2015 First Quarter Review: The Top 5 Albums From Around The Bowl

3937
313
Share:

2015 is already shaping up to compete with the absurd amount of quality released over the last two years. Edward, the last two years were crazy with new releases! I know, guys. I was looking at my chicken scratching blogger notes the other day and it occurred to me I could fill a respectable EOTY list with my favorites so far this year. I’ve spent time with albums from Death Karma, Thou/The Body, Sewer Goddess, Sarpanitum, Grunt, Kendrick Lamar, Mastery, Caina, and that’s only the tip of the iceberg. We found out Ghost Bath are actually white dudes from North Dakota, which sparked an interesting discussion of the merits of music standing alone and anonymity in a digital age. I’ll admit they sound a little ridiculous in interviews, but I actually enjoyed that illumination (because comedy), and Moonlover is a solid album regardless of the band’s origin or story.

I recruited Christian, Bear God, and Jack Bauer to help me determine the best releases of 2015, so far. Let’s move on to the lists, before things gets too masturbatory. Too late, Edward, you really missed the boat on that.

Edward’s Best Albums of 2015 (So Far)

napalm deathNapalm Death | Apex Predator – Easy Meat
Century Media | January 23rd, 2015

We live in a time when albums named Grindcore come out with regularity. With the assistance of Toilet Ov Hell brainiac Dubya, I reviewed Apex Predator – Subway’s Five Dollar Footlongs and declared it unflushable. Bear God later declared it was somewhat flushable. What’s the verdict? From its militaristic opening salvo, through forward leaning grind/thrash tracks, and fantastic singles like “How The Years Condemn”, Napalm Death are still showing young grind bands how to grind for life. In a time when our “favorites” are touted and promptly forgotten under next year’s or next week’s releases, Apex Predator is an album we should look back fondly for some time.

____________

primtivemanhomeiswherePrimitive Man | Home Is Where The Hatred Is
Relapse Records | February 17th, 2015

Edward, an EP, are you being serious right now? Chill out cousin, this happens to be thirty one minutes long. On Home Is Where The Hatred Is, Primitive Man march forward with the sound they delivered on 2013’s excellent Scorn. Their sound is hatred distilled into aural blackened doom. Heavy and unforgiving are words thrown with abandon by heavy metal bloggers, but you’d be hard pressed to find albums that better describe heavy, unforgiving, and hateful than this one. Home Is Where The Hatred Is was even the focus of a No Clean Singing article asking why we like such disgusting music. The music is helped even further by Ethan Lee McCarthy, one of the most ferocious vocalists this side of Pyrrhon’s Doug Moore. If you are looking for progression or variety, keep moving. If you like pressing your ears against industrial sanders, look no further than Home Is Where The Hatred Is.

____________

imperialtriumphantabyssalgodsImperial Triumphant | Abyssal Gods
Aural Music | March 1st, 2015

Look, I’m not here to keep beating your nuts in about whether or not this is a black metal band. There’s at least one other genius on the internet that understands my position. Imperial Triumphant achieved no small feat from being a blip on the radar of my consciousness to releasing one of my favorite albums of the year so far. Abyssal Gods is harrowing, surreal, brutal, and mesmerizing. Like Pyrrhon’s brother from another Mother of Virtues, Imperial Triumphant play on the death-rock-noise-skronk sound but in their own way. Both albums even follow a similar format, from intense blasting openers to long unnerving finales (in the case of Abyssal Gods it’s the last three tracks). Imperial Triumphant make use of complicated time signatures, vastly technical playing, and a well structured format between loud and quiet moments. The metal blog world collectively fawned over this album. I’m normally skeptical of such united praise in the ubiquitous world of heavy metal criticism, but Imperial Triumphant earned it by delivering what is easily their best album yet.

____________

leviathanscarsightedLeviathan | Scar Sighted
Profound Lore Records | March 3rd, 2015

Scar Sighted was previously reviewed at the Toilet Ov Hell. While Christian focused on the music contained on the album (novel concept), it is worth noting that Jef Whitehead is one of USBM’s reigning patriarchs. Leviathan began releasing music at about the same time as Weakling released their seminal Dead as Dreams, and a few years before bands like Cobalt or Wolves in the Throne Room began making waves with heavy metal critics. Whitehead has released music under other aliases as well, collaborated with musicians in and out of black metal, and played with supergroup Twilight. Scar Sighted finds Leviathan in peak form. This album is expansive, haunting, and smart. While Christian and many members of our community praised the album’s second half, “Dawn Vibration” just might be my favorite track on there. In a year with several stellar black metal releases (some mentioned above), Scar Sighted just might hold this genre’s dark throne in 2015.

____________

jenny-death-coverDeath Grips | Jenny Death
Harvest | March 31st, 2015 (official)

I fucking love Death Grips. As much an ongoing piece of performance art as a musical act, they are a product of the internet and a strange reflection of the times we live in. Musically they fall somewhere between eclectic rap and ignorant rap, electronica, and many have drawn comparisons to heavy metal and punk for their intense live performances and the often shouted lyrics of MC Ride. They have simultaneously generated a fervent fanbase and frustrated many of those fans by cancelling major performances, no shows at scheduled concerts, and “breaking up” at the peak of their popularity. They got dropped from Epic Records for leaking their own music and releasing confidential correspondences between both parties. The cover of No Love Deep Web is simply the album title drawn with sharpie on Zach Hill’s erect penis. Jenny Death, the long awaited second half of The Powers That B was released by the Grips on March 19th to combat a leak of the album. The music here ranges from lightning fast breakbeats, Daft Punk-esque dance tracks, beats that remind me of El-P’s Cancer 4 Cure, and the guitar driven “On GP”. If you think Death Grips are outside of your wheelhouse, think again. They’ve released one of the best albums in 2015 so far in any genre. They’ve also announced a national tour – the first leg of an international tour in support of The Powers That B. I got my tickets the moment they went on sale. I can only hope the Grips show.

deathgripstour


Christian’s Best Albums of 2015 (So Far)

Björk_-_Vulnicura_(Official_Album_Cover)Bjork | Vulnicura
One Little Indian / Megaforce Records | January 20th, 2015

In a lot of ways, Björk’s ninth album is the one at which her entire career has hinted. Debut and Post infused trip-hop with a dark, industrial character, but it was Homogenic and Medúlla that saw the creation of an entirely new sound. These early experiments were fruitful yet not without fault, but everything is made right on Vulnicura. The entirety of the album’s instrumentation (flawlessly produced by by The Haxan Cloak and Arca) is a combination of Arvo Pärt-esque string arrangements and glitchy percussion straight out of mid-period Autechre, all framed by Björk’s more-fragile-than-ever voice.

____________

mispyMisþyrming | Söngvar elds og óreiðu
Terratur Possessions / Fallen Empire Records
February 7th, 2015

“Sentimental” may seem like the last adjective one would apply to this young Icelandic band, but it is perhaps the most accurate. Beneath its destructive sheen of black metal fury lies one of the most emotionally stirring albums released thus far in this year (young as it may be). The way Misþyrming incorporate bright, hopeful melodies into their twisted riffs immediately calls to mind Deathspell Omega or labelmates and countrymen Svartidauði, but the youthful energy the band brings to the style is nothing if not a breath of fresh air, tempered evenly by the sophistication of the songwriting.

____________

masteryvalisMastery | VALIS
The Flenser | February 13th, 2015

It may sound strange, but the closest thing to which I can compare Mastery’s debut full-length is Revenge or Teitanblood’s Death. While the two camps may seem thematically opposing, both create dark, practically riff-less sheets of black metal-ish noise intent only on bewildering and pulverizing the listener. Each band composes its assault from layers upon layers of swirling guitars untethered by any kind of logic or structure. VALIS is already on a completely different plane than Mastery’s previous splits with Palace of Worms and Skullflower, and where mainman Ephemeral Domignostika will take the project next is anyone’s guess.

____________

devouringstarthroughlungandheartDevouring Star | Through Lung and Heart
Daemon Worship Productions | February 9th, 2015

The massive groaning and straining sounds of Devouring Star’s first album have less in common with black metal tradition and more to do with the buckling collapse of a suspension bridge. Monolithic guitars and monstrous vocals alternate between battling each other and twisting together over frantic blast beats, threatening to come apart at any minute but never going all the way. In a way, this is Through Lung and Heart’s downfall; the album comes so close to the edge but always reins itself in, refusing the listener the pleasure of hearing the proceedings devolve into complete chaos before pulling things back together.

____________

scabsoundsfromthesewerScab | Sounds From The Sewer
Listenable Insanity Records | March 13th, 2015

I’m just gonna say it: Scab are the best young grind band out there right now. They should be inducted into the Grind Hall of Fame right between Repulsion and Terrorizer just for the sheer range of sounds they pull off on Sounds from the Sewer, from pitch-shifted goregrind to crusty d-beat to crushing death metal riffs and even some quasi-black metal moments. Sounds from the Sewer is the duo’s third full-length in two years and they show no signs of slowing their pace. The rest of the world is in for a treat once they catch up.


Bear God’s Best Albums of 2015 (So Far)

Tähtiportti STTähtiportti | Tähtiportti [S/T]
Svart Records | March 9th, 2015

I can’t help but to offer this again. The hat-trick that marks the ending of this debut album alone is so marvelous I’d need to write of this a thousand times and then a thousand times more. But honestly, even if the songs that come before may not be as brilliant what would an album be if I had to wade through half-an-hour of crap to get to the good stuff? A bad album and that is what this is not. Techno backbeats, at times a glacial pace, at times swirling into cosmic madness. The rhythmic chanting on top conveying stories of all things orgasmic (srs, these lyrics are porn). The dance-ability of the (early) tracks keeps you content while you wait for the explosion. Do NOT miss this album or at least give Luciferin Pylväs a chance (a delight to notice how well the recently discussed classic album track-order applies to this).

____________

CMX_-_MesmeriaCMX | Mesmeria
Ratas Music Group | January 30th, 2015

I had written a blurb about Sarpanitum for this thing here, but having read the recent review I decided I needed to write about something else. So I started thinking what album could I put here. I had practically already forgotten about Mesmeria and I assure you it stands here because of it’s own merits, not because I needed to fill blank space. CMX has been through a lot, starting out as an HC band and turning towards a more rock oriented approach before going prog. Mesmeria has hints of everything CMX has done. While “Mestarirakentaja” flirts with the HC-roots, “Ojai” strikes as a slow acoustic, string-laden ballad. The more pop-oriented approach of Iäti and the riff-rock of Seitsentahokas (the two closest predecessors) has not been left completely behind either as “Rakkaudessa ja Sodassa” and “Hyperborea” exhibit. Mesmeria is also the first time on this century most people will actually understand what A.W.Yrjänä is saying (not you though). In fact Mesmeria feels like a summary of CMX. A great album to start with.

____________

exgenesisaphoticveilExgenesis | Aphotic Veil
Naturmacht Productions | January 25th, 2015

I’m not quite sure why, but I don’t want to like this album. But the fact is that no other albums has drawn me in as many times as Aphotic Veil. It starts as a menacing slab of doom, emanating a very sinister and dark aura. It doesn’t take long for the magnificent melodic work and mix of growls and shrieks to carry the album towards faster territories. Yet throughout it’s rather short duration (five songs between four and seven minutes) sinister remains the word most describing. There’s also a certain sense of calmness, as if you were trapped in the hands of a serial killer. But not a psychopath, instead a hired one. “I have killed 17 people this week and you’re about to join them, but don’t worry this won’t hurt.” As if such killing spree was casual. Maybe it’s because even when Aphotic Veil goes blasty on “Futile Horizon” there are relaxed clean vocals on top of it (the only cleans on the album and it’s as much humming as singing). This album has everything, doom, atmosphere, death and melodies.

____________

aforestofstarsbewaretheswordA Forest Of Stars | Beware The Sword You Cannot See
Lupus Lounge | February 27th, 2015

This is a bad time to write a list of my favorite albums, because I’ve already discarded many of my early favorites and many are still unreleased. Although I believe similar problems would plague any given time. Again I had decided to write about another album (Mastery’s VALIS) when I realized two things: 1) I couldn’t get anything coherent about it done and 2) I had almost forgotten AFoS’ latest effort. It’s a little hard to put AFoS on the map. Their sound is based on black metal but there’s a lot of folky sections and the songs are usually ruled by violin instead of guitar and there’s a certain sense of otherness about it. The opener “Drawing Down The Rain“, which doubles as one of the albums best songs, takes all the elements one expects to find on AFoS’ album and harkens back more than the following material. BTSYCS continues the trend of shorter songs and instead of offering any epics as they are the band has decided to break “Pawn On The Universal Chessboard” down to six parts. It’s as if Beware The Sword You Cannot See was some theatrical groups version of black metal. The feeling is stronger now than ever before as AFoS has added a lot of spoken word sections and toned down the violin (it still leads and rules this kingdom) a little.

____________

gruntmythofbloodGrunt | Myth of Blood
Freak Animal Records | March 15th, 2015

Mikko Aspa (half of the readers just fled). Truth be told I haven’t listened to Myth of Blood more than a couple of times yet. As Grunt has never aimed to make PExxx or noise or in general to belong to any scene, there’s a variety of music to be heard here. But for the average Joe, ’tis noise. It’s very harsh or offensive kind of noise but an easily approachable one. There are even vocals for you to latch onto (s/o Edward). Myth of Blood takes it’s place as a continuation of World Draped In A Camouflage, naturally. Look, I haven’t given this much time and I don’t know whether this will stay in my short list of greatest releases of 2015 for long but right now it hits the spot. Plus I really don’t know what to say from this kind of an album. You might as well listen to it here for yourself if you care for this kind of music.


Jack Bauer’s Best Albums of 2015 (So Far)

melecheshenkicover_638Melechesh | Enki
Nuclear Blast | February 27th, 2015

I love this album, it took me totally by surprise as I had never even heard of Melechesh before they started streaming the album. It’s fucking fantastic death/thrash with a hint of black and the production is 100% percent perfect. If you like riffs, you like Melechesh, simple as that.

____________

alkaloidmalkuthgrimoire Alkaloid | The Malkuth Grimoire
[self released] | March 17th, 201

I was already expecting greatness from this group of guys, but what I got was more than that. What I got was perfection. Alkaloid takes Obscura style tech death and adds prog to it and god damn does it sound good. This has been a staple in the car as of late.

____________

WAH_Cover We Are Harlot | We Are Harlot [S/T]
Roadrunner Records | March 30th, 2015

I know a lot of the people here at the Toilet have a bad opinion of hard rock or radio rock and for all intents and purposes they really should. Hard rock as a genre has become very stale and predictable. While I’ve only heard the few singles released from this album, I’m confident it belongs here. We Are Harlot are a breath of fresh air for hard rock – blending the modern sounds and production of today’s music with a total 80s vibe. Definitely worth a listen if you like things other than harsh vocals.

____________

irreversiblemechanisminfinitefieldsIrreversible Mechanism | Infinite Fields
Blood Music | March 31st, 2015

This one is tricky as it technically isn’t out yet. The reason for that is this band got signed by Blood Music literally hours after self-releasing this album on Bandcamp. The album was taken down twelve hours later! That should tell you how good they are. Anyways, being the tech death fanatic that I am, I already had this one preordered and downloaded it before Blood Music took over. This is fucking phenomenal technical death metal. I’m talking Spawn of Possession good here. (Edward’s note: Infinite Fields was released by Blood Music, available here at ‘name your price’).

____________

sarpanitum-coverSarpanitum | Blessed Be My Brothers
Willowtip | February 17th, 2015

RIFFS RIFFS RIFFS AND MORE RIFFS. Fuck this album is mind-bogglingly good. I still haven’t managed to process all the notes and what not on here. While they sound a lot like Mithras due to sharing members, they most definitely play a different style of death metal and are arguably more technical than the latter. If you haven’t picked this up yet you need to rectify that or face the interrogation room…upside down. (Edward’s note: Stay tech).


Photos via & via

Did you dig this? Take a second to support Toilet ov Hell on Patreon!
  • Eddie Trunk Jr., Floor Tech

    Here’s mine.

    1. Napalm Death
    2. We Are Harlot
    3. Dwath grips
    4. Black Star Riders
    5. Turnstile

    • Formerly Known As Oli Sykes

      I’m surprised people like We Are Harlot in this site. Especially considering the singer’s past, and previous autotune problems.

      • Dr. Dubz

        “people”

        • Formerly Known As Oli Sykes

          Ok, 2 people, but still my point stands.

          • Dr. Dubz

            lol

  • Eddie Trunk Jr., Floor Tech

    Also, is Jack really the only other one who likes We Are Harlot?

    • RustyShackleford

      I like a lot of blues/hard rock/dad rock/vest metal/etc etc…. but I unfortunately can’t get down with these guys. Maybe it’s cause they just look a little douchey and that’s always hard for me to get past. No hate though, there’s plenty of worse shit out there lol.

      • Eddie Trunk Jr., Floor Tech

        I loved it. I love dad rock so it was right up my alley.

    • EsusMoose

      I want to hide and say I don’t like hard rock but with you both throwing it around I feel I should give it a try

  • Sir Tapir the Based

    Dat new Cmx was quite enjoyable. I still need to get that new Grunt album. Also waiting for Jenny Death to ship.

    • Edward/Breegrodamus

      I haven’t heard that CMX but Grunt and Death Grips both scratch my itch for what they both do.

      • Sir Tapir the Based

        I don’t wanna listen to Ginny Debt until I get the cd.

        • Edward/Breegrodamus

          When they released the album on YouTube they also linked a free download of it on that page. The Powers That B is wholly on Spotify now too.

          • Sir Tapir the Based

            I’ve listened to a couple of the songs because I’m weak. Sounds like good. I won’t dive into the rest until it arrives.

  • RustyShackleford

    This is why I love the Toilet. Got a lot of shit to jam this weekend! Yep.

  • Edward/Breegrodamus

    Hey guys! I’m just checking in from my mobile device cause I’m out doing hoodrat shit with my friends <3

    • Eddie Trunk Jr., Floor Tech

      I just got home from the gym.

      • I just scratched my butt.

        • Stockhausen

          Oh that reminds me.
          *scratches butt*
          *to-do list done*

          • *high-five*

          • *smells hand to make sure not dank*

          • *the hand is quite dank*

          • TrickleDownOvTacoKvltRiff

            eats Cheetos with said hand from shared bag with friends & doesn’t tell anyone = rank

          • Stockhausen

            *with butt hand*

      • J.R.

        I’m in physics class, taking pictures of my friend as he battles sleep. I will show him later when he needs to be reminded of his vulnerability.

    • Dagon

      That boy is probably on the list of top 5 children in the history of childhoods.

      He is also my Genius avatar.

  • YourLogicIsFlushed

    1. Dylan
    2. Dylan
    3. Dylan
    4. Dylan
    5. Dylan (I spit hot fire)

    • Eddie Trunk Jr., Floor Tech

      Are you talking about the new Bob Dylan album?

      • Edward/Breegrodamus

        He’s not.

        • Eddie Trunk Jr., Floor Tech

          I liked it. It wouldn’t be in my top 5 though.

      • He is.

      • Sir Tapir the Based

        He actually means Dolan.

        • Eddie Trunk Jr., Floor Tech

          Who’s Dolan?

          • Sir Tapir the Based

          • Guacamole Jim

            tapir pls

      • Óðhinn
    • The Beargod

      I was here wondering if you enjoy metalless prog that isn’t crazy with odd time signatures. Less specific than it sounds, I guess you catch what I mean.

      • YourLogicIsFlushed

        Usually like the more metal side of prog these days, but used to like some of the more straightforward stuff. Why do you ask?

        • The Beargod

          I was thinking of something that I already forgot, will return once I rediscover the thought.

    • Óðhinn

      The 5 best rappers of all time:

      http://youtu.be/5HRY4LUl5lc

  • Formerly Known As Oli Sykes

    1. Kendrick Lamar – To Pimp A Butterfly
    2. Death Grips – Jenny Death
    3. Enter Shikari – The Mindsweep
    4. Godspeed You Black Emperor – Asunder, Sweet And Other Distress
    5. Napalm Death – Apex Predator, Easy Meat

    • Edward/Breegrodamus

      I checked out and enjoyed that GY!BE despite being a Godspeed novice.

      • Formerly Known As Oli Sykes

        GYBE are my favorite Post Rock band, and Asunder lived up to my high expectations. Definately check out their previous work if you haven’t already.

        • Edward/Breegrodamus

          They’re a rare instrumental band that grabs my attention despite the lack of vox.

    • YourLogicIsFlushed

      Godspeed came out with a thing? I am behind.

      • Formerly Known As Oli Sykes

        Yes, and its awesome, not as good as Allelujah, but close.

        • EsusMoose

          I thought it was better than Allelujah, but I wasn’t a huge fan of their last 2 records. The more concise nature of the album is a nice

      • Dagon

        I posted it on ToH FB as soon as the stream hit the interwebs

        • YourLogicIsFlushed

          I don’t always check the posts on there. You fuckers are relentless sometimes.

          • Dagon

            I know. Some of us tend to go on late night posting sprees and it can get dizzying.

    • we don’t skip things around here, we flush ’em

      • Formerly Known As Oli Sykes

        OK, should I flush the new Prodigy album then.

  • Sir Tapir the Based

    My top five-doodley so far.

    1. Dødheimsgard – Umbra Omega
    2. Janne Westerlund – Marshland
    3. Izah – Sistere
    4. Tähtiportti – Tähtiportti
    5. Cmx – Mesmeria
    That’s all, folks.

    • RustyShackleford

      I’d never listened to Dødheimsgard before, not sure if that means I gotta turn in my kvlt card lol but that album is super tight! Would like to go back and explore some of their other shit.

      • Sir Tapir the Based

        666 International is the tits.

      • I’m actually a huge fan of Supervillain Outcast. They are a weird band.

    • Tyree

      I really need to listen to all of that Dødheimsgard album.

    • The Beargod

      I wasn’t that big into the new DHG, will surely listen to it more, but so far…
      Otherwise a stellar list 😉

      • Sir Tapir the Based

        Don’t you wink at me, you courtesan!

        • The Beargod

          I’m a filthy little bear.

          • Sir Tapir the Based

            Nasty nasty nasty nasty nasty nasty. Only thirteen, and she knows how to nasty.

  • Stanley

    Here’s mine based on iTunes most played:

    1) Orden Ogan – Ravenhead
    2) A Forest of Stars – Beware The Sword You Cannot See
    3) Exgenesis – Aphotic Veil
    4) Death Karma – The History Of Death and Burial Rituals
    5) Scab – Sounds of the Sewer

    • Stanley

      Scab’s probably only on there because you have to listen to it twice to make up for a normal albums run time. 🙂

    • Tyree

      Well fuck. Death Karma completely fell off my radar.

  • Tyree

    This was an awesome read. Some really good releases on here. One of these releases is totally gay though.

    http://fc09.deviantart.net/fs7/i/2005/254/1/b/Scab_Wound_1_by_Falln_Stock.jpg

  • F. I have only bought 3 albums from this year. I cannot even make a top 5! wtf

    • Eddie Trunk Jr., Floor Tech

      What are they? Is the Van Halen live album on there even though it came out yesterday?

      • Since you asked…

        1.) Sweet and Lynch – Only to Rise
        2.) The Gentle Storm – The Diary
        3.) All That Remains – The Order of Things.

        • Stanley

          Surely, you jest?

          • Eddie Trunk Jr., Floor Tech

            I liked the Sweet and Lynch album

        • Eddie Trunk Jr., Floor Tech

          I liked the first one on this list but are you serious about the third one? That album was not good.

          • I fucking love All That Remains. I HAVE SEEN THEM 6 TIMES AND OWN ALL THE ALBUMS.

            I. LOVE. ALL. THAT. REMAINS <3

          • Eddie Trunk Jr., Floor Tech

            I saw them once. That was one time too many. They’re the reason I’m not seeing In Flames on their tour.

          • Sir Tapir the Based

            JJD, you should not criticise others for liking shitty bands!

          • Stanley

            I see what you did there.

          • Eddie Trunk Jr., Floor Tech

            That is true.

          • WHATEVER WHATEVER. THEY FUCKING SLAY

          • Pssst. Humanity’s Last Breath is coming out with some new shyt.

          • What? Really???

          • Ann,

            This is a good as I expected it to be!
            #wowbitchgood

          • Also, I have seen In Flames and All that Remains on tour together TWICE. The first time was in 2006 back when you were 10 years old, son.

          • AND on the second time it was In Flames, All That Remains AND GOJIRA. Wrap your head around that!

            *MIND EXPLODES*

          • RustyShackleford

            Not the biggest fan of the others but GOJIRA live is fucking amazing.

          • This is a true statement.

          • Eddie Trunk Jr., Floor Tech

            I was 11 in 2006.

          • Formerly Known As Oli Sykes

            I didn’t you know you had a high tolerance for autotune 😉

          • Given your tolerance for posers I assumed you could stomach just about any amount of auto tune.

          • Formerly Known As Oli Sykes

            Fair enough. But you forget my presence here is to attract posers to the toilet so they can be flushed.

          • <3

          • #dealbreaker

  • KJM

    Ufomammut and anyone who disagrees is a goddamn Yancy Streeter.

    • Eddie Trunk Jr., Floor Tech

      What about the Van Halen live album that came out yesterday?

    • The Beargod

      Ecate wasn’t out yet when I wrote this (I resisted the leak) but I wouldn’t surprised if it would make the bigger list.

      • KJM

        Ah right, never mind.
        If I see something on youtube, I can’t resist listening.

    • TrickleDownOvTacoKvltRiff

      yesssss

  • I don’t think I’ve listened to more than a dozen records this year. I reckon it’d be
    5. Adventures – Supersonic Home
    4. Night Demon – Curse of the Damned
    3. Harms Way – Rust
    2. Deez Nuts – Word is Bond
    1. Xibalba – Tierra Y Libertad

    • HessianHunter

      Adventuresssss

    • Please do a full-length review of the new Deez Nuts release.

      • I strongly considered it. Will probz do a mini-review because I don’t think the audience here is gonna have too much patience for that shit to begin with.

        • Just fill it with gifs!

          • Formerly Known As Oli Sykes

            If it works for Buzzfeed….

          • TrickleDownOvTacoKvltRiff

            that would grab my limited attention capabilities more effectively

    • EsusMoose

      I’ve somewhat kept track of the albums I’ve listen to this year and I’m sitting around 35. Of those maybe half have been given more than one listen so I can’t say I either liked them or gave them a dedicated enough listen.

  • King Shit of Fuck Mountain

    As always I have no list, as I will always be playing catch up on records forever.

    • Stockhausen

      I will never feel on top of current releases.

      • King Shit of Fuck Mountain

        It’s just not possible. I got the new Haethen, but before that, my last purchase was Manilla Road’s Mystification from 1987.

        Edit: And since I don’t download fuck, I will always be behind.

    • Shrimp ov Bad Opinions

      I currently have 52 albums in my “listen to” list, going as far back as Hadal Maw.

  • Stockhausen

    These lists are going to occupy a whole week for me. Nice choices, gents.

  • My favorite color is OH MY GOD BITCH

    • Edward/Breegrodamus

      I GOT ON MY SHITKICKERS

  • Gurp’s Top 5 of the Quarter
    1. Lolbuttz
    2. Ayy lmao
    3. merol
    4. Crying
    5. SJWs

    • Edward/Breegrodamus

      Honorable Mention: Pyrrhon’s Growth Without End EP

      • Why is it that I forget that’s coming every time you mention it?

        • Edward/Breegrodamus

          Not sure, but it’s gonna be digital / vinyl in June. I myself will be spending real money to buy it digitally, cause it’s Pyrrhon lol

    • Lacertilian

      no dickbuttz?

  • Tyree

    Albums:

    5. EMBRIONAL – The Devil Inside”
    4. DEVOURING STAR – Through Lung and Heart
    3. Desolate Shrine – The Heart of the Netherworld
    2. Invincible Force – Satan Rebellion Metal
    1. Hæthen – Shaped By Aeolian Winds

    Splits/EP’s/Demos:

    5. Vassafor / Temple Nightside – Call of the Maelstrom
    4. King Woman – Doubt
    3. Truppensturm / Thorybos – Approaching Conflict
    2. BLACK WITCHERY + REVENGE – Holocaustic Death March to
    Humanity’s Doom
    1. Primitive Man – Home Is Where The Hatred Is

    Non metal releases:

    3. Kathryn Joseph – Bones You Have Thrown Me and Blood
    I’ve Spilled
    2. Marriages – Salome
    1. Grace Pitts – For You

    • Shrimp ov Bad Opinions

      Desolate Shrine was 2014, you’re wrong.

      • Tyree

        What? It was released in 2015.

        • Shrimp ov Bad Opinions

          Spotify says 2014, and I remember it being in 2014, but apparently Metal Archives says 13th january 2015.

          • Dr. Dubz

            I love Spotify a whole lot, but their dates aren’t always right.

          • Scrimm

            Their bandcamp also says 13th of January, and that’s the day my local store got it.

          • CT-12

            Probably a pushed back release day

      • Dr. Dubz

        It came out in January, Skrimp. I even write a Toilet Tuesday blurb aboot it.

        • Scrimm

          Yep, 13th.

    • Dr. Dubz

      You’ll be pleased to know I finally listened to all of Devouring Star this morning. Doug.

    • Stanley

      I haven’t got fully into Satan Rebellion Metal yet. I normally listen to two or three songs and then move onto something else. I’ll get it on for today’s workout and see if something clicks.

      • Tyree

        Yeah, it’s nothing very original. But, goddamn dose it crush! Just unrelenting chaos.

    • Simon “Djentcrusher” Phoenix

      Satan Rebellion Metal is so good. I will probably try to listen to Marriages later this week.

      • Tyree

        It never slows down.

  • EsusMoose

    Corgis’s top 5 in no order:
    Leviathan-Scar Sighted
    Elder-Lore
    Visigoth-Revenant King
    Death Grips- Jenny Death
    Napalm Death-Apex Predator
    Left out but close: Kendrick Lamar, GY!BE, Sannhet, Periphery

    • Brouroboris

      How good is Lore tho.

      • EsusMoose

        I fucking loved the album, I’m not too well versed in doom and stoner stuff but the riffs were great, the songs felt distinct but cohesive, and I felt the song lengths were perfect for what they were writing

        • Brouroboris

          I’ve always been pretty resistant to the more stonery side of things but that record is scratching an itch i never knew i had. It really is just riff city.

          • EsusMoose

            I really need to get a physical copy of it, I love the artwork as well, gives a great sense of what the album has and what ride will be like

          • Brouroboris

            If you haven’t squizzed Saturndust yet you totally should. Another slow band i like, what have i become?

          • EsusMoose

            I don’t know but I’ll listen to this later, I remember seeing the album being posted here but never looked into it

          • Brouroboris

            If you dig Elder it should be up your alley.

          • EsusMoose

            Wasn’t bad, I a little on the murky side for me but there were a few riffs that got me moving so it’ll probably be played listened to again some time later this year

          • old_man_doom

            My local record store just got a limited edition vinyl copy in. The art is so great. I’m tempted to spend the $25 on it even though i already supported the dudes through Bandcamp.

          • EsusMoose

            I’ve had that conundrum before, I usually don’t to save money so I have to make the decision when buying if I want a physical copy or not.

    • Edward/Breegrodamus

      You got good taste Moose.

  • Stanley

    Interestingly enough, of my top 5 most played albums this year, only one of them was released in 2015.

    1) Voidhanger – Working Class Misanthropy (2013)
    2) Son Of Aurelius – Under A Western Sun (2014)
    3) Musk Ox (2014)
    4) Mgla – With Hearts Towards None (2012)
    5) Orden Ogan – Ravenhead (2015)

    • Tyree

      I will never get tired of With Hearts Towards None.

      • Stanley

        I’m borderline obsessed with that record.

        • Tyree

          Accurate.

          • Stanley

            Like what I was saying above… I put on Satan Rebellion Metal and then three songs later, oh, I should probably play WHTN instead.

          • Tyree

            Yeah, can’t blame you for that logic.

      • Scrimm

        I need to check that out, keep forgetting.

        • Stanley

          Do it, Scrimm. Here, I’ve made it easy for you. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4aFGuKwF2ic&spfreload=10

          • Stanley

            III and VI are my favorites. And don’t forget I, II, IV, V and the mighty VII.

          • Scrimm

            Thanks man will do!

          • listening. digging. thx bby

          • The Beargod

            I dig yer name.

          • Lacertilian

            @James_Jimmy_Mcnulty:disqus is starring in the remake of The Dank Knight Rises too, be prepared.

      • The Beargod

        No one can tire of this Masterpiece.

    • The Beargod

      How’d ya like Wrathprayers? I was not not hugebig on WCM but WP is
      magni-fucking-ficent

      • Stanley

        I’ve only streamed it a couple of times. I’m waiting for Wrathprayers and The Antagonist on CD to arrive. Apparently they have shipped.

      • Stanley

        Have you seen this? I posted somewhere before. FB I think. It’s a pretty decent live recording and the setting in the forest is fantastic.

        https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wa5H_76ecBg&spfreload=10

        • The Beargod

          I haven’t. Watching now.

  • Scrimm

    For me it’s Hacavitz, Desolate Shrine and Leviathan. Dont know if I can go beyond a top 3 yet Unless reissues count.

    • Tyree

      Aw shit, forgot about that Hacavitz release. Fucking so great!

      • Scrimm

        Suckerpunched me big time. Was not expecting to like it that much.

  • The Beargod

    So I read this and all I can think of is:

    AYY LMAJOE

    • Brouroboris

    • Stockhausen

      Yesssss, it’s working.

  • Brouroboris

    No order.
    Psycroptic – Psycroptic (holy shit is this good.)
    Tod Huetet Uebel – Malicia
    Saturndust – Saturndust
    Napalm Death – Apex Predator Easy Meat
    Elder – Lore

    That said im only just now listening to Scar Sighted. So subject to change at my discretion.

    • Brouroboris

      Edit: Forgot about Sarpanitum…

    • TrickleDownOvTacoKvltRiff

      elder…yeeeeeees

    • Lacertilian

      2/5 here nice work.
      Psycroptic & Saturndust.

      • Brouroboris

        If you like Saturndust give Lore a go. Those two albums are very complimentary for me.

        Sad to say no, what are your thoughts on their album? Perth sucks so we got Earth Rot (average) and The Furor (Good drummer/vocalist but otherwise just ok).

  • For me so far in no particular order:
    Harms Way – Rust
    Napalm Death – Apex Predator, Easy Meat
    Call Of The Void – Ageless
    The Kill – Kill Them…..All
    Retox – Beneath California

    Awaiting Cult Leader and Magrudergrind which I have no doubt will be tops as well.

    • Tyree

      Kill Them…..All is probably my favorite grind album of this year.

      • Shrimp ov Bad Opinions

        I personally think Scab is better.

        • Stanley

          But that drum sound sucks balls.

          • Dagon

            Isn’t it close to Archspire, though?

          • Shrimp ov Bad Opinions

            I’m pretty sure you guys are going to talk about that until the day I die.

          • Sir Tapir the Based

            Well you are crustacean. People don’t take kindly to crustaceans around here.

          • Shrimp ov Bad Opinions

            Do you think I should become an alpaca? That sounds like it would be more accepted around here.

          • The Beargod

            Alpaca is tasty.

          • Lacertilian

            and warm. Those fuckers know how to put a good coat on.
            Shame people steal it from them.

          • Sir Tapir the Based

            Won’t help. Animals are hated here (especially Guac Jim hates us). Welcome to the club.

          • Lacertilian

            Does the Dip hate the cold-bloods too?

          • Sir Tapir the Based

            Yes. If you’re an animal, he hates you.

          • Lacertilian

            It’s coz we eat him right?

          • Sir Tapir the Based

            I am not a big fan of guacamole. If he were Pesto Jim, I would devour him so fast.

          • Lacertilian

            They both have their place, after eating italian food regularly my whole life (the average quality of italian food in Sydney is high apparently) I have an insatiable quest to eat all the mexican food I can find.
            Pesto Jim sounds a bit gross too.

          • Sir Tapir the Based

            You sound gross.

          • Lacertilian

            I am.
            What are you getting at Mr Tapir?

          • Sir Tapir the Based

            *Sir Tapir
            Bow down to me, biatch!

          • Lacertilian

            I bow to nothing, it’s better to die on your feet than live on your knees. [refresh]

          • Sir Tapir the Based

            Welp, it’s time for waterboarding!

          • Lacertilian
          • Sir Tapir the Based

            Welp, time for magnifying glass under sun!

          • Lacertilian

            Please focus it on my parietal eye, we love that.
            mmmmm….sun.

          • Sir Tapir the Based

            Welp, on aika paskoa päällesi ja repiä kiveksesi irti, vitun kyrpä.

          • Lacertilian

            Welp, it’s time for @nordlingritesovkarhu:disqus to be my medium and translate your threats to a language I can read without google translator.
            It mentions testicles and ripping.
            Unlike you crazy warm-bloods, reptiles keep our genitals on the inside most of the time.

          • CT-12

            Fleshgod Alpacalypse….I don’t know what I’m doing right now

      • Love it, it’s relentless. For being about 90% blast beats, they make it all come together with those riffs. I also need to sit down and familiarize myself with Scab. No worries, I’ll get there soon.

        • Tyree

          No worries dude. I’m not forcing any one to listen to that shit stain.

  • Brock Samson

    In no particular order yet:
    Dead in the Manger- Cessation
    Leviathan – Scar Sighted
    Tod Huetet Uebel- Malicia
    Ghost Bath- Moon Lover
    Unrest- Grindcore

    • EsusMoose

      shit I forgot about Moon Lover, I should give that another listen today

      • Brock Samson

        It is definitely a grower, if you know what I mean

        • EsusMoose

          I’m assuming we’re talking about getting an erection. If so then yes

  • Sir Tapir the Based

    I need to give Scar Sighted more listens. Maybe it’ll get on the list,

    • Scrimm

      You do. It’s so good. Can be an effort to get through but so worth it.

  • Napalm Death – Apex Predator – Easy Meat
    Sarpanitum – Blessed Be My Brothers
    Harm’s Way – Rust
    probably Psycroptic but I haven’t given it a good listen yet

    I need to catch up on this year’s shit.

    • Brouroboris

      New Psycroptic is so sick. Listen to Ending, they got some black metal sauce on that tech death steak now.

      • Lacertilian

        It’s so siqq it makes medicine sick

  • The Beargod

    There are some records here I wanna check put more as well as in the comment section. Gonna keep me busy the remainder of the week.

  • IT GOATS IT GOATS IT GOATS

    The Rifts by A Swarm of The Sun was a standout for me, incredibly depressing doom album. I’m also very happy with Leviathan and Jenny Death. The new Ufomammut might also end up on my list. I liked Imperial Triumphant but I don’t have much desire to listen to it anymore. Same for Napalm Death

  • JamesGrimm
  • Dagon

    The most pressing question of the year so far is WHY A BITCH GOTTA LIE

  • Reichsmarschall Dean von Steel

    I’M NOTICING A PITIABLE LACK OF ENSLAVED ON THESE LISTS MOTHERFUCKERS. ANOTHER MOTHERFUCKER BADMOUTHS OR DISREGARDS IN TIMES AND IMMA HIT ‘EM UPSIDE THE HEAD WITH A BROADSWORD

    I honestly haven’t listened to enough new releases to make a list. So far, I’ve enjoyed Devouring Star, Volahn, Enslaved, and Leviathan. But I’ve honestly spent the first quarter of 2015 listening to a lot of stuff I overlooked in 2014 (or that I didn’t listen to enough), and buying older albums. I haven’t been overly impressed with 2015 thus far. I’m primed to get the new Tribulation I have preordered with CM (as well as that Obscura CD reissue–byah), and I can’t wait for the new Skinless to come in June, but a lot of 2015 releasea I was anticipating haven’t dropped yet, or haven’t had a release date set.

  • NefariousDude

    Yayyyy this is just what I needed in my life

  • Napalm Death- Apex predator
    Xibalba- Tierra y Libertad
    Sylosis- Dormant Heart
    Lord Dying- Poisoned Alters

    Honorable mentions that need a couple more listens. Enslaved, psycroptic, disgrace, and Leviathan

    Plus lots of stuff on the lists above that I haven’t checked out yet

  • DoYouThinkHeSaurus

    1. God creates dinosaurs.
    2. God destroys dinosaurs.
    3. God creates man.
    4. Man destroys God.
    5. Man creates dinosaurs.

    • IT GOATS IT GOATS IT GOATS

      6. Dinosaur eat man.

      • Brouroboris

        That is some void ass shit.

      • Call the Slambulance

        Your Disqus handle is fucking quality, my friend.

      • Lacertilian

        ‘He’s going to eat the goat?’

        Sorry @do_you_think_he_saurus:disqus I couldn’t help myself.

    • Tyree

      Now this is a list.

    • *sucks air though teeth
      that’s a stretch, bub

    • Dinosaurs eat man, woman inherits the earth.

  • old_man_doom

    So far i’ve got John Carpenter’s new LP, Below the Sun, No Spill Blood, Elder, and the “It Follows” OST on my list.

    • have you seen the movie? i can’t believe how high its tomato score is!

      • old_man_doom

        Dude, it’s a great film. It has a couple problems here and there (the ending is especially divisive), but i loved it.

    • KJM

      Lost Themes and Phase IV Soundtrack FTW

    • Scrimm

      Ooh forgot about Carpenter.

  • I’m going to have to check out a lot of these releases as I’ve been hampered from listening to music recently. Shit I’ve enjoyed so far this year includes Beyond the Red Mirror by Blind Guardian, This Is No Fairy Tale by Carach Angren, The Long Goodbye by An Autumn for Crippled Children, Ascension Lost by Thulcandra, Downfall and Rebirth by Northland, and VALIS by Mastery. I still need to listen to Der We g Einer Freiheit, Enslaved, Tod Huetet Uebel, Endlesshade, Ghoulgotha, Abscession, Chapel of Disease, Defaced, Desolate Shrine, Embrional, Eternal Solstice, Heaving Earth, The Monolith Deathcult, Morbid Evils, Morgoth, Ghost Bath, Ensiferum, Heidevolk, Napalm Death, Evil, Armageddon, The Crown, Frosttide, Barren Earth, Angra, Automaton, Crimson Wind, Dire Peril, Embersland, Judicator, Subterranean Masquerade, Ufomammut, Enforcer, The Gentle Storm, and Nightwish in addition to one’s mentioned in this article.

  • Sir Tapir the Based
  • Simon “Djentcrusher” Phoenix

    The criminal maniac’s top five in merol so far this year.

    1) Melechesh – Enki
    2) Sarpanitum – Blessed be my Brothers
    3) Ancient Wind – The Chosen Slain
    4) Iron Kobra – Might & Magic
    5) Bulldozing Bastard – Under the Ram

    The new Osheigo comes out next week and I imagine that will shoot right up this list.

    I still need to listen to Jenny Death.

  • GhostFlusher’s Top 5

    1. Alkaloid – The Malkuth Grimiore
    2. Sylosis – Dormant Heart
    3. Action Bronson – Mr. Wonderful
    4. Earl Sweatshirt – I Don’t Like Shit, I Don’t Go Outside
    5. Ensiferum – One Man Army

    • Edward/Breegrodamus

      Action Bronson? I didn’t hate it as much as the rest of humanity but one of your favorite releases so far this year?

      • I personally really think it’s a great rap album and an exploration Into something atypical for a big rapper, plus Brand New Car, Baby Blue, and Easy Rider are sick chill jams.

  • 5. Deivos
    4. Scab
    3. Poseriphery
    2. Royal Thunder
    1. Sarpanitum

    • Tyree

      That Deivos album is intense.

  • JWG

    I think I might have actually bought and listened to 5 of the albums that have come out this year. I’m aiming for fewer-played-more-often instead of draining my bank account. So let’s see…

    – Napalm Death
    – Melechesh
    – Cancer Bats
    – Harrow (LP & EP: counting as one because they’re inter-related)
    – Enslaved

    This is the only other 2015 ‘album’ I’ve bought, but since it’s a demo I’m not sure I can count it so much as expect to add the proper album to a 2016 list:

    https://kabexnuv.bandcamp.com/album/kabexnuv

  • God ov All

    My top five of the year currently and to come:
    1 Cattle Decapitation
    2 Cattle Decapitation
    3 Cattle Decapitation
    4 Cattle Decapitation
    5 Cattle Decapitation

    • Sir Tapir the Based

      Never got the hype. They’re ok imo.

      • this fucking guy

      • God ov All

        Anything before Monolith was alright for me. But Monolith IMO is when they really found their sound. A delicious meld between death metal and grindcore. It’s still one of my favorite releases in recent memory.

        • old_man_doom

          I read about the new album in this month’s issue of Decibel. Ryan commented by saying that the record features more of the “melodic” vokills and stuff that made Monolith so great. It’s also, supposedly, based around the degradation of our oceans. Looks like Cattle Decap is steppin’ up on Gojira’s turf (or surf — whatever).

  • Tyree

    I’m curious to check out that Bjork album.

    • The Beargod

      It’s p good.

  • Mother Shabubu III

    My Top 5 in no order:

    Napalm Death – Apex Predator

    Seigmen – Enola

    Dunderbeist – Hyklere

    Sulfur Aeon – Gateway To the Antisphere (even if it was just streamed yesterday)

    Bjork – Vulnicura

    PS: I get annoyed at Death Grips now and I don’t know why. Loved “Ex-Military”, “Money Store”, “No Love Deep Web”, but I find they have become increasingly monotonous and try-hard artsy. That or they are just doing this and saying to themselves “do these people really listen to our albums, or are they just liking it so they can say to people they like us?”.

    • I need to get on that new sulfur aeon

      • Mother Shabubu III

        Yes. Yes you do. I’m not saying it tops “Colored Sands” by Gorguts, but it certainly grabbed my groin. One of my favorite death metal* albums in a while.

        * = disclaimer: I don’t know what sub-sub-sub genre people classify shit as anymore, but to me it sounds like death metal.

        • fuck sub genres it’s all metal

          • Mother Shabubu III

            But my band’s subgenres are Jack Bauerviolence, Horny Toad Disco rock, and Pure Japanese Ultrashit!

  • BrosephOfNazareth

    That Melechesh is snazzy and loud as fuck.

  • MegaMan

    Y U no Kendrick??

  • Lacertilian

    I also cannot believe Mr Bauer had not heard of Melechesh before this album.
    Emissaries is tops.

    • Sir Tapir the Based

      Sphynx >>>>>>>>>

      • Lacertilian

        Scarab

        • Sir Tapir the Based

          Egypt was a nice place. Maybe I’ll go there again one day.

          • Lacertilian

            Don’t get fucked over like Peter Greste.
            At least TinTin did journalism there when it was safe(r).

  • Lacertilian

    I’ve enjoyed in no particular order
    Saturndust – Saturndust
    Psycroptic – Psycroptic
    Scab – Sounds Of The Sewer
    Scarab – Serpents Of The Nile
    Melechesh – Enki

    I have felt a bit let down by that Entheos EP, I still can’t tell if I’ve changed or if it’s the music.

    • LobsterAttack

      I felt the same way about Entheos. I’m hoping that changes with time.

  • CT-12

    The first albums that come to mind…
    Napalm Death – Apex Predator
    Death Grips – Jenny Death
    Lord Dying – Poisoned Altars
    Brothers of the Sonic Cloth – S/T

  • BLOODBEARDE

    Blind Guardian – Twilight of the Gawds
    The Body & Thou – Tapir, Whom I Have Always Hated
    A Forest of Stars – Beware the Sword You Cannot See
    Liturgy – The Ark Work
    An Autumn for Crippled Children – The Long Goodbye

    • Lacertilian

      I think I have to give this A Forest Of Stars a run, it’s getting alot of recs.

      • BLOODBEARDE

        Yeah, you dolphinately should.

        I’m going to also add Bloodborne to my list.

        • Lacertilian

          The soundtrack?

          • BLOODBEARDE

            Nope, the game.

          • Lacertilian

            I figured, should have said [refresh] like @James_Jimmy_Mcnulty:disqus always does.
            Jamming that A Forest Of Stars now, missus has immediately left the room.
            I remembered it straight away from the amazing cover art

          • BLOODBEARDE

            It’s definitely not your average BM album, I’m even hesitant to call it that. All the monologue stuff he does is the best. Took a listen or two to grow on me.

          • Lacertilian

            The vocals are pretty different from anything I would normally listen to, that’s for sure.

          • Sir Tapir the Based

            Witch of Hemwick was such a disappointment.

          • BLOODBEARDE

            Yeah, that fight was pretty lame; could have been much more difficult. I still dont know why we aren’t playing together. My guess is bc you’re so scruggy.

          • Sir Tapir the Based

            Because I’m a bitch that’s afraid of getting invaded by a pro.

          • BLOODBEARDE

            ??? There’s private lobbies. And I wouldn’t be invading you, we’d be cooping?

          • Sir Tapir the Based

            I meant other people.

          • BLOODBEARDE

            You’re only playing offline? Well derp to you. It’s my understanding that you can only be invaded if you ring your own bell. Not the same mechanics as Souls games.

          • Sir Tapir the Based

            Ah, I did not know. What’s your name? I’ll add you when it’s morning.

          • BLOODBEARDE

            traitorsHEART

    • Sir Tapir the Based

      I really need to give A Forest Of Star more listens as well. I haven’t had enough time for that album.

  • Count_Breznak

    The only worthwhile album this year so far has been https://psudoku.bandcamp.com/album/planetarisk-sudoku . Bit unfair with it being recorded in 2037 and all, but still.

    • Brouroboris

      This has some lush tones.

  • BLOODBEARDE

    OT: Joke if you want but my PS4 just impressed the shit out of me. I haven’t even used this thing except to play bloodborne. I passed out last night in the chair with BB on. It saved exactly where I was and went to sleep for inactivity. When I came home today, pressed the PS button on the controller. The fucking thing put me in game exactly where I was.

  • Warheart

    Where the fuck is A Umbra Omega? BEST ALBUM OF 2015.

  • Ferris Mueller

    Last Dive’s Firstborn gets my pecker hard. First track aside, it’s an absolute masterpiece.

  • xengineofdeathx

    I love that new Björk! I am still picking stuff up everytime I listen to it. I listened to “Atom Dance” really loud when I was high a while ago and it just felt like being wrapped up in a cocoon of love. For some reason that experience has been hard for me to shake.
    Also though, she should collaborate with some metal bands, she knows how to channel some Scandinavian bleakness like a motherfucker.