2015 Second Quarter Review: The Top 5 Albums From Around The Bowl

3776
198
Share:

“Did I request thee, Maker, from my clay
To mould me Man, did I solicit thee
From darkness to promote me?”

John Milton’s Paradise Lost / Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein

We have been down this road before, and the Toilet Ov Hell ain’t playing this year.

Edward

Pyrrhon_GrowthEP-600x600Pyrrhon | Growth Without End
Handshake, Inc. | June 2nd, 2015

On Growth Without End, Pyrrhon filter the vile and menace of The Mother of Virtues through five tracks on an almost punk-like EP. The band traded their exacting writing process for levity. While the nauseating noise rock is still there, extended passages of it have been replaced by sprints of Botch-esque math. The lyrics cover a range of topics through the omnipresent cancerous theme: Alan Turing, mental illness, and how misinformation spreads on the Internet are all present. In fifteen minutes, Pyrrhon have done better than many bands do in their whole careers. The only drawback of Growth Without End is the wait we’ll have to suffer while they write their next leap into the future. Stab here in case you missed Toilet Ov Hell’s interview with vocalist Doug Moore.

___________

blurringBlurring | Blurring
Handshake, Inc. | April 28th, 2015

Celtic Frosty prepped us for Blurring earlier this year, but this isn’t exactly a thing you can be prepared for. Musically, this is blood soaked carnage. It’s pressing your limbs against an industrial sander with diamond grains. It’s being struck over and over and over with canned goods a la Killer Joe – you just want it to end (in the best possible way). Blurring is street level violence, and song titles like “The Devil I Know”, “Rape Van”, and “Uco’s Got A Gun” point at a society completely lost and corrupted. Is it any surprise that a band with members whose pedigrees include Brutal Truth, Anthrax, Saluco, and Sick Of It All would release one of 2015’s filthiest grind records?

___________

genocideshrinesmanipuGenocide Shrines Manipura Imperial Deathevokovil (Scriptures Of Reversed Puraana Dharmurder)
Vault of Dried Bones | March 16th, 2015

Did you miss Simon Phoenix’s brief but stellar review of Genocide Shrines’ latest offering? For shame. I missed this record’s release in March, but it leaped into a place here the first time I played it. If Blurring is street level violence, then Manipura Imperial Deathevokovil is the very essence of violence manifested in reality. A military drum brings anti-Dharmic tidings of war on the intro “Pillar 1 (Deimetrical Satanic Dasayoga)”. Growled vocals come straight from a Sri Lankan purgatory. Respite from the guitar and drum battering comes in the form of audio sampled sexual assault. This is serious shit. As Simon pointed out, this black/death amalgamation is littered with melodies like casualties; for my money, it’s the intro to “Hurl Burning Spears To Exhume The Raavanic Throne Of Sivvhela Retaliation”.

___________

thevomitarsonist_onlyred_webThe Vomit Arsonist | Only Red
Malignant Records | June 17th, 2015

My fandom of The Vomit Arsonist is a product of this very site, and Only Red has been one of my most anticipated albums of 2015. Only Red doesn’t explode so much as it broods. Wanton destruction is replaced with frustration, anxiety, and disappointment. It’s moody and deliberate. A slow steady pace combines with its architect’s psyche laid bare. Only Red’s construction and structure is leaps ahead of most albums in the broad noise family. Everything is tightly controlled, nothing seems missed or out of place. The vocal work is raw and pained. It matches the atmosphere perfectly. I agree with our pal Christian – this is The Vomit Arsonist’s finest moment. You can read his full review of Only Red on the Toilet Ov Hell here.

___________

falseuntitled2015False | Untitled
Gilead Media | June 16th, 2015

What’s in a name? On their new album Untitled, False prefer to let their music do the talking. What they have to say might surprise you: one of the finest black metal records released in 2015 comes from the state of Minnesota. False run through nearly an hour of music in five expansive tracks. The trademarks of black metal are here: lightning fast tremolo picking, blast beats, and almost constant growls from Rachel, the band’s vocalist. False also pile on memorable riffs when they slow things down, but don’t expect them to slow down often. Their playing is complex without ever straying too far from black metal’s orthodoxy. The production here does stand outside tradition. This record is presented masterfully. Each growl, string, drum, and strike on the keys can be heard. Many of my favorite albums this year have been around thirty minutes, or less. Untitled kept me at rapt attention for an hour, and the finale of “Hedgecraft” left me speechless.

Link Leonhart

folderKatatonia – Sanctitude
Kscope – March 30th, 2015

Even when it’s a live recording, Katatonia’s Sanctitude is truly an experience to revive over and over. It’s incredible sensitive, it’s delicate, fragile, yet full of soul. This acoustic side of the band is growing more as a new form of expression to the moving aspect of their music. You don’t hear intromissions here, it’s just the band playing this acoustic set, with the guitars gently moving the breeze, the percussion carrying the heaviness and the shaking sincerity on the voice of Jonas Renkse; all these elements made this a delightful moment.  Colors: blue, black, gray, white.

___________

coverMonolord – Vænir
Riding Easy Records – April 28, 2015

Aside from the devastating production in which the guitars and the bass compliments as bombs of annihilation, I think last Monolord record, Vænir, must be the weird record in the stellar lineup of doom metal this year. Meanwhile the other bands use the usual guideline of esoteric or drug use themes, Monolord brings once again the word Doom into their overall aesthetic. The echoing vocals makes you float in the nothingness, and the gigantic riffing reminds how little we are. The only hope with this post-apocalyptic journey comes in The Cosmic Silence. Colors: black, white, red.

___________

frontGuardians of Time – Rage and Fire
WormHole Death Records – May 11, 2015

The epicness in power metal returns once again to the glory days; this is been a year in which the iconic genre of fantasy shines since centuries of slumber. Norwegian band Guardian of Time carry the torch with the might of Rage and Fire. This is an offering to the speed and the soaring vocals; this is a record for bloodthirst warriors that are guided by honor, yet fight until the end. The drumming in Rage and Fire is superb, it pushes the speed and the punching chorus, guiding the riffs and the solos to victory. A good, pumpíng, energetic album that doesn’t loss the melodies for the sake of speed. Colors: red, burgundy, yellow, green.

___________

coverPyramaze – Disciples of the Sun
Inner Wound Recording – May 26, 2015

In the melodic reflection of the Power Metal a lot of bands are fighting to get recognized. In this case, Pyramaze have a beast that slayed them all with precise songwriting and energetic sentiments called Disciples of the Sun. With a new vocalist, this band is conquering the skies over a exquisite base made of keyboards to paint textures and piercing melodic riffing. Terje’s voice really shines in the catchiness of the elevated choruses (and even in the most aggresive takes) and the band push the uplifting atmosphere acting as an unit prepared to fly away. Colors: orange, yellow, green, white.

___________

Paradise Lost - The Plague Within (2015)Paradise Lost – The Plague Within
Century Media Records – June 1st, 2015

The Shadowkings finally return to their doom coffin. The recent ventures of Old Nick and Greg Mackintosh in the oozing  waters of the death revivalist cults have re-teached them a pair of old tricks. The Plague Within is not an strict doom/death album, it’s a recollection of every organ and flesh that is Paradise Lost. Along the music, the thematic concept on this record is the culmination of the entire career of the english gentlemen: chorus, melodies, sentiment, melancholia, desperation, orchestras; even some light in the darkness based on reconciliation. This is the definite Paradise Lost album. Colors: brown, black, grey, blue.

___________

Fish God (Dagon)

Dopethrone – Hochelaga
Totem Cat Records | April 13, 2015

I’ll go ahead and call this the best stoner sludge release of the year so far. This record is nothing short of spectacular, and is one of those LPs I don’t need to be in the mood for. Whenever I press play, I get in the mood. The strings are gnarly, producing the thickest guitar and bass tone I’ve heard in 2015; despite all the girth and rumbling low end, the higher frequencies shine through in the form of incendiary licks and solos. The vitriolic vocals are as vile as the filthy lyrics. A lot of the violence and negativity in metal music feels contrived or forced. This is not the case here. Listen to “Scum Fuck Blues”. It’s all you need. It takes balls to name your band after Electric Wizard‘s best album, and Dopethrone’s music more than backs it up.

___________

A$AP Rocky – At.Long.Last.A$AP
RCA Records | May 26, 2015

I’ve been following the A$AP crew since the video for Purple Swag dropped four years ago. This year, the most famous member of the crew released the best record of his young career so far. Cohesive in a way that most rap LPs are not, ALLA delivers a wide variety of sounds and emotions connected by overarching themes of lysergic experimentation, love, sex, money and their perils. The best rap to come out in 2015 are all blends of old and new. This album is no different, dichotomic in the sense that what’s old in age is new for Rocky – like the 60s psychedelic music that permeates a lot of ALLA, mashed together with his previous palette of influences, like Houston rap. Any record that features a Pimp C verse is guaranteed to make me smile.

___________

KEN Mode – Success
Season Of Mist | June 16, 2015

Strangely alluring record, this one. Listening to it for the first time made me feel the same way I felt when I first pressed play on My War. Its driving, almost stubborn songs are perfectly coupled with lyrics and vocal delivery filled with some sort of angst or anguish I can only describe as psychiatric. As I type these words I realize that this could have been a terribly annoying record, but thanks to the Steve Albini production and the band’s stellar songwriting it becomes an intense foray into recurring conflicts and feelings of our modern lives. I guess I see bits of myself in Success‘ name, cover and sound. Doesn’t he look on the verge of entering Kill Everyone Now Mode?

___________

High On Fire – Luminiferous
E1 Music | June 16, 2015

Another stellar effort from the High On Fire camp. Everyone and their mother’s are saying this, and I have to agree: this is the most dynamic record the Oakland trio has ever put out, a welcome change of pace for the band and for Kurt Ballou as well. Please, don’t get me wrong. This doesn’t mean HoF has lost its punch nor its heaviness. What it means is that instead of bludgeoning to death at different speeds from start to finish, like De Vermis Mysteriis did, they now lick you up before mauling with fury like a predator savouring a hearty meal. The greatest example of this method comes at the end of the album when the introspective “The Cave” is followed by the title track and “The Lethal Chamber”, two of the hardest hitting tracks in the LP.

___________

Tau Cross – Tau Cross
Relapse Records | May 19, 2015

The world needs anthems. Tau Cross provides plenty in their s/t debut. From the bells that ring on “Lazarus” to the last acoustic plucks of “The Devil Knows His Own”, urgency weighs heavily on every moment of the album. If there was ever a line-up capable of carrying such burden, it’s this. I mean, excuse my Amebix fanboyism but it just feels great to hear The Baron’s gravely voice again. Away (of Voivod) behind the kit definitely does not hurt. Albeit lesser known, both guitarists prove more than capable of hanging around the other guys – the solos are epic and tasteful, the riffs will make you pump your fists as you sing along to the extremely catchy choruses. What more could you ask for?

Simon Phoenix

houseofatreusthespearandtheichorthatfollowsHouse of Atreus | The Spear and the Ichor That Follows
Dark Descent Records | May 5th, 2015

How is it that songs about torture, murder, and overall historical decadence come off as completely upbeat and triumphant? Well, when you’re Minnesota quartet House of Atreus, you have the knowledge of the darker corners of history and the skills to craft the sweet riffs to back it up. One of two bands on this list that made a fantastic EP and have now blown this criminal maniac’s mind with their full-length followup. The first meaty riff that opens “Trenches of Fortune” already lets you know what you’re in for; a record that takes nearly ever melodic death metal record of the past few years and stomps them into the pavement with a refreshing sense of energy and much greater mastery of melodic riffs and solos for days. Two tracks from the demo were rerecorded for this release and of the two “The River Black” shows the band’s exponential improvement in the mixing department. The albums pristine production gives this song a boost in utter menace and makes it the perfect track to close off this nine song riff-fest.

___________

genocideshrinesmanipuGenocide Shrines Manipura Imperial Deathevokovil (Scriptures Of Reversed Puraana Dharmurder)
Vault of Dried Bones | March 16th, 2015

Genocide Shrines. What can I say about this album that I already haven’t in my mini-review? Well other than being one of the most vicious and unrelenting albums I’ve heard in some time, Genocide Shrines have taken the atmosphere they had on their EP and expanded upon it in great numbers here, both in the production and in the songwriting. Diocletian and Sarcocurse expanded upon the war metal template by employing clear production that doesn’t impede on their raw audio violence. Genocide Shrines went in the opposite direction and got even filthier.  You can practically feel the grime seeping into your ears as they are pummeled to nothing. Nowhere is this more evident than mid point 6+ minute track “Hurl Burning Spears To Exhume The Raavanic Throne Of Sivvhela Retaliation”  Even though it crawls at a much slower pace compared to the chaos of the rest of the record, the grime ridden intensity remains the same. In fact the slower tempo that prevails over most of the song allows you to hear the riffs and also allows vocalist Tridenterrorcult to crush your very being. Buy this album now and be consumed.

___________

sacralrageillusionsoftheinfinitevoidSacral Rage | Illusions in Infinite Void
Cruz del Sur Music | March 20th, 2015

The past couple of years have seen a great resurgence in traditional metal played by eager young bucks who have worn out all of their copies of Cirith Ungol’s King of the Dead and can likely play every note off of Melissa with their eyes. Greece’s Sacral Rage have very quickly climbed to the top of the hill of modern Trad-metal goodness. Their infectious blend of hook heavy trad and speed metal is accented with a slight proggy touch that doesn’t come off as hokey or mere showiness. Opener “En Cima Del Mal” fires off with both guns blazing on some speed metal goodness as front-man Dimitris. K screams his heart out about ancient technology and magic, sounding like a cross between John Cyriis and Midnight of Crimson Glory. Then the song slows down for some sweet, spidery chords. The rest of the album follows this pattern sometimes coming with the heaviness (“A Tyrannical Revolt”), other times letting the fret flag fly freely (“Waltz in Madness”). If you are looking for metal that doesn’t rely on blasting endlessly or ridiculous overdone noodling but instead just want to headbang violently, you have many choices to choose from, but I highly recommend putting Illusions in Infinite Void at the top of the list.

___________

embraceofthornsdarknessimpenetrableEmbrace of Thorns | Darkness Impenetrable
Nuclear War Now! | April 30th, 2015

War metal seems to be on a grand up-rise within the past two to three years. While Genocide Shrines goes further into the muck that would make Sacrofago and Revenge proud, Greek quintet Embrace of Thorns follow the path established by the aforementioned Diocletian and Sacrocurse by adding more pristine production and generous helpings of pure creepiness to their template. This combined with a lineup change makes for a slightly different sounding outfit than the one that made Pray for Absolution. The raw goatkulthailsatan mentality still remains, but now there is a more ghastly undercurrent to it. I really can’t imagine a song like “Sons of Fire and Brimstone Levitate” fitting on previous albums, but it works just fine here and has no issue with crushing poser skulls any more than their old songs.  Like with Genocide Shrines, I am eager to see which direction Embrace decides to take war metal with future endeavors, but for now get on this ode to absolute carnage. Side note: Its interesting that two of the bands on my list are not only from Greece but are connected to one another (Embrace drummer Nuctemeron Bestial Ravisher of the Divine Harmony also drums for Sacral Rage.)

___________

shapeofdespairmonotonyfieldsShape of Despair | Monotony Fields
Season of Mist | June 16th, 2015

Talk about out of nowhere. Shape of Despair was the first funeral doom band I ever listened to, and to this day remains my favorite band in the hallowed subgenre. That’s right, I like SoD more than Skepticism, Esoteric, and the like. So when I heard they were finally releasing a new album eleven years after the fantastic Illusion’s Play, I was delighted to the point that I released the rich family that I was holding hostage at the time for millions of dollars with no prejudice. Sitting down and listening to this behemoth, you’ll notice right away that the band hasn’t skipped a beat. The only real difference is that current vocalist Henri Koivula has a deeper more unearthly growl and enunciates less than former front-man Pasi Koskinen. Otherwise it’s every bit as melancholy and crushing as their earlier work, and still has a healthy dose of melody blended into the collection of iron weight level riffs. SoD has always had that balance between absolute nothingness and fleeting hope that helps them stand out from amongst the glut of funeral doom brethren. Part of this is because of the chords; another reason is the haunting wails of Natalie Koskinen that complements Koivula’s roar so well. Great evidence of this can be heard in 10 plus minute opener “Reaching the Innermost” or on personal favorite, the album closer “Written in My Scars” which was expertly re-recorded from the 2011 EP of the same name and brought to absolutely majestic levels with a bigger production and more bells and whistles. Will this top the band’s classic 2001 full-length Angels of Distress? Time will tell, but for now this record shall inhabit my music player for quite some time and needs to be heard by anyone who truly wishes to feel the void.

 Ron Deuce

Czarface | Every Hero Needs A Villain
Brick Records & Fly Casual Creative | June 16, 2015

We told you a couple weeks ago to Get Prep’d for the new Czarface album. If you have reservations about listening to hip hop then cast them aside just this one time and give Every Hero Needs A Villain a spin. MCs Inspecta Deck (of the Wu Tang Clan) and Esoteric do not fall into the stereotypical hip hop trappings. There’s no talk here of dick size, the rims on the cars, sexual escapades with women and how much money they flaunt. What you have here are two rappers just shooting the shit over some phenomenal beats provided by producer 7L. Plainly put, this album is fun. You can get smacked in the face real hard five times and the person who did it still won’t be able to wipe the smile off your face because the enjoyment this album brings is second to none. There’s a ton of samples over the beats that range from wrestlers talking shit to sports commentators to old superhero cartoons that are littered throughout the album’s 15 tracks. Furthermore Inspecta Deck and Esoteric waste no time getting down to business. Instead of running their mouths for the opening of a track, they introduce the beat and get right to it, keeping the song lengths reasonable. The only song that runs long is “Escape From Czarkham Asylum” which is 8+ minutes of Inspecta Deck and Esoteric trading off verses like Jeff Hanneman and Kerry King playing solos while 7L switches up the beats. It’s a tour de force of lyrical word play that is non stop entertainment. And check this list of guest spots – Method Man, Meyhem Lauren, MF Doom, Large Professor, Juju of the Beatnuts, GZA and R.A. The Rugged Man. All of them shine on the tracks they appear on. I’ll ask you again one last time while quoting Dudley Moore from the movie Arthur – “Isn’t fun the best thing to have?” If you are puzzled by what the answer to that question is then just quietly walk away with your head down.

___________

Maruta | Remain Dystopian
Relapse Records | June 2, 2015

To be honest, I wasn’t expecting much from the new Maruta album based on the tracks that were advertised prior to release. I knew it would be good and instead of just being good they made this album a highlight reel of all the things that make them a joy to listen to. When expectations are far exceeded it causes one to take note. This is by far Maruta’s best album as they bombard you with their freshly minted style of skronky death grind. At times they are clearly channeling Discordance Axis‘ The Inalienable Dreamless while simultaneously infusing the catchy riff arrangements that make the Pig Destroyer fans go crazy. And to top it all off, there’s guest appearances from Tomas Lindburg of At The Gates and the aforementioned Pig Destroyer’s J.R. Hayes, who make their presence felt on the tracks they appear on. The dichotomy of the vocal arrangements propel Remain Dystopian to new heights as they seem to know exactly when to abandon death metal growls in favor of high pitched screams. It’s a delicate balancing act that Maruta goes back and forth on without tipping the scales in favor of one side of the seesaw. This one just rips through you like a surgeon’s freshly sharpened scalpel and the cuts are so deep that stitches aren’t enough to sew up the wound.

___________

Faith No More | Sol Invictus
Ipecac Recordings | May 18, 2015

Mike Patton and company return after a seventeen year hiatus to deliver an album that only Faith No More could deliver. This album could’ve followed up 1997’s Album Of The Year a few years later and the result would’ve been the same. And that’s the beauty of a band like FNM, they transcend time because they play in their own sandbox. Their music doesn’t have to cater to current trends, they can just go out there and do their thing. Perhaps the most rewarding aspect of this album is that it doesn’t grab you initially but the more you listen to it, the more it grows on you. Albums that do that tend to have a lasting effect and Sol Invictus is one of those albums. Despite the long wait, I don’t think you’ll find too many FNM fans that would say it wasn’t worth it.

___________

Harms Way | Rust
Deathwish Inc.| March 10, 2015

If the year were to end today, Rust would be the album of the year for me. It’s a near perfect album that is enjoyable throughout with no filler. Sure it’s beatdown hardcore at the heart of it all but there’s enough experimentation and innovation here to take it outside of that realm.The recording is a jaw dropping  achievement in audio as the buzzaw guitars sound like the blades are made of diamonds, the drums and bass fortify a mammoth sounding rhythm section that punches right through you at every turn. The vocal performance seethes with rage and serves to amplify the intense moments that are provided by the supporting cast. There are elements of Godflesh that are used tactfully but never overtake the viciousness that the album prides itself on. Repeated listens reveal clever nuances sprinkled throughout that tie everything together.  For example, the album opener “Infestation” features a chug-style breakdown towards the end of the song. Where most bands would’ve let it play out in typical hardcore fashion, Harms Way choose to add in some clever use of feedback and sound effects to give it some extra flavor. Its attention to detail like this that you’ll hear on every track and it makes for a very gratifying listening experience. Harms Way show you that this is not amateur hour, this here is the work of professionals who have finely honed their craft.

___________

Will HavenOpen The Mind To Discomfort
Artery Recordings | May 19th, 2015

Will Haven get unfairly pigeon holed as a hardcore band quite a bit and while that’s the demographic that typically enjoys them, there’s a fair amount of sludge and some industrial elements within their sound. Open The Mind To Discomfort is an EP that turns out to be a perfect format for Will Haven as their full lengths tend to have some throw away tracks that diminish the quality of their albums. Permeating throughout is a layer of atmospheric fog that hangs around each track that serves as a nice aesthetic to compliment the aggressive nature of the songs.  Although the EP is paced at a rhythmic pounding in which the tempos do not change much, the songs are crafted in a way that steers clear of repetition and keeps you engaged. It’s a difficult balance to pull off yet Will Haven succeed in hypnotizing you into a head nodding trance.



Cover image via

Did you dig this? Take a second to support Toilet ov Hell on Patreon!
  • Celtic Frosty

    Happy birthday, Edward. You’ve earned it!

  • Lisbeth (Tyree) Salander

    Glad that Genocide Shrines album is getting some praise.
    _________________________

    Top 10:

    1. Hæthen – Shaped By Aeolian Winds

    2. Genocide Shrines – Manipura Imperial Deathevokovil (Scriptures Of Reversed Puraana Dharmurder)

    3. Misþyrming – Söngvar elds og óreiðu

    4. Occultus – Nuctemeron

    5. Black Cilice – Mysteries

    6. Desolate Shrine – The Heart of the Netherworld

    7. Invincible Force – Satan Rebellion Metal

    8. Deathhammer – Evil Power

    9. Embrional – The Devil Inside

    10. Hacavitz – Darkness Beyond

    _________________________

    Some other good shit:

    DEVOURING STAR – Through Lung and Heart
    Abominator – Evil Proclaimed
    Nocternity – Harps Of The Ancient Temples
    Goat Semen – Ego Sum Sathana
    Infernal War – Axiom
    Death Karma – The History Of Death & Burial Rituals part
    Bloodlust – Cultus Diaboli
    ARCHGOAT – The Apocalyptic Triumphator
    DOPETHRONE – HOCHELAGA
    Drowning the Light – From the Abyss
    Hic Iacet – The Cosmic Trance Into The Void
    Devouring Star – Through Lung and Heart
    BALMOG – Svmma Fide
    Gonguri / Sithter – Split
    Autokrator – Autokrator
    VOID CEREMONY – Dystheism 7”EP
    ABYSSAL – Antikatastaseis
    Primitive Man – Home is Where the Hatred Is
    Johanna Warren – nūmūn
    SERPENT NOIR – Erotomysticism
    MIDNIGHT ODYSSEY – Shards Of Silver Fade
    GOATBLOOD – Adoration of Blasphemy and War
    Black Candle Ritual – Passages Of Black Devotion
    ANTAGONISTE – The Myth Of Mankind
    ANTINOMIAN – Nihilum Infandum
    Monolord – Vænir
    Deiphago – Into the Eye of Satan
    Serpentrance – The Besieged Sanctum
    Abusiveness – Bramy Nawii
    THE HAUNTING PRESENCE – 2015 MLP
    Marriages – Salome
    DEIVOS – Theodicy
    Truppensturm / Thorybos – Approaching Conflict
    The Kill – Kill Them…All
    Grotesque Organ Defilement – Body Horror
    _________________________

    Hope this was enough bands.

    • It was not enough bands, need more, lets go, hustle.

    • Rob M

      Lots of good stuff here…Going to have to check out that new Hæthen, their Wanderer demo from a few years back was pretty solid

      • Lisbeth (Tyree) Salander

        Yes, it’s much better then their demo. I highly recommend it.

  • Lisbeth (Tyree) Salander

    Wait is that Embrace of Thorns album a 2015 release? I thought it was 2014.

    • Rob M

      It was…but it was only released at NWN fest as a vinyl…I think this is a general release

      • Lisbeth (Tyree) Salander

        No biggie. It rips either way.

        • Rob M

          agreed

    • Lisbeth (Tyree) Salander

      I like to carry some blood in my wallet too.

  • Paddlin’ Rites ov Beargod

    During these past two weeks I’ve discovered and re-discovered so many albums I have no clue anymore as to what is list-worthy and what is not, I give up.

    • Dagon

      True! I was jamming Romantik the other day and wondering why did it slip past me initially.

      • I discovered three great albums right after I did mine – The Armed, Employed To Serve and Mutoid Man. Probably would’ve changed mine up a bit and swapped something out if I had heard them sooner.

        • Dagon

          Those 3 albums you mentioned are REALLY good.

          • All three could wind in the top 10. E2S and Mutoid Man for sure.

          • Dagon

            I feel this way. I always pay very close attention to album openers and closers, and I think “Bridgeburner” is the best album opener this year.

          • Bleeder really grabbed me the first time I heard it. It’s very good from begining to end.

        • Edward/Breegrodamus™

          I finished writing my blurbs a couple of weeks ago (I think) and I would have definitely changed an album or two had I written it yesterday.

  • Great list, folks!

    The following list are stuff I didn’t listened that you pick:

    Ed: I take False.
    Dagy: I take Tau Cross.
    Simon: I take House of Atreus.
    Ron: I take Maruta.

    • Lacertilian

      Simon Pheonix did a nice Get Prep’d for House Of Atreus.

      • Yup, but in that time I listened just one song they posted. They had one available, I mean. I still need to check their full album.

  • Stanley

    False!

    • Lisbeth (Tyree) Salander

      Going?

    • Void Dweller

      Saw False once. They weren’t bad.

    • The W.

      FALSE!

      • Stanley

        The LP packaging for the album is excellent. Only problem is that it’s a double so you have to get up every 10 mins to turn it over. They only have the beige ones left so head on over to eroding winds. It’s a beautiful thing.

        • The W.

          Why must you tempt me so, Stanley.

          • Stanley

            The devil makes work for idle hands, W.

          • The W.

            Did you check out Svarta or Claret Ash yesterday? They seemed like they’d be your speed.

          • Stanley

            Only 3 second cursory listens yesterday. I’ll put them on my list. Ta.

          • The W.

            Huzzah

  • KJM

    My drug-addled list for 2015(so far in no order)

    Acid King – Middle Of Nowhere, Center Of Everywhere
    Monolord – Vaenir
    Ufomammut – Ecate
    John Carpenter – Lost Themes
    ‘Phase IV’ – Soundtrack
    Weedeater – Goliathan
    Dopethrone – Hochelaga
    High On Fire – Luminiferous

    Gotta check out Czarface, looking forward to new Ghost, Purson, maybe Blood Ceremony, maybe Tool.

    • Lisbeth (Tyree) Salander

      Weedeater was a bust for me unfortunately. Dopethrone and Monolord are fantastic doom/sludge albums though.

      • The W.

        Monolord has rightfully gotten tons of praise round these parts.

        • KJM

          It’s top notch Doom with the right amount of Psychedelic. “Vaenir” keeps your interest through the entire album with little(if anything) in the way of slow & tedious parts.

      • KJM

        I’m sure Weedeater’ll get kicked down to “honorable mention” by year’s end, still psyched about seeing them again in August though.

    • RustyShackleford

      This reminds me I’m really curious about that John Carpenter album. Must check that out as well.

      • It’s a great album. It’s one of my favorite non-merol releases this year.

        • KJM

          If you like retro electronic, check out the Phase IV soundtrack on Soundcloud if you can.

          In case you don’t know Phase IV is a sci-fi movie from 1974 with an amazing soundtrack that was never officially released until this year.

          https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bcs3_b3VXSU

      • CyberneticOrganism

        It’s excellent.

    • Dagon

      I didn’t put Acid King in there because I got the promo early this year, so it’s a Q1 album for me.

      Definitely great record.

      • KJM

        My list is overall 2015 w/no regard to quarter/position. It just gets updated every so often.

        • Dagon

          I know, I was just telling you I really really like the new Acid King yet it didn’t make this post.

          It’s up with Saturndust and Elder for Q1 stoner/doom

          • KJM

            I understand. I should give Saturndust and Elder another look. I’m really hoping hoping Acid King tours the Northeast as well.

          • Lacertilian

            Yes, yes you should.

            Especially Saturndust.

    • CyberneticOrganism

      Forgot about the Phase IV soundtrack.

    • Czarface is the album I wish Action Bronson would’ve made. Seriously one of the best pure hip hop albums of the past few years.

  • RustyShackleford

    I’m with our Fishy God friend on Dopethrone and High on Fire. Both those albums are tight! I’ve clearly been missing out on some other good shit though, haven’t heard Tau Cross or Genocide Shrines yet. Gotta catch my slow ass up! Yep.

  • My list so far in no order, just off the top of my head, will undoubtedly change before the end
    Cattle Decapitation-The Anthropocene Exinction
    Embrional-The Devil Inside
    Melechesh-Enki
    Perihelion-Infinite Decay
    Sarpanitum-Blessed Be my Bros
    Pyrrhon-Growth Without End
    Noisem-Blossoming Decay
    Irreversible Mechanism-Infinite Fields
    Hic Iacet-The Cosmic Trance Into the Void
    Between The Buried and Me- Coma Ecliptic

    • RustyShackleford

      No Alkaloid?!

      • There’s only 10 spots…so no

        • Spear

          Cattle Decap isn’t even out yet though.

          • Yea but I have listened to those two songs a fuckton and therefore it qualifies. Also, it’s Cattle Decap. They’re in constant competition with Ne Obliviscaris for the title of my favorite band.

          • Spear

            That’s cool. This is just me defending my turgid, throbbing Alkaloid rager.

          • lol, to be fair I haven’t heard it as much as I should have, mostly just songs on shuffle here and there. Need to listen to the album in full again.

          • Spear

            That and Tempel have been the only things keeping me sane at work the last few days. 4AM shifts are the damned worst.

          • Ugh I remember working the 4am shift at UPS. NEVER AGAIN

          • The W.

            Your triumphant, veiny bastard.

          • Spear

            You can’t ignore my resplendent girth.

          • Did you hear the Terminus Est song? Some of the same members.

          • Spear

            I did! I’m looking forward to that one.

          • I feel like those guys live and breathe tech/prog all day every day

    • Herr Schmitty

      I know that Archspire album came out last year and all, but I’m pretty sure you could find a way to shoehorn it in there somehow.

      • Perihelion is basically this year’s Archspire as far as tech death goes lol

      • TrickleDownOvTacoKvltRiff

        did someone say Fallujah? who?

        • I’ll say it! Can I say it? Will Blackbeard have me flogged?

          • TrickleDownOvTacoKvltRiff

            its a keel haulin for scurvey dogs like you….

          • Trees ‘n Shit is Kvlt O)))

            This is what you get when the Village People combine to form Voltron.

          • TrickleDownOvTacoKvltRiff

            haha yea!

    • Phoenix of the House Tendies

      I would’ve put Blessed be My Brothers and especially Enki on my list, but this is about second quarter releases. I already technically cheated with two of my entries.

      • CT-12

        Nice list man! I literally just got that Crossing the Thrashold submitted (sorry I took so long, got caught up in other writings and excusatory bullshit), hopefully convert some others on here to Sacral Rage. Probably my favorite album of this year.

  • The W.

    Great stuff here, gents. Of the albums listed, the ones that are really tickling my pickle include: Blurring Genocide Shrines, False, and High on Fire.

    • Edward/Breegrodamus™

      Your taste is flame.

  • Rob M

    Gah..So many I could list, heres the first 10 I thought of:

    Osculum Infame – The Axis of Blood
    Mefitic – Woes of Mortal Devotion
    Katavasia – Sacrilegious Testament
    Enforcer – From Beyond
    Murg – Varg & Björn
    Aegrus – Devotion for the Devil
    Abyssal – Antikatastaseis
    Amputory – Ode to Gore
    Blaze of Perdition – Near Death Revelations
    Oshiego – Crossing the Bridge of Siraat

    • Lisbeth (Tyree) Salander

      A lot of people have been talking about that Murg album. I still need to give a listen. I got that Abyssal CD in the mail the other week, shit is sick but I have not stuck it into my best of list yet. I need to listen to that Osculum Infame as well. Nice list dude!

      • The W.

        Abyssal has been a constant rotation for me lately.

        • Rob M

          Agreed…that albums a monster

          • The W.

            I’m playing my list close to my chest (because I like the mystery), but that album very well might be on it.

      • Rob M

        Thanks man..yeah Id definitely check out both Murg and Osculum Infame when you get a chance…really solid releases

    • Lisbeth (Tyree) Salander

      Also, check out Occultus if you have not.

      https://nachtgnosis.bandcamp.com/album/nuctemeron

    • Phoenix of the House Tendies

      Backed on Osheigo. I didn’t think they could top Grand Architect of Nothing but they did. So brutal. Especially that Master cover.

    • Stanley

      I want to get that Blaze of Perdition but I’m a bit a of a tiff with Agonia at the moment so we’ll see how that pans out before I get it.

  • Guacamole Jim

    That High on Fire is my jam. I’ve been rocking it a ton. I’m going to go back through all the albums here to make sure I haven’t missed anything, though. If the ToH authors recommend these above the others, then I know they’re damn good.

    • Guacamole Jim

      For anyone who’s interested in some not-very-metal-at-all (but still manages to feature Fredrich Thorendal and Devin Townsend) stuff that W. talked about before, check out the Morgan Agren album, Batterie Deluxe.

      https://morganagren.bandcamp.com/track/f-files

  • Hubert

    Please take into account that I haven’t thought about my list before now, anyway, here are some of my favourites.

    5. Imperial Triumphant – Abyssal Gods
    Best SKRONK of the year for me. Filthy, messy sound that sounds pretty different from other Dissonant bands today. The filth here is less ‘sewery’ and more ‘garbage disposal’, if that makes sense
    4. KEN Mode – Succes
    This new sound works great for KEN Mode. The album is harsh and violent, but also kind of cheerful in a weird way. Best cover art of the year as well.
    3. Monolord – Vaenir
    RIFFS
    2. Leviathan – Scar Sighted
    This album feels so complete, so whole. Every single thing is placed perfectly and precisely where it needs to be. There’s so much variety in here making every moment stand out. Some of the best songwriting I’ve heard in metal.
    1. A swarm of the Sun – The Rifts
    https://youtu.be/EiTowCuwF-E?t=7m9s

  • Nocleansinging just premiered a new Rivers of Nihil song, that will likely make my top ten if the two songs so far are any indication.

  • Dagon

    This is huge and awesome. I have a TON of catching up to do. Cool that we all have different tastes. Congratulations to everyone involved.

    And happy birthday, Ed! you’re the man!

  • My full list of records that I enjoyed this year is in my list on RateYourMusic. I still have plenty of music here that I need to listen, so this is ever evolving 🙂 Cheers on, friends!

    https://rateyourmusic.com/list/Linkleonhart/my_favorite_2015_albums/

    • Dagon

      I know Randall uses this too. I made an account but never got started.

      • Yeah, he showed that network to me. Beargod is there too. It’s pretty cool, I’m being using it a lot lately to organize my stuff and see the profiles and reviews of the bands and artists I like. Pretty cool.

  • Spear

    I hadn’t really given High on Fire much of a listen until recently, but Luminiferous >>>>>>>>

  • CyberneticOrganism

    Gawddamn this is a lot of music!

  • Trees ‘n Shit is Kvlt O)))

    I am very disappointed in the lack of trees ‘n shit in your list, Link Leonhart I

    http://replygif.net/i/256.gif

    • Stanley

      There’s a lack of BM altogether. Needs more Satan.

      • Trees ‘n Shit is Kvlt O)))

        I hear @tyreegearhart:disqus might be bringing him back.

      • So sorry that I’m not a satanic priest like Taylor Swift 🙁

        http://s22.postimg.org/6xr0u7ott/enhanced_buzz_19305_1368198286_17.jpg

        • Stanley

          I was referring to all the “bests”, Link, not yours specifically.

          This is what I posted a week or two ago, but it’s changing.

          Death Karma – The History Of Death & Burial Rituals part I
          A Forest Of Stars – Beware The Sword You Cannot See
          Invincible Force – Satan Rebellion Metal
          Exgenesis – Aphotic Veil
          Vallendusk – Homeward Path
          Pale Chalice – Negate the Infinite and Miraculous
          Haethen – Shaped By Aeolian Winds
          Deathhammer – Evil Power
          Infernal War – Axiom
          False – Untitled

          ——————-

          Abominator – Evil Proclaimed
          Obsequiae – Aria Of Vernal Tombs
          Nocternity – Harps Of The Ancient Temples
          Embrional – The Devil Inside
          Goat Semen – Ego Sum Sathana

          • From your list I’ve listened A Forest of Stars, Exgenesis and Haethen. Also Nocternity and Obsequiae.

            Good stuff, Stanley!

          • Stanley

            Bloodlust (thanks Tyree) and Misþyrming are working their way up the list.

          • I listened Mispyrming too. Just not my thing, but they’re very good.

          • Lisbeth (Tyree) Salander
    • Jajajaja, it’s just that I grab Haethen and Obsequiae very late; need to spin it more to include them in my lists.

      • Trees ‘n Shit is Kvlt O)))

        Get on that Downfall of Nur, too.

        • The W.

          Backed. You’ve really been getting me with your recs lately.

        • Checking this. The vocals are very high.

          https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ilW7uM2AJVI

          • The W.

            10 screech owls/10

        • Sorry, Paggli; I pass on this. I gave the mandatory listen, so I still thank you a lot!

          • Trees ‘n Shit is Kvlt O)))

            I haz a sad.

          • Sorry, Paggli 🙁 Not your fault, don’t be sad. I still thank you for your recommendation and I gave a full listen to the song.

          • I’m In Love With Tha DooDoo

            Awwwwwwwwww, cheer up, Ghaal!

  • HessianHunter

    I was not really feeling the Tau Cross album until I gave it another chance just now, thanks to @dagonthefishgod:disqus. Thinking in the context of “post-punk made by crusty kids” helps me make sense of the sound.

    • Dagon

      I have a soft spot for all things crusty, and am a big Amebix fanboy.

      The album kinda loses its steam because the songs get slower towards the end, but I like it a lot.

  • Celtic Frosty

    I tweeted my list of best albums so far (1st and 2nd qtr), but I’ll list them here as well

    ABYSSAL – Antikatastaseis
    AKHLYS – The Dreaming I
    BELL WITCH – Four Phantoms
    CHAOTORYNTH – Axiomatic Limitation
    CLOUDS COLLIDE – All Things Shining
    COLISEUM – Anxiety’s Kiss
    DEATH KARMA – The History Of Death & Burial Rituals part I
    ELDER – Lore
    ETHEREAL SHROUD – They Became the Falling Ash
    FALSE – Untitled (2015)
    Hæthen – Shaped By Aeolian Winds
    HIGH ON FIRE – Luminiferous
    LEVIATHAN – Scar Sighted
    NAPALM DEATH – Apex Predator – Easy Meat
    OBSEQUIAE – Aria of Vernal Tombs
    SARPANITUM – Blessed Be My Brothers
    TEMPEL – The Moon Lit Our Path
    VATTNET VISKAR – Settler
    VIOLET COLD – Desperate Dreams
    VOLAHN – Ab’Aq’Al

  • tertius_decimus

    Arcturus – Arcturian
    Tempel – The Moon Lit Our Path
    Abyssal – Antikatastaseis
    Dystopia Nå! – Dweller on the Threshold

    My favorite releases so far. Right in that order.

    • Need to check that Arcturus.

      • tertius_decimus

        Are you familiar with their previous works?

        • Nop. First time listening, but the promo they gave was good, to me.

          • tertius_decimus

            Well, then I won’t start spoilering from “been there – done that” standpoint. It is very unusual stuff even if we take into account the fact that Arcturus always were experimental. Just take a listen. 🙂

          • I’m In Love With Tha DooDoo

            Not on their first CD, they weren’t.

          • tertius_decimus

            Right.

          • I’m In Love With Tha DooDoo

            Arcturus is fucking incredible. First CD is straight up symphonic metal, then they went more and more experimental. ‘Sideshow Symphonies’ is awesome, but barely has any metal parts on it.

            https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QBzVeWgyrDw
            https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4pK1Os14rVg

      • I’m In Love With Tha DooDoo

        Same here.

    • Surprised Abyssal wasn’t mentioned in the article.

      • Lisbeth (Tyree) Salander

        It’s still a bit fresh.

      • tertius_decimus

        Nevermind. Guess, like last year’s ToH-overall favorite “Labyrinth Constellation”, “Antikatastaseis” will be top pick in most album of the year charts.

      • TrickleDownOvTacoKvltRiff

        abysmal?

      • Edward/Breegrodamus™

        I heard it after I finished my picks, lol

  • tertius_decimus

    My most anticipated album this year is new Madder Mortem release. By few samples on their FB page it sounds very promising. I love Agnete’s voice.

    The most disappointing album came from… drum roll… Solefald. How these talented Norwegians managed to write such a lackluster shit is beyond me. Even more so if we take into account how incredible “Norrøn Livskunst” was. Since its inception it is on constant rotation in my playlist.

    • Le Tapir The Based

      I liked Solefald’s new album 🙁

      • tertius_decimus

        о_О

      • Hey me too, but it is pretty goofy and I wouldn’t knock anyone for hating it. The Kosmopolis Nord ep was pretty shitty, though.

    • I’m In Love With Tha DooDoo

      Madder Mortem is a name I haven’t heard in forever.

      • tertius_decimus

        If we could swap layers like in Photoshop, I’d switch off almost all vocal lines in music. Vocal as a concept and as an instrument isn’t my cup of tea, I don’t wanna textual connotation for the soundstream. But Agnete’s voice is so powerful, that I can listen to it any day. Dare to say it: the best female vocal in metal ever.

        • I’m In Love With Tha DooDoo

          I’d be hard pressed to say who the best female metal vocalist ever would be. The singer for Arkona is definitely up there. And this chick is definitely a top contender:

          https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e91SnsQS1O8

          And wowee is she hot!

    • Lacertilian

      Hey Tertius, while I got you here, I heard an album from a Ukrainian band today called Raventale that was interesting. Are they popular over there?
      https://raventale.bandcamp.com/album/transcendence

      I ask here because I’m not sure if you’re on the FB group.

      • tertius_decimus

        Interesting question. Given the state of economy in the country, there’s no such a thing like popularity in Ukraine (let me exclude the band Океан Ельзи from here, ok?). Gone are the days when people could purchase anything they wish and given that we have pretty much the cheapest internet connection in the world, nobody buys anything. Even the concerts are now heck of a rarity. Ukraine is still one of the most metal countries in the world, there just ZERO evidence in the street for that fact. Trust me, almost every third bystander in the street is a latent metalhead. Nobody shows it. And social media that were intended to make people “connected” have made them more disconnected than ever. Even talks about music ceased to exist, so it’s impossible to tell if some band is popular or not. I guess, nobody knows here who the Raventale are, me neither. Only bands like Khors, Drudkh, Kroda and Nokturnal Mortum are still receiveng well-deserved recognition thanks to historical legacy. If some band as great as Nokturnal Mortum could appear today, it could be too difficult for them to became known by more than 20 listeners or so.

        • Lacertilian

          Thanks for the insight man, that is kinda cool that metal is prevalent but still sucks about the lack of community. At least you have us degenerate bowl-dwellers to convene with.

          • tertius_decimus

            I am hungry for sharing opinions on music no matter how biased they are. For me, there’s no such thing as “objectiveness”, I honestly don’t believe that some man no matter whether he came or who he is can get into every kind of music. Humans have limited mind, me included. So why bother trying to show how “smart” we are when we aren’t? That’s why I love strong, biased, one-sided reviews the most. They’re honest at least.

          • Lacertilian

            I’ve tried to be objective as much as possible in my reviews but it is much more difficult to engage the reader if you merely describe the thing in question. People like to make their own judgement so sometimes it is best to just sit back a little and let the audience do their own thing.
            Most of the authors here are adept at balancing opinion with non-partisan views which is no mean feat.

  • I’ve been listening to Scrotal Rage every day for the past month. Thanks, Simon Phoenix!

  • sweetooth0

    FUCK, Blurring!! Man this shit is AWESOME!

    • The W.

      It’s got Dan Lilker. How could it not be?

      • Lisbeth (Tyree) Salander

        Mr. Pizza and beer diet guy.

        Dude is so metal.

        • The W.

          Tyree, am I crazy for preferring a coke than a beer with my pizza?

          • Lisbeth (Tyree) Salander

            Nope. Every once in a while I still crave that combo during lunch time or something. Most times I eat pizza during dinner time though, so I tend to be drinking beer by that time any ways. I don’t buy soda as well.

          • I’m In Love With Tha DooDoo

            No, because you’re supposed to get drunk, THEN eat.

      • sweetooth0

        Only heard one band I found dissapointing with him involved and that is Nunfuckritual. I picked it up when I say Mayhem and it was pretty blah.

  • JamesGrimm

    Black crown initiate, tempel, Archspire, insiomnium, wolfheart, ringworm

  • EsusMoose

    I’ve posted my list once or thrice already so I’ll post ones that have a chance to be added and are fighting the good fight.
    The Armed-Untitled
    Employed to Serve-Greyer than you Remember
    BTBAM-Coma land
    Leprous-The congregation
    Antagoniste-Myth of Mankind

  • Kevin Nash & Friends

    My top 5.

    1. High On Fire-Luminiferous

    2. Tutu-XIV

    3. Turnstile-Nonstop Feeling

    4. Paradise Lost-The Plague Wuthin

    5. Goblin Reborn

    • Lisbeth (Tyree) Salander
      • Lisbeth (Tyree) Salander

        I wonder. Do they bless the rains down in Africa.

        https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FTQbiNvZqaY

        • KJM

          I thought they were Russian schoolgirl lesbians.

          https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nZnYHP8551E

          • Lisbeth (Tyree) Salander

            WOOOOWWWW.

          • KJM

            You know it.

          • Rob M

            Russian schoolgirl pretend lesbians..the jig was up when the dark haired one got knocked up

          • I’m In Love With Tha DooDoo

            They may have been pretend lesbians, but damn if they didn’t give me many mighty boners in high school!

          • KJM

            Professional lesbians, even.

          • tertius_decimus

            Back in the day they were laughable in CIS-countries. Everyone was speaking about them with “WTF?” stance. So, it’s not surprising they became famous in Japan.

          • I’m In Love With Tha DooDoo

            For a teenage kid here in America, who didn’t have free internet porn, it was a godsend!

        • I’m In Love With Tha DooDoo

          Fergie Fredriksen, their former singer, put out a fucking AMAZING cd right before he died. It was pretty much his goodbye note to his kids and the world.

          https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uOQo0lQtDlw

      • Kevin Nash & Friends

        Yes. It was a damn good album and it towed the line as well as holding it.

    • Let’s see your REAL top 5 now…

      • Kevin Nash & Friends

        Jimmy plz! This is my real top 5!

      • I’m In Love With Tha DooDoo

        All 5 albums on Jimmy’s list:

        Five Finger Death Punch – ‘I Got Your Six’ (times five)

  • OldMetalHead

    I bought the Dopethrone and the Monolord because of this website right cher.

  • JW(E)G

    I really haven’t allowed the TovH to expand my Bandcamp (or physical) collection to anywhere near the degree it did in the second half of 2014. As consequence my list from Bandcamp is literally just the only 3 eligible albums I purchased, meaning I had to include two EPs to get up to 5:

    1. Shooting Guns: WOLFCOP Soundtrack + Barnburner/Doomlight Desires 7″
    2. Harrow: Fallow Fields (hon. mention: ‘The River’ EP)
    3. HIVE – Elpis
    4. Psychedelic Witchcraft – Black magic Man (EP)
    5. Watchtower – Radiant Moon (EP)

    As for physical albums, I count a dozen. Top 5 from that (unordered deliberately):

    – Melechesh: Enki
    – Cancer Bats: Searching for Zero
    – Napalm Death: Apex Predator – Easy Meat
    – Minsk: The Crash and the Draw
    – Sirenia: The Seventh Life Path

  • Stockhausen

    I’ll be honest guys, my metal listening has been seriously slacking for the past couple weeks. This is the cocaine snort I needed.

  • So far for me it’d be:
    Visigoth – The Revenant King
    Grusome – Savage Lands
    Blind Guardian – Beyond the Red Mirror
    Enforcer – From Beyond
    Ereb Altor – Nattramn
    Wiegedood – De Doden Hebben Het Goed
    Night Demon – Curse of the Damned
    Ghost Bath – Moonlover
    Carach Angren – This Is No Fairytale
    An Autumn for Crippled Children – The Long Goodbye

    There are still roughly 30-40 albums I need to listen to including Paradise Lost, Cut Up, Entrails, Feral, Jungle Rot, Noisem, Sulphur Aeon (I’ve listened to this one but I was half deaf at the time), Civil War, Luca Turilli’s Rhapsody, Unleash the Archers, Between the Buried and Me, Leprous, and a ton of others. There are also about 30 albums on my upcoming list.

  • I’m In Love With Tha DooDoo

    Melechesh – ‘Enki’
    Angra – ‘Secret Garden’ (of course!)
    Virgin Steele – “Nocturnes of Hellfire & Damnation”
    She Past Away – “Narin Yalnızlık”
    Krisiun – ‘Forged In Fury’ (I know it hasn’t come out yet, but fuck it, IT’S MOTHERFUCKIN’ KRISIUN!!!!!!!!!!!)

  • john

    I dig Link’s list, certainly. Mine own:

    Visigoth – Revenant King
    Angelus Apatrida – Hidden Evolution
    Byzantine – To Release Is To Resolve
    Enforcer – From Beyond
    Heathen Foray – Into Battle
    Khemmis – Absolution
    Sylosis – Dormant Heart

    • I’m In Love With Tha DooDoo

      Lervs me some Visigoth!