captivating as the reckless thrashing of Mother Earth is the maturity and depth on offer. “Dark Thunder Sky” is loaded with sulfuric riffs, but it also draws heavily from death-n-roll acts like Entombed and melodic death metal statesmen like Amon Amarth to capture a sense of inertia; those molten riff floes are driven by a galloping bass line (prominent throughout all seven tracks) that moves the whole violent expulsion forward. The band even adds slight symphonic hints, juxtaposed against some killer leads, to ensure that nothing is left unburnt. Rarely will you hear prominent solos and gratuitous rhythmic action in black metal, but all of the parts combust and melt together into one undeniable stream of molten fury. Escape is impossible.

Mörk drops on March 27th via Satanath Records. You can pre-order it here. While you’re getting burnt to a crisp, be sure to swing by Facebook to spew some ash the band’s way.

Did you dig this? Take a second to support Toilet ov Hell on Patreon!
  • Señor Jefe El Rossover

    Whoa now! This description is tantalizing as all get out! I will be checking this soon.

    • Sid Vicious Promos

      I’m going to give this song a listen now. I like the description and I enjoy both versions of Entombed and Amon Amarth.

      • Señor Jefe El Rossover

        More focused on the Immortal drums and savage vocals, myself.

        • Sid Vicious Promos

          I listened to the song. I liked the vocals and the guitar work a lot.

          • Señor Jefe El Rossover

            It is a good.

          • Sid Vicious Promos

            It sure is.

        • Immortal doesn’t have drums… just icy RIFFS that slay posers with STEEL!

          • Señor Jefe El Rossover

            But, but, but… Immortal has some of my favorite drumming.

  • Sid Vicious Promos

    This sounds like Entombed and Amon Amarth? That sounds interesting. What album of Entombed would this sound like?

  • ME GORAK™✓ᶜᵃᵛᵉᵐᵃⁿ
  • GL

    Those vocals are savage. Makes my throat hurt just thinking about them!


  • Hans Copronym

    Some of the fills on the toms really sound like the dude is slapping a ham, but otherwise this ain’t bad at all.

    • Rain Poncho W.

      I actually had a very similar thought, but I’m also a known ham-slapping enthusiast.

  • Waynecro

    Thanks for another ripping premiere!

  • OldMetalHead

    Very enjoyable. Thanks!